Motivation logo

I bought art, from an artist

it's kinda cool in my house

By Kathy ReedPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Lady blue by Kathy Reed

9/3/2020

I bought art from an artist

It's kinda cool in my house

Written by Kathy Reed

If you have it flaunt it, who knows...

So I have been an artist since I can remember, what I hold left of it and what I have grown into. But what I have to say about it, is 'why do it anyway'? It's like if you could be smart enough to build a Toyota car you would. You know what I mean? So you draw and paint and take pictures. The world around you doesn't laugh at you they encourage you, you think. Although you think that they should. Well might as well, since they want something else, from someone else, or probably believe it or not they want it from Walgreens. A paint'in! What? You would rather buy from a chain other than me, I am the painter! But instead people look at me like a vagrant, and call me proud, when all I have is this.

Don't give up reality

So you continue to try. You spend all this money trying to learn in school, all this money buying a paint brush, let alone the supplies and you sit in front of a canvas and tell yourself this will be in the next museum. Will it? Since when are you on the man's good side. You know they only choose who they want. I even bet that is there cousin hung up. I just wonder, because as a women you know men only want one thing and women only want a man, so where does that leave my paintings? Which I think is more important here. Somewhere between, you can store them all in your house, or you can get out there and say, at least art didn't die on the hillside of the unknown artist.

Haitian Painting by Singingrooster.com

Keeping smiling, keeping you

So I'm selling to this, dude right, and then he tells me all about his life. Dude I am painter not a whatever you need to get through life. But I have been smiling all morning, what am I supposed to do, get mad and tell the guy "Yo, get the hell out of here", but I waste my smile, my breathe, add in a few 'same heres', and the dude waives bye at me. No sale later and thanks for making me feel bad, because my life is so much better than yours conversation, but I smile and waive bye back. Looking at my paintings and leaving with the $2.00 donation I made earlier at least. I get up and think, I can't afford anything on this salary, just then a nice cars drives by, no one even looks my way. So I sit back down, they don't care one way or the other. Try to turn it into five, it's a lot closer to the gallery rent prices of seven thousand a month I'll one day afford, but never if I don't try at all, hey' keep smiling!

Don't on three, Stay focused

After you succomb to the fact that it's doesn't matter, you will be free. I think that one day, I will be good enough to sit in some nice gallery and eat cheese, while all these millionares fight, actually fist fight, just kidding, over my work. Well since that is far out, renting a gallery, can I get what I want out of it. Punch him! but in reality, are all people the same? Should you just keep trying what you know until you literally fail. If you can believe when you are in a gallery that those pieces are great, then believe in yourself. It is just sad when you don't and you think, I'ma be homeless, when all I did was try to succeed at something that no one puts in any effort in to buy. I might as well be selling band-aids like the rest of the population. Speaking of' the five dollars I made, won't afford even band'aids. So I spend money once again, in a system that is not made for me to make any money for myself.

Street style Photography by fashables.com

Don't worry, it's you in the long run

Don't think about what you can't do anymore. Think about what it takes to do what you can. If you give up, go on the job forum, do what you have been doing, spend it all in rent, and never try what makes you feel better, watch the other art sell, from Ikea and Walmart and be jealous of a computer that sells art like skittles, or, you can wish everyone well, keep the smile plastered on your face and tell the next person that walks by as you sit on a blanket in the park, with your paintings, "Thank you for your donation". And to save face from being bitter, I know all I can do is not worry. Who cares if my rent doesn't get paid, who cares if I can't afford car insurance, and lastly who cares, if I blow all my extra money towards something fulfilling for me, people just can't buy, because there trained not too, but because, it makes me happy, one day, they will.

Sources: bing.com, google.com

Photos by: Lady in Blue by Kathy Reed, Haitian painting by singingrooster.com, street style photography by fashables.com

Written by: Kathy Reed

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Kathy Reed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.