Motivation logo

I am a Creature of Habit

Sometimes that’s good. Sometimes it’s bad

By J.M. TroppelloPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
I am a Creature of Habit
Photo by Drew Beamer on Unsplash

Habits can be good but sometimes they're bad. I have some good habits like exercising at least five times a week. However, I also have bad habits like slouching while working or watching TV, and over analyzing situations.

I am the type of person that likes stability. I don’t like conflict. I love when things just flow, and the status quo is good.

Yeah, I know that’s not real life. Things happen. Sometimes life stinks. That’s when being a creature of habit can be good, but it can also be bad.

It can be good because I can use my analytical skills to evaluate the problem and find a way through it. Yet it can be bad because constantly overanalyzing the problems or what someone said to me causes me added stress.

Being a creature of habit can also be bad because it prevents me from acting impulsively. Now sometimes impulsivity can get you into trouble. Someone very close to me is an impulsive person and she's had a lot of drama because of it.

Yes, sometimes I wish I could break free of my predictability and develop some good habits that help me step out of my comfort zone.

Developing Habits to Improve My Life

In my journey toward personal growth and development, I’ve been trying to step outside my comfort zone. In doing this I’ve had to cultivate some new positive habits.

1. Learn Something New Everyday

Now for an introvert who is stuck in her ways, learning something new every day is a habit I’ve had to cultivate. However, it’s helped me to grow as a writer, an individual, and become a better person.

2. Read Each Day

I’ve loved to read since I was a child. It's helped me grow as a writer. However, my freelance content writing work just kept me so busy that I haven’t always had time to read. I’m trying to break free from the cage I’ve forced myself into, so I’ve gotten in the habit of reading something new each day. Whether I read a chapter in a book, a magazine article, or a blog post I spend 15 to 30 minutes everyday reading.

3. Practice Mindfulness

I confess that I have not always practiced mindfulness. I never even heard of this term until my sister mentioned that they had a seminar at work on becoming more mindful in the workplace and their work-life balance. Practicing mindfulness has been a positive habit to help me handle stress in a better, more mature way.

4. Improve My Health

I’ve been taking steps to develop positive habits that can improve my overall health and well-being. I’ve started doing a PiYo exercise routine 5 days a week.

As a person who likes snack foods, I’ve had to give up my favorites like Doritos and sour cream and onion potato chips. I replaced those snacks with organic yogurt, granola, and fruit. It took me time to get used to the healthier snack, but I’m glad I made the switch.

Develop New Habits

You can make positive changes in your life by developing new habits.

I know. It may be difficult to make changes, especially if you’re a creature of habit like I am.

However, any time you choose personal growth and development over stagnated progress in your life—is a win for you.

It will take hard work. But you can drop those bad habits and form new, positive ones.

Make the decision to change. Find an accountability partner to help you through the process. Don’t give up on your journey toward personal growth. The rewards are definitely worth your investment of time.

self help
Like

About the Creator

J.M. Troppello

Founder of Mustard Seed Sentinel & Inspiration Realm | BA in Creative Writing | Freelancer with 20 years of experience | https://ko-fi.com/mustardseedsentinel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.