Motivation logo

Huge Opportunity Meets Tiny Seed

Fairy godmothers are not the only way to turn pumpkins into horse-drawn carriages

By Donna ReimusPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Huge Opportunity Meets Tiny Seed
Photo by Peter Ivey-Hansen on Unsplash

To be the talented Joanna Gains, ahhh but never forget the great, “can do it all” Martha Stewart. I embrace the make it, cook it, do it, fix it, and present it all beautifully, by watching these women take simple necessities and turn them into works of art - a true silver platter approach. I sink into deep meditation and spiritual connection with the words of Deepak Chopra, and my favorite inspirational soul man, the late Wayne Dyer, but I fill my heart up with our great savior Jesus, too. I am led and motivated by Maria Forleo, and Jen Sincero whose book “You are a Badass” (How to Stop Doubting Your Greatness and Start Living an Awesome Life) kicked me into fifth gear. And greatness is never forgotten, in everyone’s friend, the powerful Oprah Winfrey. I dig my fingertips into rich soil and imagine being Monty Don, from “Gardeners World,” or Jamie Durie, from the famous, “Backyard Bliss” and current” Backyard Takeover.” However, I am captivated by the beautiful Jamila Norman, from Magnolia Network, whose ability to take a basic good-ole American backyard garden, in a small space, and turn it into a homeowner’s dream; she’s like a fairy godmother turning pumpkin into a horse drawn carriage.

I hate to overuse any word for lack to find a better one, but I must use captivated over and over. I have been captivated with these amazing humans for a while, some longer than others but still captivated. They take their passions and create inspiration and give you the “How To” on a silver platter, or through insight, or in a terracotta flowerpot. Watching them is like a small adventure in a sixty-minute show, YouTube, or podcast. Outside of these amazing, “How To” people I also grew up in a very creative environment. Both my parents were craftsman/women always making decisions to do the work themselves rather than hire a tradesman. I guess home is where I started my infatuation with hands on, mind open, and soul-out living.

I’d say it all began watching my dad work magic with his hands; he was a carpenter not by trade but by hobby. He built things, amazing things! He always had a subscription to Carpenter magazine, Handyman magazine, or Easy Weekend Projects magazine. He tore scratch paper into fray edged bookmarks, holding a spot for the next craft he would create, whether it was for necessity or for pleasure. Of course, this is far before the digitally quick and at your fingertips, “How To” conveniences of the internet. Though, I appreciate all our digital amenities now, there was something satisfying about the solitude and mind-building anticipation when flipping through a magazine. Page by page, my eyes glazed over patterns and layouts, with verbal description and still life photos, presenting a step-by-step plan for a well-built craft or piece of art, that would soon grace our home, or be gifted to a friend, or family member. As for my mom, she is and has always been an amazing cook, gardener, and the all-out “I can do that myself” type guru.

As I got older, I absorbed all my parents’ qualities and passions, and developed the love for creating, with skill sets of my own. Meshing my captivating hero’s “How To’s” with my own drive and passion to create. From word-embellished rhymes, typed on cardstock for a baby shower greeting, to rosemary garnishment atop cheese filled, flaky finger food for appetizer night, from photography to gardening, sewing to home decorating, I was born to create.

After absorbing all the craft-filled stimulation my mind could think of and my hands could produce, I had to get real with myself. I had a dream, a fantasy, a desire to make my creations a full-time affair. I started selling art, some crafts, took up photography, and shared brilliant ideas with other women in similar situations. I signed up for writing courses, took photography classes, went to seminars and engaged in more, “How To” workshops than I could how-to myself through. Soon, my actions began to create confusion; I loved to create, but I loved creating everything. I began beating myself up for not loving one creation enough to give it my full and undivided attention, was I a jack of-all-trades but a master-at-none?

Say it isn’t so! Those words were like curse words during my twenties. Every magazine my dad owned in my youth, to every Woman’s Day that laid on my mom’s coffee table, honored humans mastering their craft. Even in today’s magazine world, I purchase Where Women Create, a magazine dedicated to women (specifically), mastering their very specific trade/expertise and “How To’s” in the most desirable and beautiful places. I was stuck in another “get real with myself” situation.

The timeframe I finally, “Got real with myself” was during the most eye-opening experience. The experience, that in the moment felt like a lifetime, was exactly when my health took a sudden turn, and I spent a year fighting for it. Dedicating all my time and attention to the most rewarding creation I had to work on… Me, myself, my life.

Instead of “How To” craft, cook, make, bake, fix or present something beautiful with my hands, I had to dive deep within, and ask how do I? How do I get well? How do I stay positive? How do I take one day at a time? How do I explain this to my children and family? And during this timeframe I realized a key component, a delicious ingredient to life’s wonderful recipe, at least my life’s wonderful recipe.

Those beautiful words, “How Do” replaced “How To” in the most effective way. When I became well and free, I shifted perspective and created once again. I created new ideals, a new image, a new thought process. Jack of all trade is a Martha Stewart! And she knew how to put a polka-a-dotted bow on the top as eye-candy. A Jack of all trade is Joanna Gains! And she walks her successful path with her quirky husband Chip, also writing books about their fumbles, fails, and successes. Even Oprah dabbled in all things encouraging and powerful. She turned daytime TV into a once stop shop for feel good, awe inspiring, thought provoking, and “you can do it too” type human connection. She didn’t communicate it one way or on one subject. She didn’t just host a television show, she created a dynasty dabbling in all things possible. Could you imagine if Oprah said, “Nope I can’t do that, I’m just a TV Host.” Or Martha Stewart said, “Sorry guys, I can’t! I’m just going to be a good cook.” or Joanna Gains said, “No I can’t venture into a Network, I just design houses.” These ladies revolutionized the Jack of all trades, and there are so many other women that effectively create like multi-faceted masters too, expressing themselves in a thousand different ways.

This new perspective made me realize, I knew the “How To’s!” I knew how to cook, garden, take photos, paint, sew, decorate, and present it all on a silver platter, and so do so many amazing women. My reality was, "How Do I." How do I take this amazing life and live all my expressions through possibility, and a well thought out plan? I had to flip a switch, create a spark, so I did. I created a blog; I wrote a book. I began evolving, not because of what I make but because of what I had become. I still dabble in all sorts of things that make me feel alive and energy driven, but I focus on gardening, caring for all plants in general. I believe they express my true craft; the craft of creating a space for life, watching it grow, take shape, and bloom. I’ve shared encouragement, and joy. I share books that got me through tough times, and those that make me laugh, or stimulate positive wellbeing. I shared “How Do’s” and connected with people regarding their growth and many talents, how they create and what makes them happy.

And this is where this challenge caught my eye. “Members Only: Tell us about what fulfills you and why people should support your passion” is the challenge and tagline, and I thought wow! WOW! Here it is! Here is the chance to get a boost, a huge opportunity to shoot for the stars with $22,500.00 and a membership with Memberful. You see, with all the things I “How To‘d Up,” technology was not one of them, definitely not my strong suit. Let’s just say, I know enough to be dangerous and what I learn I forget fairly quickly. In all the guru and self-help books the biggest advice is to not waste your time on what you’re not good at. Pay someone to do it! That is what this challenge would allow me to do. I can ignite! Then I can ignite others.

My passion, once I uncovered my reason for crafting all things possible through my life, is gardening. Not just outdoors but plants of all varietals, from vegetables and flowers, houseplants and roses, and everything in between. I love to write about it and socialize with others over the act and care of their gardens. On top of being a gardener, I love networking and supporting all creators. Reminding them that this life is too short to explore only one gifted talent, dabble in all your talents and let your soul free. And, if you should be so lucky to find that beautiful talent in one creation, share it with the world. Don’t set it on a shelf for a rainy day. I want to encourage others that time is precious, and with the right perspective it is limitless, you must create the time to explore and do. Just do! And the rest will follow.

When I took my “How To” and turned it to “How Do” my questions had answers:

How do I publish my book?

How do I take my blog to the next step?

How do I create promising revenue with my passion?

How do I share this next step and create more followers and a bigger plan?

How do I get my message out?

Answer: I will take advantage of opportunity and l will win this challenge!

There is a quote from Albert Paley, an American modernist metal sculptor. Who Initially starting out as a jeweler, and became one of the most distinguished and influential metalsmiths in the world. He said, “It’s not about creating an object, it’s about creating perspective.”

The beautiful thing about gardening is, I’m never creating alone. The universe provides you with a seed, God indulges you with a desire, and you both, as one, create an environment, nurturing growth, and stimulate beauty. My hands touching life and stepping back to watch it flourish, makes me more than happy, it makes me a creator.

Monty Don, who I talked about earlier, has been the host of Gardeners World for several years on BBC. He sails through his property cultivating and implementing the act of propagation, tending to his lush scape of green foliage, fancy flowers, and delicious edibles. I don’t have the luxury of his several acre property, promoting his amazing and tailored landscapes (though one day maybe- a girl can dream- right!). I have a small space, in the typical urban subdivision, on minimal property, but magic still happens here. Sprouts and shoots can thrive anywhere that there is an ounce of dedication, a sprinkle of fun, and a desire to sit back and watch it all happen.

Monty Don said, “A garden is not a place, it’s a journey.” Ahhh so true!

This is my passion; this is what fills me up and what I want to encourage others to find.

My quote, on my blog, beyoutifulspark.com, tagline states “Don’t discount you. You beyoutiful you! You are an amazing story; ignite! Share your spark and light up this world.”

This happens when we allow ourselves to create.

goals

About the Creator

Donna Reimus

I believe we are all on this earthly journey for the soul purpose of creating magic. My journey is creating magic through words. Words through laughter, words through tears, words through joys, and words through our fears.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Donna ReimusWritten by Donna Reimus

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.