Motivation logo

How You Can Change the World

4 tips to implement into your life that will make the World a better place

By Osana WasutPublished 5 years ago 6 min read
Like

My whole life, I knew that I was here for big things. I knew that ever since I was a small child, that I would change the World. You know, not a big deal or anything.

But like most who are meant for greatness, challenges sprung up out of nowhere that would try to steer me off my course. Some were big challenges, such as the death of my mother when I was only 20 years old that lead me into a deep dark depression for over two years. Whereas others were smaller problems, such as trying to figure out exactly what I wanted to do to change the world.

There are way too many options nowadays. I could become a writer, and write my stories and inspire people through that. Or I could become a coach and coach others to live wonderful, meaningful lives. Or I could become a motivational speaker, and speak on stage inspiring hundreds, or thousands at a time. There were just so many options available to me, and I couldn't pick one.

SO I thought, okay, why not do all of it? Why not be a writer, coach, and motivational speaker, and possibly even more!? Why not do it all?

When I first started out on my personal transformation journey back in January 2013, I really had no idea what I had just begun. It was a transformation that would take my life by surprise, and bring to me things I didn't expect.

One of the quotes I heard early on in my journey was:

"If you want to change the World, start with yourself." -Gandhi

To me, this was a comforting thought, because it showed me that I didn't need to go out and change the World, all I needed to do was change myself and the World would follow.

SO I started to write out a list of all the things I wanted to change in the world, and then I directly applied it to my own life.

Today, in this post, I would like to share with you some of the things I changed about myself, that you can adopt into your own life if you so choose. Remember you have free will and you are not judged no matter what you decide to do with your life, but these are some things that I personally have implemented into my life, and it has been the greatest decision I ever made!

1. I saw a problem with our western diets and the food we consumed.

I thought it was rather unhealthy what we were doing to our bodies with all the processed foods, sugar, and meat and dairy we as a collective were consuming. So as a result of this, I started to watch what I ate. I stopped eating meat and dairy altogether and cut out fast foods. I also started to keep an eye on my sugar intake, because I knew sugar was not good for us, and I pretty much cut out processed foods the best I could. This had so many health benefits, I won't get into here, but it has made me a much happier, healthier, and attractive person. It sounds strange, but cutting out meat and dairy literally made me radiate with love and positivity.

2. I also saw a problem with the waste society was producing.

So I started to monitor my waste consumption. I bought a few reusable bags so I wouldn't need to rely on the plastic bags at the store, and then shortly later I started to buy my foods in bulk so I would avoid the prepackaged and wasteful plastic that most products come in. Furthermore, I even started to bring my own containers to the store to fill with bulk items, so that I would skip the plastic altogether. I also started to make my own beauty products, which included toothpaste, shampoo, and conditioner. I use coconut oil for my lotion and sunscreen as well, and my skin has never looked better! The waste I was producing dropped significantly, and it wasn't nearly as hard as I suspected. There is a movement out there that's zero waste, which is something I am working towards.

3. Another thing that I noticed was how much stuff I had.

This was over the span of a few years and moving house a few times, and donating over eight garbage bags of clothing every time I would move. Why did I have so much stuff!? Some of this stuff I didn't even use!! So I started to become consciously aware of what I was buying, and I actually stopped buying most things brand new. Everything that I wanted, I would go to the thrift store for, and while some might think that's "gross" it's really not. You can wash the clothes before you wear them you know... Plus I saved a small fortune from buying my clothing, books, and other household items second hand. Now that I can afford to buy new stuff, I still don't want to, because I find it far more rewarding, not to mention fun, to buy things at the thrift store, knowing that I am not contributing to the poor working conditions that clothing factory workers deal with, and I'm also not contributing to more "stuff" being produced. We have way too much stuff, and most of the stuff we don't actually need and it just sits there collecting dust for years on end.

4. The last thing I reflected on, was the idea that bigger=better.

The bigger your home, the better you are, and the idea of always keeping up with the Jones. I thought this was a stupid idea, and I wasn't going to get a big house, or a fancy car just to impress others, or make myself feel good. I decided many years ago that I would never buy a house, and instead, I would build my own, tiny house, because that was all I wanted and needed. Especially because I wanted to spend 6 months of every year traveling the World, it made no sense to me to tie myself down to a 25+ year mortgage or finance a new car. None of that I needed or wanted in my life anyway. It's funny to me that people think their value lies in their material possessions because I see right through that. I value honesty and integrity. I don't care if you are a multimillionaire, I care about how many people you helped or inspired.

So these are just a few ideas that will help you to change the World, and it starts with your own life. I think that we all have what it takes to make changes in our lives, and some of these are small and might seem rather insignificant, such as bringing your own reusable bag to the grocery store, but over time, that will make a difference.

Even 1 bag saved every week is 52 bags a year. But who only needs one bag when you go to the grocery store? I was using 2-3 plastic bags every time I went and it's just me right now, and while I always recycled them, who knows where they actually ended up. So that's more like 104-156 bags each year! That's crazy!!

These things really aren't hard to do, and all it takes is a bit of awareness into your own self to know what you can start to do right now today, that will, in the long run, change the World.

Remember, it starts with you, and if you go on and change your life and then you end up inspiring even just 10 people to start reducing their waste, eating more sustainable foods, and buying things second hand instead of new... then there really is no telling how far your impact will reach, because all it takes is one person to change the World.

Are you that person? I suspect you are on the right path if you are reading this now!

Thank you for reading, if you enjoyed this post, please feel free to leave me a tip as a token of gratitude which will go towards my dreams in life, and my tiny home ;)

With Love and Light

Lindsay @ World Dreamerz

https://www.worlddreamerz.com/

https://www.worlddreamerz.com/

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Osana Wasut

Sharing my stories with the world. Writing has been a great tool for transformation, and I feel like I am only starting to dive deep into the self. Life is a wonderful gift, live to the fullest!

Find me at www.osanawasut.ca

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.