Motivation logo

How To Stay Positive

"Turn your face to the sun and shadows will fall behind you." ~ Maori proverb

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
How To Stay Positive
Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

It's stressful, isn't it?

Struggling to get out of bed every day — but you can’t.

All you have to do is turn off your alarm, get up, and move on. Instead, you hide under your covers, avoiding health. You've lost jobs, friends, and more - but you still can't do it.

Everything you want to be is normal. Life without big emotions and downward designs.

I once felt this way, too. I was found to be very depressed and had a personality limit when I was younger, getting out of bed was brutal.

Part of what makes stress so good, stressful, the stressful weight of despair that holds your head under water. Despair makes it easy to believe that nothing will be right, and everything is in vain.

The worst way to live a healthy life.

On the flip side, a healthy life is about believing in the best, the worst.

Did you grow up to be a hopeful or hopeless person?

I was raised optimistic. Believe in people, hard work pays off, things will get better… as usual. As a young, thin-skinned teenager, life was sucking. The bullying of the students in the classroom was an inevitable part of life. Those years were painful. It was frustrating to see how sad and hopeless people could be.

My mother, who hoped to read books, jumped on the usual lines:

“It's not you; they are. ”

"They're just jealous."

“It will get better. Wait. "

It never got better. As I got older, I grew older. I hid with alcohol and drugs to ease my pain.

Being involved with bad people (you know, the kind you hope your kids will never meet) made me feel strong.

For someone with a depressive mood, hopelessness gives a strong sense of power.

Or, maybe that was talking about drugs and alcohol. Eventually, life became a nightmare for me, and it was time to end it.

What was the last straw? The simple, funny yet yet tragic answer is the movie Groundhog Day, with the thought of waking up, over and over again, in a never-ending cycle of anger, pain, and agony.

So I tried to take my own life. Once, twice, three times. Third was not a charm. (I'm still here, of course.)

Fast forward a year, and while I was officially “recovering,” I was far from feeling at peace and contentment. I was something else:

She is pregnant.

A wise therapist once told me that my depression was due to my choice of health and environment, not to chemical imbalances. Adjust the selection, adjust the environment, and you will adjust the stress.

Not ready to hear that it was my job to fix my depression, I sought out a new therapist.

Nevertheless, I was told that my pregnancy would be one of two alternatives: Either I would be completely cured, or my depression would soon worsen.

If this happened, it would not be possible for me to care for my child.

I had a choice I could make

At the same time, right then and there, I had to choose: Let life lead me, or lead my life.

Read that last line again.

That is why we need to use our tails to be, and nurture, to have hope: Because a hopeless person would not see the choice.

If my parents had been desperate and had high expectations, I would not be here today. If my parents had given up on me, they would have abandoned me; I too had given up. But since they had hoped, they had faith that I would learn, grow, and recover.

As hopeful, they had no other option. Neither did I. And I realized, it was an attitude I wanted to pass on to my child.

I wanted him to be a fighter, always looking for the good in others, falling down and getting up again - and again and again.

I have decided to have hope not only for myself, but also for my child.

It is a struggle to stay optimistic, and the worst hope is to become BFFs. My bad alter-ego always sits on my shoulder, whispering in my ear, "Isn't life wrong?"

The thing is, life can seem wrong. But life became much easier, and I was happy, as I learned to overcome negative feelings.

Let us consider seven ways in which doing so can help us:

1. Tie the following phrases:

"It counts," "Isn't that my luck," "It'll just happen to me," and, "I can't take a break." Words that make you a victim also give you hope. Stop using them.

2. Flip button on negativity.

Violent television shows and viral videos are funny but straightforward. Ignorance is a delicate disease, and it spreads to seemingly harmless people. Almost.

3. Refuse to be a friend of grief.

Kindly, but firmly, tell your partner / mom / best friend / co-worker that you can't participate in their sympathy group. Empathy and compassion are important, but learn how to deal with difficult people.

Life without bitterness is a skill. Learn to accept and evaluate feelings of indifference, but do not dwell on them. Turn them over, taste them, and release them.

4. Turn the frustration into its head.

When you have experienced disappointment or failure, go ahead and do something (whatever). Complete the task that was on your to-do list.

When I get frustrated at work, the first thing I do is complete another project. It forces your head and heart to change gears, and it will point you to a beautiful, sensible place.

5. Thank you for your lucky stars.

When you do feel tense and stressed, stop and say “thank you.” In any case. Thank you for your house, for giving us warmth and four walls. Thanks for your car, for continuing to get started (very early, anyway). Thank you for your work, even if you hate it, because it keeps you dressed and well fed.

Do not be discouraged by the many accomplishments, but make it a habit to embrace the small success of life. You are more lucky than you think.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.