Motivation logo

5 Tips to Love and Support Yourself and Become a Happier You

Wake up; come back to you ”~ Marcus Aurelius

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
5 Tips to Love and Support Yourself and Become a Happier You
Photo by Antonino Visalli on Unsplash

Darkness. Anger. Separation. Great discomfort.

These are words that I can use to describe my inner knowledge during my teenage years.

Depression was something I was very used to. Fear was running through my life and I was tired. I now realize that much of it had to do with the poor family I grew up in and the pain that followed.

Determined to break this unhealthy way of existence, I have been on the path to making a living and growing myself a few years ago.

However, my transition to a stronger relationship with me kicked off the gear after my heart was broken for the first time. But it didn't just break — it just burned completely. Little did I know that this would be the best thing that ever happened to me.

As I got deeper into the divorce process, I was awakened by the fact that I had completely abandoned the relationship. My self-esteem was low, I lacked self-confidence, and I relied on the one I loved to save me and carry me.

I deceived myself with the truth of my relationship with the man I was dating.

Seeing is hard to agree with, but that was just my start.

Eventually, I was able to bring myself back to the world. I have been running through situations that have led me to discover all these basic principles that I lacked in a relationship.

After a few months of a meaningful encounter, I realized the way I was: building a strong, healthy relationship with myself.

Even though I was dealing with a broken heart, I felt lighter, different. It was weird. After a while everything seemed to be “clicked” and continued to improve.

From then on I dedicated myself to him. I was determined to rely on myself for things I always relied on for other people / external sources. Below are some steps that have helped me to reach my goal.

1. Practice empathy.

Know this. Make it your new religion. This is the basis of a very strong relationship with you because it creates a gentle tone within you.

Self-help helps you to accept when you are in a difficult situation and free yourself from judgments that are directed at you, which in turn opens the door to self-love.

Although it was difficult, I did this during my separation. I would put my hand on my heart and say things like, “Poor thing, this is a terrible thing to do. This is very painful. ”And I lived with that pain for a while.

I ended by reminding myself that I was doing my best right now and was actually handling the situation well.

Doing this has given me the courage to enter into strong emotions and to experience them fully, which has helped me to recover. It also gave me strength as it made me feel that I was not being honest.

Seeing that I was able to take care of myself at this amazing time was a great moment for me. In the end, it brought back all the self-love I didn't know existed.

I suggest reading Kristin Neff's book on self-awareness. I was able to understand the concept in this book. However, as someone who has been extremely difficult for me all my life, it was hard to accept the idea at first and I made a lot of practice.

2. Communicate with your emotions and body.

I spent my whole life suppressing my feelings and not understanding what they were. Now I realize that this is not right.

Our bodies constantly fill us with emotions trying to let us know how they feel and what they need. I have found that the more I try to identify my feelings, the closer I am to my intuition.

Recently, I had to choose a new roommate and meet a ton of people. As I try to get to know everyone, I make sure I know the full feeling inside me. I can see warm but powerful feelings, strength, or anything. After a while I began to trust those feelings and took my decisions away from them.

And it made me treat my heart and body with great respect, so I take better care of it.

One time when I was working hard I felt sick coming. After returning home that day, I listened intently to what my body needed to feel better. I ate anything that sounded good (sweet corn that sounds like heaven, unusual), I drank a lot of water, I bathed, I gave myself a self-love tone, I slept very early in the morning.

I felt amazing the next day.

Meditation is also a good test of this that will increase your understanding of any emotions that arise.

3. Get your prices.

We all have numbers, but have we really analyzed what it is and why we choose one over the other?

I went through a price list the other day that I found online and highlighted those that spoke to me the most. I became very close to him after establishing this.

I have found that I truly value my physical and mental health, kindness, real communication with myself and others, and efficiency.

It was as if I were regaining my identity. I simply allowed myself to accept my authenticity and felt amazing.

4. Understand your needs and limitations.

Seeing my standards led me to realize what my needs were.

As I value my physical and mental health, caring for my mind and body has become my first need. I have learned that my mind and body are very sensitive, so I need to feed them to maintain a healthy level of comfort.

With that understanding, I set a limit. I have made sure that I do my best to respect that need in most cases. Whether it meant missing a night out with friends to get a good night's sleep, avoid stressing myself out in the gym, or take a moment to let go of any built-in emotions.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.