Motivation logo

How to Quit Smoking Naturally

Quitting Smoking: How to Overcome Cravings and Stay Smoke-Free

By Paulraj Manickam AshariPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like
"Break the Habit: Quit Smoking Today"

There are millions of smokers in the world who may or may not tell themselves about not smoking every other day but every time when they try it, they fail to stop smoking. Although smokers are aware that smoking habits are not good for their health and also they are very much aware of the diseases caused by smoking but their mind wins the game and they fail the mission of quitting smoking.

Nowadays, tobacco companies have printed the effects of smoking by showing smokers' lungs on the packet of cigarettes in order to raise awareness among smokers. Do you know that a smoker not only has a bad effect on their health but also has very bad effects in the case of passive smoking? So passive smoking affects people who are non-smokers. Due to this reason, the government has restricted smokers to not to do smoking in public places like bus stands, markets, gardens, and many places. If they are caught, then have to pay a hefty fine for breaking the rules.

Smokers do not understand the severe tobacco effects has on their health and they keep on smoking massive cigarettes their whole life, then later on when they realize that it has impacted their health badly, then it would be very late for them. Many organization has come up with a special day called ‘no smoking day’ to encourage smokers to get rid of smoking and it has helped many people to quit smoking gradually but there are still left in this world who are yet to decide about how to leave smoking.

There are alternative products present in the market to leave smoking such as nicotine chewing gum and electronic cigarettes also called E-cigarettes. E-cigarettes is the electronic product which does not have tobacco inside them but it gives a smoking effect just like smoking real cigarettes for me, nicotine chewing gum has helped a lot to quit smoking. Similar to smoking real cigarettes, there are also side effects of smoking E-cigarettes and having nicotine chewing gum if its intake is more. So caution is required when having such kinds of alternatives in order to quit smoking.

Some smokers when they try to use these kinds of alternatives, they get addicted to hitting and they find it hard to stop the habit. They may be the symptoms of quitting smoking in which the smoker’s mind looks after the other way to get pleasure similar to the pleasure they get while they smoke real cigarettes. I do have a nicotine patch side effect when I was trying to look out the way about how to stop smoking.

It took me a long time to quit smoking and daily I use to search for articles on the best way to quit smoking and the easy way to stop smoking. Also, I did search for an article to search for the benefits of quitting smoking. I also searched for the disadvantages of quitting smoking but I found that there were no disadvantages for it. I read many articles on how to stop smoking immediately and in a natural way and I found one article very much interesting because it gave clear guidance about how to stop smoking naturally. This article says that we have to note down the advantages and disadvantages of smoking in a paper and it should be read daily first thing in the morning after we wake up because at that time your mind will be in a subconscious state and whatever words or thoughts you feed in your mind will get captured strongly and it decides your behavior on that particular day. I just thought of why not go for it and see the results and to my surprise, I can able to reduce the intake of cigarettes gradually, finally, the day has come when I spent my day without a single smoke.

I was amazed by the results and as this step has worked for me, I didn’t stop reading about the advantages and disadvantages of smoking on daily basis. For 2 months, I spent every day without smoking a single cigarette but after that, my mind started craving a lot for smoking cigarettes. I tried to convince my mind by saying to myself that smoking is not good for my health and also tried to remember the points which I noted down about the advantages and disadvantages of smoking but then also I was not able to convince my bloody mind. One day what happened, I was in the office and as usual, sitting at my desk and working on the computer. Suddenly my mind started wandering a lot thinking about just one thing and that one thing is ‘Cigarettes’. I was too much distracted that I was unable to concentrate on my work and at that time I was thinking that why not go out to have a single smoke instead of fighting with my thought? It was some psychological effects as I was becoming mad at that time. So I just got up from my desk and told my colleague about this that I was not able to concentrate on my work as I am just thinking about having a cigarette but this colleague who is also a chain smoker, advised me to go for it if I am not able to control it. I didn’t expect such an answer from him.

I waited for some time because I controlled my thought and said to myself again and again, that if I failed to stop quitting smoking this time, then I would never be able to stop smoking in my lifetime and the steps I have taken till now will be a waste of time. Fortunately, I did not have a smoke on that day, and on the other day, to my surprise, my thoughts stop to wander and my mind was clear. I then searched on Google to check the alternatives to cigarettes and I found that nicotine patches and E-cigarettes will help get rid of smoking. I preferred to go for a nicotine patch because this patch comes with a tablet that we have to keep in our mouths for some time until it dissolves. 1 patch containing 10 tablets costs around 50 rupees which is more costly for me but then also in order to get rid of this deadly habit, I have no option but to go for buying this nicotine patch.

I used to buy this nicotine patch on daily basis on the initial day because 10 tablets seem to be not sufficient for me. By having these tablets, I observed that I was not craving cigarettes and this patch replaced my smoking habits. I was quite happy that anyhow this nicotine patch has helped me to get rid of smoking but the worst part is that I am now addicted to the nicotine tablet. Then I started finding out the way to stop having this tablet also. So I limit my intake of these tablets on daily basis and it took me a year to completely get rid of these tablets.

Now, I am a pure non-smoker living a healthy life with my family. I also advised my many friends who are smokers to get rid of this habit at the earliest and also I provided guidance which I followed. Some of them have followed my advice and succeeded in quitting smoking and some of them have not yet decided to follow my guidance. I hope that they will apply it one day when they realize that smoking is not good at all for our life.

quotessuccessself helphow tohappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Paulraj Manickam Ashari

I write engaging content for blogs, articles, and social media. I am skilled at storytelling and creating content that connects with readers. My goal is to help businesses and individuals achieve their goals through the power of words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • MICHELLE SMITHabout a year ago

    Happy to hear you were able to find the solution to quitting smoking. Any habit that is a danger to your health is hard to quit but with the right mind set, motivation from yourself and maybe others, especially God, you are able to do it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.