Motivation logo

How to Fall Back in Love With Your Life

"If we look at the world with the love of life, the world will show us its beauty." ~ Daisaku Ikeda

By Arya SharmaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

How to Fall Back in Love With Your Life
Photo by Gemma Chua-Tran on Unsplash

Have you ever found yourself in a predicament, waiting for some Universe force to release you?

When the ennui comes in, it can be hard to find a way back to the light, but it often takes a series of events and our choices to live a life that doesn’t fit our goals, values, and interests.

Last year, I found myself on one of these routes. After spinning my wheels for a very long time, I realized that my so-called efforts to improve my situation were far from over — I was just running out of energy to wait for a savior to help me.

Finally, when that savior had never arrived, I stepped out of it and admitted that I did not live in a particular dream novel, nor could I plead, by his will, a master of light weapons. As Alice Sebold wrote in her autobiography, Lucky, "You save yourself or you stay unsaved."

At the time, I was working full-time. An activity that no longer presents a challenge, growth, or merger. This alone has affected everything else in my life.

Spending a day alone after a day was self-defeating, draining my energy. At the end of the day, I didn't have much left over, and I didn't want to be around anything that I used to enjoy, such as yoga or socializing. I even struggled to apply for new positions all the time, disappointed and disappointed with each of them.

As I had just finished my masters program, I felt even more frustrated with my prospects. Did I just spend three years of my life pursuing a degree that did not measure up to my standards or goals? Do I need to go to school again?

Too many unanswered questions have left me feeling hopeless and discouraged.

After that I met Hazel, a career coach who I immediately contacted. It took me a few months, but I finally called him to arrange a session.

Hazel has helped me to work on my beliefs in self-determination, to set my own standards — and in my value — and to see that I can live a real life now. I didn’t have to start over.

Here's what I learned:

1. Take the long road home.

Sometimes it takes a real change in perspective to change your mindset. During the week when my car was in the store, I decided to walk home instead of taking the bus.

It was raining outside, and the walk was at least 7 miles, but I had no place to go. Some of the roads I took were roads I had never taken before and others I had driven many times. They were all new to me that day.

When I first moved to Denver, I went everywhere, and everything was magical because it was new and special and offered many opportunities. After being here for three years, the youth was old and normal - and the magic and opportunity I felt at the age of twenty-four seemed to be over with.

This movement brought me back to basics and opened my heart back to magic. I don’t have to move to a new place, a place I can also escape to become a home and lose its magic if I let it. I had to change my mind.

When we experience boredom or insecurity, we do not need to continue. Taking a long way home, I returned to my love for my hometown, and by changing my outlook on life, I was able to see all the opportunities that existed in the past.

2. Move.

I highly recommend movement to be a part of your daily life. Like anyone else, I can and will find excuses for not going out or yoga, but when I do, I feel overwhelmed, focused and energized. Movement does this faster and better than anything else I’ve ever found.

There is a funny saying that if you stand in your head for a few minutes every day, you will change your mind. I think this goes, too. When you change your focus on movement, you start to see things differently, and opportunities open up again.

3. Surround yourself with the right people.

There is nothing wrong with having a good time or having a good time, but it is also important to have a good conversation with people who encourage enthusiasm, enthusiasm, and contentment. Spend time with the people who build you up, see and promote your strengths, and who, themselves, are truly living.

Power is contagious, and when you are close to direct energy and talk to others with confidence, you will begin to reorganize your thinking, and, ultimately, the way you see and feel the world around you.

4. Be present.

I know, I know — this has been said before. But it can't be said enough. One of the main reasons people feel dissatisfied with their health is because they miss out.

When we are not there, we become a little numb.

Just taking this moment for granted, a genuine engagement - rather than sitting in your head, thinking about what comes next, or getting angry (or frustrated) with the past - can increase your appreciation and prevent you from feeling worthless.

You may be surprised at how easy it is to learn new things or to remember pieces of information when you start to fully tun.

5. Find your prices.

I had to point out human communication as one of my high standards before I realized that there was nothing wrong with me because I could not work alone. Once I have identified what was important to my emotional well-being, I can go on living a life that ensures that my values ​​are part of my daily world.

What are your prices? We tend to look at others and think we should be doing what they are doing to be successful and satisfied with our lives. In fact, we may love them because they are living the truth. Authenticity is desirable, not quality X, Y or Z.

Look inside, not to others, to find your values; Once you've done that, find out how they can be used to live your real life, and start taking steps, big or small, to make them

goals
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.