Motivation logo

How to deal with conflict

Conflict

By Sita BaralPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
How to deal with conflict
Photo by Charl Folscher on Unsplash

"Peace of mind is not the absence of conflict in life, but the ability to deal with it." ~ Unknown

I broke up a few years ago, unable to cope with the difficulties I was experiencing - a change in my lifestyle, loss of job security, a broken relationship with my parent, bereavement, severe physical injuries, and gradually, in all of that, a serious mental illness.

All this time, until this month, I have been thinking and wishing: "I want all this to pass, I have never been."

I shut myself up - fearing the reaction of people to my mental health, I was convinced that my life was over at the age of twenty-three.

I will never be able to get a job again. People would be less afraid to talk to me if they knew the truth. I would never make a friend again, and those I could cling to as I gradually separated from the connection would eventually leave me.

My wish came true when I started hiding.

I stopped doing things that I loved, such as walking along the river and meeting close friends. I became very independent and very comfortable with all this fighting and conflict power that I was most concerned about disappearing from my sight.

I felt safe for the first time in months even though I had given up many things I loved. I was happy enough, and that was enough.

It didn't last long though. The space created by the absence of all those conflicts I wished to quickly escape filled with sorrow, sadness, and loneliness.

I also realized that what I was most eager to discard was the circling at the edge of my new "peace" situation - the papers I avoided, the stories I didn't write because I didn't think they were worth writing, and the ongoing state of paranoia. Who can I trust?

I think the worst thing that happened was the separation and how I could have separated at the same time my remaining friends, those I was afraid of getting lost due to misunderstanding and fear.

My mental health had changed dramatically and I had pushed the people I needed most closer to me. Not only did I lose a wealth of support, but I also deprived them of the opportunity to learn and understand me better.

I am now twenty-five years old. I have been working with a career therapist for a few months, trying to deal with areas of my life and my thoughts that prevent me from dealing with living the life I want.

I smile a lot. I applied for a job that I knew I could enjoy without worrying about the prospect of finding one. And I do not feel that it will be the end of the world if things do not go as planned or if I receive a lot of criticism. I feel more ready.

I can’t push my problems and hide from conflicts, no matter how difficult or intimidating they are all. I can’t avoid it and pretend it doesn’t exist. I have learned that in order to be confident and to move forward in life, I have to deal with my problems and have to fight.

I have to understand it not with fear, but with an open mind and willingness to learn. I have to be ready to listen, understand, show empathy, and recognize my mistakes. Things that keep me scared - I have to challenge them.

I still have bad days and sometimes I hide when everything gets too much. I'm not perfect but I don't think that's the point.

We are all embarrassed at some point and that means we can always try again. I have learned, and I have kept it to myself, that the most important thing to remember is this: once we are able to handle one conflict, the next one will not be so bad. That is a great weight for your thinking.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.