Motivation logo

How to Be Perfectly Unhappy

It is okay to just be content:)

By Zack KamelPublished 6 years ago 3 min read

Hope Even in the Darkest Places

I know we all strive to be happy. People always ask each other, "Are you happy?" Most people I think just resort to saying yes. Why? Why do you think people just say yes? Well it's the normal thing to say but in reality they are not. Happiness should not be a concept we try to strive for, we should strive for that job, or strive to do good in a day, or strive to be content. If you're only happy on Wednesday and not any of the other days of the week, were you really happy at all? People say they are happy because the world made not being happy to be such a sad thing. You think I am happy? Hell no! Do I have good days and bad? I sure do! I just feel like if I constantly strive for something that I cannot reach all the time what's the point? It's like trying to reach the stars, it's a beautiful thing to look at but if we had it than it would burn us, it would be too good to be true. I love so many things I do and I also hate so many things I do but that is enough. I am never going to tell people I just want to be happy because I do not even know what that means, do you? It is just a word. It is okay to be perfectly unhappy, it is okay to say you're only ok. It is not okay to say you are happy but then the next day you cry the entire day. Strive to be content and the rest will follow:) I just think life is too short to just fail yourself. In life I do things I enjoy like voice acting, or working on my Youtube channel, or music. See those are things I always hold close to my heart but it does not mean they will give me the happiness I deserve. I think the reason for that is that as humans we will always want more and I think it was meant to be that way so that we may keep moving forward. I think if we were all just satisfied than we would basically just be in heaven. I challenge you to fly past the norm of being happy, I challenge you to ask yourself what would make me content today? What could I change in my life today, be it small or huge, that could change my life just a bit. Can I be kinder to people? Can I enjoy what I do a bit better? Should I change what I am doing because I mean if you're saying you want to be happy, but you're sticking to a job you hate, then you're sort of at a dead-end. Look at the mirror and ask am I the true self of who I want to be when I look in this mirror? We each have a path, some harder, some easier but that does not mean they cannot all lead to a beautiful and crazy and content life! I wrote this because I needed to make sense of this for myself too. I only now realized what will bring me enjoyment in this life, and thriving for that, as hard as it is may be sometimes, is some of the greatest joy I am experiencing. I thrive to do good in the world, to the best of my ability and to be grateful for all I have, even the small, dying car I have. Think now about what you really want and think hard and from here on make every day a step forward in achieving that thing and go live a life of peace and happy, just kidding, just go live.

happiness

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Zack KamelWritten by Zack Kamel

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.