Motivation logo

How Changing The Way I Set Goals Leads To Success

Changing big goals into small steps that form positive habits

By Michael NaylorPublished 13 days ago 4 min read
1
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

Recently I have been thinking about my goals for the rest of the year.

I have already made good progress towards some goals but not so much towards others.

On the successful side I have started writing more, I have read more, and started to improve my work-life balance.

On the not-so-successful side, I have not reached my goal weight.

I noticed a pattern in those goals. My weight goal is an endpoint, I want to get to a specific weight. That goal weight is over 100 pounds away, not something that I can complete in a short time.

I know this of course, but because of the way the goal is set at this point even though I have made progress it is incomplete.

The other goals are action-based:

  • Write 250 words a day.
  • Read 1 chapter a day.
  • Spend 1 hour doing something that is just for fun or relaxation every day.

I have met each of these goals almost every day. On the days I don’t I try to add the rest onto the next. 200 words today means 300 tomorrow.

I am ticking these goals off every day, they are small steps that I can fit in and build my day around.

The other goal is huge. It is a 12 to 24-month journey. So I have been looking at how to change this goal and break it down into actionable steps. Here are 2 I have already

  • Walk 9000 steps a day (I currently average 8000)
  • Don’t skip breakfast (I have noticed doing this leads to more snacking in the day)

I am confident that these new goals will lead to greater success. Let’s have a look at why.

Let’s put it this way: say you’ve got a big book you’ve been wanting to read, whether it’s for fun or to learn something new. Starting that book can feel like standing at the bottom of a huge mountain.

But what if you could climb that mountain just one step at a time? That’s what action-based targets are all about.

What Are Action-Based Targets?

Action-based targets are simple tasks that make a big goal feel less scary. For example, my goal is to read 1 chapter a day. This could even be 1 page a day if you want to build up to that.

This goal is great because it focuses on what I can do today not some distant even like “read 10 books” or something vague like read more.

Why Do Action-Based Targets Work?

They Break Down Big Goals: Turning “read 10 books a year” into “read one page a day” makes a big challenge feel doable.

They Build Habits: Doing a small task every day, like reading a page or checking a budget, turns into a habit. Good habits help us succeed in all parts of life.

Instant Rewards: It feels good to check off a task each day. With action-based targets, you get that good feeling more often, which keeps you motivated. I like to write them on a notepad and check them off. It’s cathartic.

Less Pressure, More Fun: Focusing on one page at a time lets you enjoy what you’re reading, without the stress of trying to finish the whole book. Reading should be fun or at least educational and not feel like a chore.

Photo by Thomas Bormans on Unsplash

How to Set Action-Based Targets

Setting these targets is easy and fun. Here’s how to get started:

Pick a Clear Goal: Start with something you want to achieve. Maybe you want to learn about investing or get healthier.

Make It Small: Think of the smallest step you can take that moves you toward your goal. If you want to be healthier, that step is, to take a 10-minute walk every morning or walk a certain amount of extra steps.

Make It a Routine: Decide when and where you’ll do your task. Maybe you read your page right after lunch or walk right before breakfast. I walk to work and take the stairs instead of the lift where possible.

Keep Track: Use a notebook or a list to mark each time you complete your task. Seeing your progress grow is a big motivator!

Adjust If Needed: If reading one page gets too easy, read two. Or if a morning walk feels too tough, try five minutes instead. The key is to keep it easy.

Examples of Action-Based Targets

Reading: Rather than trying to read more, aim to read one industry article each night. This can build up your knowledge slowly without overwhelming you.

Writing: If you want to work on your writing aim to write a set amount of words each day. This can sharpen your skills bit by bit. I also find that I exceed this most days once I get into the flow of writing.

Health: Want to eat healthier? Try cooking a healthy meal three times a week or replace one less healthy snack with fruit each day. It breaks down the challenge into manageable parts.

Action-based targets can change the way we reach our goals, making them manageable. You could even take this a step further and gamify the goals. Add a points system that has little rewards that you can work towards.

By focusing on small, daily actions, we pave our way to success one step at a time. So why not start small and see where it takes you? After all, every big achievement starts with a single, small step.

What goals are you going to achieve in the next 12 months?

self helphow togoalsadvice
1

About the Creator

Michael Naylor

I am a Computer Science teacher in the UK with a variety of interests from education, making learning more accessible and self improvement to tech, gaming, and programming.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake11 days ago

    Wow super motivational.

  • angela hepworth13 days ago

    Helpful input here!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.