Motivation logo

How big is your dream?

Grow is uncomfortable, tiny steps are okay as long as you’re growing each time.

By Rita VianaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2

𝐃𝐨 𝐲𝐨𝐮 𝐫𝐞𝐦𝐞𝐦𝐛𝐞𝐫 𝐰𝐡𝐞𝐧 𝐲𝐨𝐮 𝐬𝐭𝐚𝐫𝐭𝐞𝐝 𝐭𝐨 𝐝𝐫𝐞𝐚𝐦 𝐚𝐛𝐨𝐮𝐭 𝐲𝐨𝐮𝐫 𝐛𝐮𝐬𝐢𝐧𝐞𝐬𝐬? And how far away everything seemed to look?⁣

Today is my Google Photos reminded me of a trip I did on 2011, so I started to remember what I had that year. I'd got one of the biggest clients of my new freelancer career, I had so many dreams but at the same time, so many limiting beliefs. ⁣

2011 was not a good year for me, my dad died in the middle of the project and with him my best friend, my foundation and my will of growth.

Actually that project helped me with my grief more than anything, I had a routine and I could finish it with time to spare.

In January 2011 was the last big trip I did with my dad. So this is not a sad story, he was alive here. This story is not about me, this story is about dreams and goals.

I wanted to find a meaningful photo to illustrate how powerful a dream can go. 𝐓𝐡𝐢𝐬 𝐢𝐬 𝐧𝐨𝐭 𝐚𝐛𝐨𝐮𝐭 𝐦𝐞, 𝐭𝐡𝐢𝐬 𝐢𝐬 𝐚𝐛𝐨𝐮𝐭 𝐚 𝐭𝐫𝐞𝐞. ⁣

When a seed is planted, it has in its DNA that will become a plant. I will say that every seed has a dream to one day become a tree. But does it know how big they can be? Does it know when to stop? ⁣

This is just one tree!

𝐓𝐡𝐞 𝐥𝐚𝐫𝐠𝐞𝐬𝐭 𝐂𝐚𝐬𝐡𝐞𝐰 𝐓𝐫𝐞𝐞 𝐨𝐟 𝐭𝐡𝐞 𝗪𝐨𝐫𝐥𝐝 is an anomaly. It's a tourist attraction in Pirangi, Brazil. It was planted in the 1888, its branches are so heavy that when it hits the soil it grows more roots and it keeps growing. It's not dead, it's still growing and it's still producing fruit (60,000 cashews each year). ⁣

⁣✨𝗪𝐡𝐲 𝐢𝐬 𝐭𝐡𝐢𝐬 𝐢𝐦𝐩𝐨𝐫𝐭𝐚𝐧𝐭?✨⁣

If you're just starting, you're just a seed. We put so many expectations on our beginnings and if it's not right, not perfect, we just stop, and we have to start over at some point. ⁣ Or not. Some people give up on the first hard path and years later, they regret it but are too busy with other things to try again.

⁣ Most people don't believe their business are going to be successful after 3 months, because beginnings are uncomfortable. 𝐈𝐭'𝐬 𝐬𝐭𝐫𝐞𝐬𝐬𝐟𝐮𝐥. You have to put so much work to make it work then, and most of the time. you're by yourself. ⁣

Everyone is telling you to find a job and give up of this “crazy dream of become a forest someday” ⁣ ⁣

Don't give up after 3 months! Don't listen to people that cut your branches, they don't water you. ⁣

Tiny steps are okay as long as you’re growing each time.

I read somewhere that Goals are Dreams with a deadline. People often ask about dreams and goals, and we are used to saying stuff like I want to be rich, or I want to be successful. We are not used to the idea of creating a timeline to achieve our dreams. Dreams are like New Year's resolutions. They exist, we make them, we have no intention to fulfill it by working on it. They exist because it is a convention, and we know next year they would still be the same ones.

Most people believe a dream will be achieved by luck. They don’t create a path, they don’t believe in themselves and worse, they are usually the ones complaining about how success always goes to others.

Luckily we are not trees. We don’t depend on other people to achieve our dreams, most of the time. If you created a path for your goal, you need to find ways to achieve it, make them possible, divide them into subgoals and celebrate your wins. Nurture your soil. It will help not just you, but the ones around you too.

Offer help to someone in need, be the nutrient others need and 𝐢𝐭 𝐰𝐢𝐥𝐥 𝐜𝐨𝐦𝐞 𝐛𝐚𝐜𝐤, 𝐈 𝐩𝐫𝐨𝐦𝐢𝐬𝐞. ⁣

Let's be Forests! ⁣

goals
2

About the Creator

Rita Viana

I am a Virtual Assistant based in Canada. I work with Coaches & Creatives who want to create courses and are ready to scale up their business.

I also have my own business: https://ritaviana.ca

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.