Motivation logo

Handwriting Lover

Willpower, Unpopular Opinion

By Sheba Bonita Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
My written works on papers, photo by me.

Growing up, I found myself valuing papers. To the point where I found myself in my room with stacks of paper. After years of writing I wanted to do something with all the papers that I have collected. Therefore, I decided to design art pieces with my papers of words. Shortly, I started to take pictures and make small videos. Pretty much, writing allows me to tell stories slightly from the norm. Similar, to creating an unheard of universe and introducing it to the realities of millions. Leading into a new development of art that I refer to as scripted-blue.



Most will argue that typing on a computer saves time for all storytellers. Yes, I do agree. Plenty, of time. However, writing by hand teaches me how to use my imagination more so than ever. Writing by hand drives me to think outside of the box about what I want to write. Discovering this simple notion came about when one of my computers broke down. Beyond upset I was, because I had tons of writing to complete. Literally, my computer breaking was a total unknown blessing and miracle that took placed in my life. In that small moment of time, I was forced to appreciate writing more. My thought process was simple, find a solution, do it quickly and do not quit.



Purchasing a brand new computer was the first idea. However, the computer was beyond costly and I would have to wait many months before I was able to have one. Thinking about not writing for months was just not an option to me. Therefore, I decided to ask my mommy to buy packs of writing paper and then I would ask local libraries for printing paper. Simply, that is how I began to write by hand for months and months. Literally, I spent hours of writing by hand. In the mean time, I would go to local libraries to re-type work on the computer if I had to submit papers online. Plus, I would pull out my notebook and re-type the words on the computer. Far, as typewriting goes I am very fast. Keep in mind, the library is only open for a certain about of hours. Therefore, I knew at the library that my time can only be to type. At home, I could spend hours handwriting and thinking. Hence, after my papers were fully thought-out then I took it to the library to type within a limited amount of time.



Simply, I knew if I worked hard and never gave up that one day I would soon have a computer. Yes, with computers you complete writing faster. Yet, by using your hands to write one fully is able to understand the meaning behind writing.

Constantly, enjoying the ideas in your head and allowing them to naturally flow out of your pen. Quite the mind and listen to the truths of your heart. Still, today writing by hand is still very much part of my life. If I need to brain-storm. Simply, I grab packs of papers, note pads or I politely asked for printing paper near the nearest library. Walking on foot with glory and joy within my heart. It is magic how the one thing in life that could have broken me, is the one event that made me. It was weird sometimes grabbing packs and packs of paper of all different kinds. However, my determination was to utilize the idea of being an optimist to the full effect. Albert Einstein said it the best, “there are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.’



Plus, with writing by hand one is forced to only focus on the task. There are no distractions such as time to drift off into emails or web borrowing. What happens is that it truly becomes your pen and you against the world. Even till today, I still use tons of paper to complete different works. It makes me appreciate doing what I love and it sustains humility within me. Especially, since I understand that there will be tons of children in this world who will love creating stories and writing ideas. However, will not have computers available to do the typing. My message to them is to keep writing even if you have to use paper for a couple of years and never give up. Do not allow any temporary circumstances to become permanent realities. Even if you hear a 1000 no’s, make sure to tell yourself 1000 times yes.



Think of the ink as your best-friend and the paper as your teacher. Soon the tear drops on your paper will turn into the laughter at your award shows. My heart can not be left without joy, if my pen is still full of ink. Remember, handwriting is the only way to respect the connection between this world and the frequencies not known to us yet.



goals
Like

About the Creator

Sheba Bonita

To be felt is more important than to be known. - Wisdom

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.