Motivation logo

Growth as a Mindset

Where Does Your Mind Wander When You Haven't Tapped Into Further Growth Yet???

By hoodiespeakPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Growth as a Mindset
Photo by Suzanne D. Williams on Unsplash

I am always looking to grow.. struggle about that is growth takes many factors and patience. Sometimes I am stuck at the in-between of growing to where I want to be and still resembling who I was when I began. How do I find it in my motivation, my determination, and my mindset to continue in this approach and attitude?

I personally believe that while growing, you find more seeds to plant. You don't necessarily keep planting the same ones either. You promote balance by growing in things that don't interest you as well. Sure, you can continue gettting better and better at the categories of life that intrigue you, but soon there will be a disconnect between doing those things with excellence and translating that to daily life success. I have learned and experienced that the more you grow, even in things you don't care to grow in, the more you grow overall.

Some of what I do is learning that growth is not always an option. As a basketball and life coach, I have to be honest about when growth is not imminent. I have to tell myself what is available in this situation, and if growth is not available, I have to look at the soil and see why that is. I take a closer look and I investigate what growth is ready to sprout forth. Usually these are the things you can see a student or client ALREADY taking interest in; that's the bait.

Use the bait as a way to encourage growth overall. Find something that is easy to be passionate about for this person and see what aspects they connect with about it. Get them a dose of growth before they even realize the seed was planted. Get them just a little progress and a small step toward endless solutions just by introducing the idea that growing never stops and that if you find yourself interested in something, there is always room for improvement and ways of making that interest more enjoyable still yet. Growth as a mindset never has to stop. Growth as a mindset fills in the gaps when we are unaware of growing potential and our need for fulfilling it. Keeping the mindset of growth feeds the potential for it.

So when I feel I'm plummeting or struggling to grow, the main thing I can do is ease up and relax about the progress I see currently. Look back and see what growth has already done for me. Realize that even with all the work I put in, there were some breaks in my favor that had nothing to do with my efforts it seems. That means both good and bad, there is more to growth than I can comprehend, more that factors into it than I can pinpoint and control. This is the moment I can breathe easy and simply focus on tasks of growth that produce a further mindset of it. If I can do just enough in categories I find easy and fun, I'll carry over the same discipline and execution to more things that aren't so easy and fun. Maybe I am so driven on growth and the mindset of it, that I don't even realize those necessary tasks aren't all that easy and fun until AFTER I've already completed them. With a growth mindset, sometimes even the hard stuff doesn't seem hard because it's already done before you even ponder it!

Growth mindset keeps you growing even when you think there's nothing more to do. It takes your potential to grow and it honors where you could be instead of just where you're at now, or where you choose to see yourself even. Though you have big dreams, even then you cannot envision yourself where you could be from where you are, if where you are is suppressing you from getting there. You cannot trust this dreamer while bogged down with the reality of realizing growth is needed before it comes. You have to trust and know that saying YES to growth starts a process that leads to a mentality and a mindset. Growth continues, just believe.

In order for you to get there, you have to let go of what you believe now and how those beliefs shaped your existence to this point. Growth will start its work if you choose that. Growth will continue if you think on that concept and promote that idea. Growth will not let you down if you continue to believe there is room to grow. Having a mindset of growth will fill in the gaps you need to get there.

successself helphow tohealinggoals

About the Creator

hoodiespeak

hoodiespeak: a prompting within to let the advocate challenge for justice, the cast out to fight for inclusion, the exploited to win back their freedoms, and the less than loved to search for a home less wicked — hoodiespeak

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    hoodiespeakWritten by hoodiespeak

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.