Motivation logo

"Gracie Get's Enough"

A Children's Story

By Pamela Walsh-HoltePublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 4 min read
"Gracie Get's Enough"
Photo by Jametlene Reskp on Unsplash

“Happy Birthday little one, I am so glad you’re here.” These are the first words Momma whispered in her ear. "You know what little one?” “You are my first-born pup!” Her Momma told her as she cleaned her up.

“Come closer,” Momma said. “I have something I want you to hear.” “You see little one, I named you “Gracie” because it suits you dear!”

Gracie gave this some thought and then she said, “Oh, I like that Momma, I really do, and it suits me fine!”

So excited was Gracie that she began to sing! “I have a name it’s “Gracie” and it’s all mine!” “I have a name it’s “Gracie” and it suits me fine!”

“I’m so very glad you like it,” Momma said with a smile. "I just knew that it would fit! I knew it all the while!”

"Now, Gracie Honey” Momma said “I know you are tired, it's time to take a little nap?” Then before Gracie could fall asleep, she heard a little yap!

“Oh, look here Gracie!” Momma exclaimed “you have a baby brother!” When Gracie moved to have a peek, out came another!

Oh dear, Gracie thought, there’s so much I want to say! That’s when she wished them each a Happy Birthday!

Gracie bounced about having a great day, when Momma said “You must settle down my Gracie, there are more on the way!”

Gracie could hardly believe what happened next! Her family just grew and grew as she counted 3, 4, 5 then 6!

Oh my! Oh my! Gracie thought, I'm so very happy! No one is as blessed as this!

Then came 7, and again she counted 8, and included herself 9! She had 8 brothers and sisters and it suited her just fine!

“Please, oh please, won’t you tell me your names?” “Would any of you like to play some puppy games?”

But much to her dismay…

Not one of her brothers or sisters wanted to play! They just cried that they were hungry and pushed past her on their way!

"Momma” cried Gracie, “You know what Momma?” "My brothers and sisters they are a bit rude!” “They won’t even greet me, and all they want is food!”

"Now Gracie was the smallest pup and always pushed aside, She never made it in to eat no matter how she tried!

So, until they had a tummy full, and each was sound asleep, Gracie would sit and watch, as they pushed and shoved eight pups deep!

“Momma”, Gracie said “I have something on my mind” “I feel so all alone and somewhat left behind”

“My brothers and sisters they yip and yap and shout!” “And when I try to eat, I am always shoved out!”

"Gracie" Momma said "Take a look around they are all asleep! "Go on now Gracie, it’s your turn, eat, eat, eat!”

When Gracie was good and fed, she cuddled up and listened to what her momma said.

“I am going to tell you Gracie what I know to be true” “Even when there are so many there will always be enough for you.”

“I’m going to tell you about something that I want you never to forget” “You see Gracie, the more you give of this, the more you get!”

“This doesn’t cost a cent, as a matter of fact, it’s free!” “It’s something we share between you and me!”

“Just keep in mind, when you give it some thought, it is very valuable but can never be bought.”

“Now you think about that my Gracie dear, And when you know, I will be right here.”

While her brothers and sisters slept in an 8-pup heap, Gracie cuddled up with Momma and fell fast asleep.

When she woke her brothers and sisters were snuggled in a tight row. That’s when, on Gracie’s face, a smile began to grow! Her tummy felt funny, all warm and fuzzy too! And when her heart was tickled, that’s when Gracie knew!

To Gracie, it all became so clear! “Momma!” yipped Gracie “Come here, come here!”

“Gracie dear what’s this all about?” Momma said "I came as fast as I could when I heard you shout!"

“Oh, Momma!” Gracie yapped “You know that thing, Momma?” “That thing we talked about?” “The one thing we can give and give, and it never runs out?”

Momma said “Why yes, Gracie yes I do, do you?” “Yes, Momma yes, I do too!"

Gracie was so excited! She danced all about, then she gave her answer with a great big shout!

“It’s love Momma, it’s love, isn’t it?” “Because the more love you give the more you get!”

That’s when Momma proudly said “Why Yes, my little Gracie you are ever so bright!” “And you know what Gracie?” “You are absolutely right!”

“Now, when I tell you this, you must know that it’s true!” “"You see Gracie, there will always be enough love for you!”

happiness

About the Creator

Pamela Walsh-Holte

Retired social worker seaking to find my name among the "Chreators we are Loving", but alas it has not been so. Be still my heart, do not despair, your day may come...Until then I wait, anticipating some, be it ever so slight, recognition.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    AWWWW! This is so cute and cuddly. Really enjoyable story.

Pamela Walsh-HolteWritten by Pamela Walsh-Holte

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.