Motivation logo

Good Hearts

When you have a good heart.

By Theresa EvansPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Good Hearts
Photo by Etty Fidele on Unsplash

You help too much:

There is no such thing as too much help, but there is a limit to it. Most people tend to think that if they do something for you, then they expect something back in turn. My question is this, has anyone ever stopped to think what it takes to help someone else that you know for a fact can not ever pay you back? I use to be the person that would allow anyone even if it was at my expense when helping. I do not do this anymore because if I were to give all of my blessings away to others who are not even trying to better themselves, what exactly does that leave me to enjoy? You have to set boundaries for yourself when it comes to helping others because if you don't, you will find yourself in an unfair situation. I found myself in loads of situations, and trying your best to get out of those situations can be tricky if you are not mentally prepared for them. I came from a traumatic background, and it was not an easy thing to deal with. I had no idea that the abuser was the person that set the stage for my future relationships with others. I know better now and I am blessed that God has his hands on my life no matter what I face.

You trust too much:

I use to be this person for years, and I never knew that my pain and hurt would attract the wrong kind of people to me. I am a survivor of child abuse and domestic violence, so I find it so easy to trust people, which should have been a bigger problem than what it was. Back then, I sought help for something that not too many people talked about in those days. Now we have the internet and computers, so it makes it easier to seek out the help that one needs to live through. I wish they had these resources and tools when I was a child back then because I know in my heart that things would have been different for me. I got sucked in the sack of fake and false information, which made me take a step back and relook around things that I was drawing to me that are not good.

You give too much:

Yes, it is true, I use to give all my time and energy into the wrong people, places, and things. It took me over twenty years or more to finally realize that giving to much of myself is dangerous for me. The love of my life (M. P.) told me "less is best". Now I find this to be totoally true because the more people know about you the more opportunities they think they have to hurt you.

You love too much:

And it alway's seems like you're the one who get's hurt the most. You give your all to someone else thinking that they have the same mindset as you only to discover later that their agenda was completly not what you had in mind. My final thought for today is this, once you begin to help yourself more, trust yourself more, give to yourself more, and love yourself more everything else tends to work out fine. I have learned to do this for myself not for anybody else. I have learned to say no to certain people, places and things because at the end of this lifes journey we all have to make a decision for ourselves first.

Thank you for your support and engagement; click on the link below to read more of my adventures and look at the portfolio.

https://writers.work/theresaevans

https://medium.com/@marietheresa42

https://twitter.com/Theresa03735360

https://www.instagram.com/marietheresa42/

https://www.facebook.com/theresa.evans.56027

healing
1

About the Creator

Theresa Evans

I am a woman on fire for the love of life and being able to reach one life at a time through my words. If I can reach one then I can teach one the art of healing one's self from the inside out all mentaly

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.