Motivation logo

Floating slowly up

Each day rising more

By Lee NaylorPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Each day is a new experience. Yet we as humans treat them sometimes as though each day is the same. We follow time, we do the same things over and over relentlessly. Rise, do our morning routine, which is usually the same things everyday, at the same time, with the same people. We go to work at the same job and do the same work for the same pay sometimes for years at end.

We come home and eat the same foods without adding new items, colors, flavors, textures. We follow what we have been told to do, what everyone around us dwe oes. We come to expect everything to be different if we go someplace else. Yet I find that my expectations are rarely met. I will be nervous to go to a new friends house, because in my mind I expect that they will have a better life. When I arrive they usually have the same dusty corners, the same dirty floors, pet hairs, and chaos.

I then feel as though it is a personal attack on me that life is so identical no matter where you go or who it is. Today I started to realize that of course it's all the same. We all grew up being told what was right, what was wrong. What was true and what was a lie. We were all taught the same ideas, the same lies, the same thoughts from mindless humans that came before us that were all taught what was right, wrong, true, and never questioned why we all live the same lives with a different point of view.

Everyday I rise higher and some days it's only a microscopic amount but it's still higher than I used to be. Everytime I elavate I start to notice more and more. First of all we all have expectations that when they aren't met we have high feelings about it whether it be anger, pain, curiosity, sadness, happiness, panic, anxiety and an array of other feelings. We don't live in the moment.

As humans we also care too much about what others think, do and say. The saying "What will people think?" has been something I've heard all over from many different people my entire life. Although at times I did care what others thought it was still I question I always asked myself. Why do I care what other people think? Other people don't live my life. They don't have to go to my house and cook my food and clean my mess and pay my bills. Yet at times I did care. What will people think if they come over and my dishes aren't done? What will people think if I don't weigh what they do in the magazines? What will people think if I say something stupid or stick up for myself. Expectations.

Today I woke thinking that I really need to continue rising because there are places I could be and if I don't i'm going to be stuck here in this 3D world. I had a healing by two different people last night. I had been to training for my second job. I was feeling positive and had a head full of expectations for my day. All of which were rooted in the past, the future and what could be and has been. I didn't find myself much thinking about the now. The what is right this moment.

Later I was watching a video on manifestation and she was saying that you had to set the intention of what you want without the expectation of how it will get there, when it will come, or when it will arrive. You have to set it with no attachment, no expectation, just pure belief that you deserve it and it is so. Then you anchor that by taken action in acknowledging that it is there.

As I folded and hung my laundry, thinking about the video I had watched I realized that everything I do is attached to an expectation. I wake up expecting to have a certain kind of day, when it doesn't go that way I get upset or sometimes even angry because my expectation wasn't met. I start dwelling on the things that didn't meet my expectations. If I however, was living in the moment, being grateful for what I have and what is happening in the world directly around me, I wouldn't have any expectations and therefore could just be. I could be happy that I have been able to support myself and stand on my own feet. I could be happy that the sun was shining and warming my face.

A world of thought opened up below me as my spirit rose just a little bit more above this world we have been programmed to believe in. My life may not be so miserable if I would live in the moment instead of having so many expectations about what people think. What they want me to think. I could just live the moment, grateful for that moment and there would be no expectations to be crushed.

My body shivered with the realization and I saw in my minds eye the beginning glimpses of how the world could be if we all threw away the confines we keep ourselves in and start living in the moment not worried about holding on to the expectations of how we will get there.

If I was living in the moment I wouldn't be so full of anxiety that I have to spend so much time at a job I don't like, doing work I don't enjoy. Instead I could just show up for the day, put a smile on my face and start noticing the moment. The sunrise in the sky, the colors of the world around me. The warmth of the heater on my face. I could appreciate the things I have which would put me on a higher frequency and it stands to reason that without the expectations there would be less hurt and pain.

If I wasn't stuck in the past I wouldn't keep hurting myself with past wrongs, past broken promises and past expectations that weren't met. I believe that is why I can't let go of them. I still wonder why I wasn't good enough to have whatever it was I wanted when in reality It isn't that I wasn't good enough, it was simply that I had expectations that weren't met and therefore made me feel that my life was bad, my body wasn't good enough, I wasn't smart enough.

If I started looking down on the world around me I would realize that no matter what I thought, the grass was never greener on the other side, just as I had also always heard around me. I think that at times we are all open to a new way of thinking but we are so conditioned to care about what no longer is or what hasn't even been yet that we stop living the moment we are in. The moment that can be changed, enjoyed or learned from.

I started to realize many snippets of my life that proved indeed that expectations were the root of me never being happy. I would be unhappy that my life was where it was because I had expected it to be some place else by now. I was unhappy because I didn't get the things in the past that I had wanted and therefore kept an attitude of victim and lack.

I would not be let down if I lived in the moment with no expectation of how that moment should be. I should live in the moment just letting it be what it was. Perhaps a quiet moment of solitude before the rush at work started, or the chaotic buzz of a busy day. Whatever the universe in that moment is, should just be what it is. There is a lesson in everyday, and the higher we rise the more we can see, even if we are looking down instead of ahead.

Now to put the lesson to use and start on the action of it. No expectation. Live the moment and be clear on my intentions and perceptions of what should be. Intending with pure thought of what I want and letting the universe take care of the why, when and where.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.