Motivation logo

Find Happiness Right Where You Are

"Passing on the past means you can enjoy the dream that is happening right now" ~ Don Miguel Ruiz

By Arya SharmaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Find Happiness Right Where You Are
Photo by KAL VISUALS on Unsplash

For many of us, life is a reflection of the reality of “the next day.” As we move around, our daily routine, whatever it involves, our health deteriorates. We feel like it’s Groundhog day. As we put our feet down when we get up each morning, we feel like we are back to the fun of life.

For me, waking up every morning, I wondered: “Is this really the case? Do I feel this way every day? ”

I wanted to feel alive again. All those youthful dreams, those youthful dreams that I had when my life was so simple, were gone.

The time when I once felt like I could be anything and it was all over now, and my life started to feel a little gray.

At first, I sought help from a therapist. I wanted to find that person again, who had a passion for life, but I needed help. I needed guidance. Of course, the therapist could not solve my problems. But he gave me hope. Hopefully in harmony.

It helped me to understand the concept of the seasons. We all go on with life, and our lives have their seasons. Not the cool kind we know, but the times of change, growth. Some of those seasons are not as exciting or productive as others. For me at the time, in fact, to be honest it was not my time. It was my winter. I wanted spring!

In time, I came to realize that my condition was serious. I was a responsible adult with three children, I was married, and I had a job that I was satisfied with and that we had a guarantee. There were no word of feed and bills to be paid.

Everything is extremely logical, and I would voluntarily leave my entire home environment and tear down our nation, and completely adjust our lifestyle to find that it was something I felt was missing. To be honest, I wanted to run away from home; I wanted to get out easily, hoping to regain my art and passion for life.

However, someone older than me knew that this would not be fair to many around me.

So here’s what I did — in the end (certainly not overnight!).

I built my mind and paper on a ten-year plan for my career.

I am happy with the work I am doing - not overcoming the rainbow I am happy, but I am close to home, great people to work with happily. I'm satisfied right now; however, I do not want to be employed here in my workplace for ten years in the future.

I thought about where my family would be in ten years - how old they would be, and how much commitment they would need from me. That commitment will change over a decade as a result of their growth, as well as my priorities in terms of where I work.

So I enrolled in the study so that I could enter a different field of work in ten years. Although it may seem far-fetched, how often do we look back over the past ten years and wonder where it went?

Creating long-term goals for your career allows you to commit to something new and find a path to fulfillment.

I accepted the fact that there were some things in my life that I could not change and stopped worrying about them.

I would not, at that time, change where I live. My kids were settled in school, my job was safe and satisfying, so there was really no reason to leave. If we leave, our fixed cost may go up and this can only increase the pressure on our lives.

I was in a period of things happening in my life and I needed to accept it, with no regrets. To torment myself with the decisions I had made in my life was useless.

It does not produce a wish for a healthy life. Remaining remorseful is self-defeating, because focusing on the choices you have made in the past will not help you to create momentum right now.

I have learned to focus on what I already have, rather than on what I want.

I think of how grateful I am for the health and well-being of those around me that I love and cherish.

In today’s commercial world, we are surrounded and hunted to buy this and buy that, and be this and that, and seek and seek and want more - because advertisers and sellers tell us we can’t be good enough if we don’t want more!

Focus on the good things you already have and embrace those good people who are filling your life with love and friendship right now.

I made a list of things to do that made me happy.

While some of those dreams of youth and youth are unattainable at the moment, I have made a list of things I like to do or challenge. These are things I've always wanted to do in my past life but I've never been close to them.

Writing is another. Yoga and walking alone keep my mind and body balanced. Listening to music brings me joy.

It is about connecting with our passion for all those little things that we forget are the foundation of who we are - the things that make up the spirit within us. Keeping it simple is very easy. Strip off your "happiness list" back to basics.

It could be a bubble bath, or a book reading. Or it could be something bigger, like learning the guitar or running a marathon.

I went on a trip. I am alone. Overseas!

It was a beautiful place - hot spot, beaches, stylish living space, happy hour! Sounds fun, but honestly, I was scared. I had to fly for eight hours, enter a foreign country, and be exposed to a completely different culture.

I hate flying, I was scared to death, and I was not sure if I would ever come back alive. No one knows what happened to me - at least not for a moment. But guess what? All those mixed emotions - fear, anxiety, excitement, and anticipation - all made me feel alive again.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.