Motivation logo

Stop Being Hard on Yourself: 5 Tips for Learning Life Lessons

"When we can no longer change the situation, we have a challenge to change it." ~ Viktor Frankl

By Arya SharmaPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Stop Being Hard on Yourself: 5 Tips for Learning Life Lessons
Photo by Nils Stahl on Unsplash

I learned a great lesson this week. It has been a tangible challenge that has arisen in many ways recently. Mostly it reveals itself to other people, or rather, to the qualities of other people.

Over the past few months, I have been informed by many of my acquaintances, and I have been confronted with issues that I considered to be bad, such as pride, materialism, insecurity, and ignorance.

It bothered me so much that I felt a change in my body.

I have interpreted their love of expensive things as a sign that they are hiding behind material things. I have interpreted their obvious mask in the world as another way of hiding. And what I saw as a stupid life choice I thought was a way to escape from them themselves.

In short, I felt that all these qualities were an attempt to hide their security, for fear of being completely rejected as who they are, who they really are.

Why are these people ... not knowing?

It annoyed me.

Every time I was created by someone with these qualities, I would say to myself, “Not this again. When will I last remove this uncomfortable feeling? ”

After that it hit me. Several times.

I realized that the traits I was seeing in others were just my own symptoms. The things that really took me away were the things that I didn't accept inside of me.

I also like to buy nice, expensive things sometimes. There are times in my life when I wear a mask so that I don't expose myself. In the past, I made some decisions to avoid what I was feeling inside.

This shocked me because it meant that I was passing judgment on not only the other person but also myself. It meant I wasn’t accepting myself completely, completely, completely.

And trust me, accepting that fact was much more than necessary.

I always thought of myself as having a lot of confidence and faith in myself. But obviously, there were a few other things I needed to learn about loving and accepting.

No one is perfect. And we need to accept ourselves as we are, mistakes and everything.

As we move through life, challenges arise to help us continue to grow. We are human and we have layers. As soon as we think we have learned something, life comes and shows us that there is more.

Here are some tips to help me embrace and grow with my latest life course.

1. Don't beat yourself up.

No matter how easy it is to say to yourself, "Why don't you just get over it?" give yourself time to learn the lesson at your own pace. Challenges can affect the green nerve within us. Sometimes we need to take it step by step and take care of ourselves in this process. Be nice and gentle to you!

2. Look at your thoughts and feelings.

Awareness is the first step in accepting any health challenge. How do you respond to a particular event, situation, or person? What are your first feelings? And why do you feel this way?

Asking yourself some important questions can help you to understand why you have an in-depth response to something. Don't judge yourself by your appearance. Be honest. It's the only way to find out what's really underway.

3. Shift the focus back to you.

Our outer world reflects what is inside us because we express our thoughts and feelings to other people and events. We give it our meaning.

Remember, we cannot change other people, past, or circumstances without our control. All we can change is ourselves. Shift your focus on yourself and see if you have the power to change your life.

4. Accept what you cannot change.

I know it's easy to get caught up in your own situation, and you blame other people and events. Sometimes we have to accept it, breathe it in, and know that this is happening because it is time for us to grow.

5. Celebrate your growth.

Once you’ve learned the health lesson, celebrate! After all, you have just taken another step in transformation as a person. Enjoy the fact that you can handle whatever life throws at you and be a better person because of it.

Life is amazing. We all hit a few lumps in the road, but in the end the road was smooth again. As long as we are learning the lessons as we go along, there is no reason we cannot sit back and enjoy ourselves.

self help
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.