Motivation logo

Filter Your Ideas

#MasterClassMonday

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Filter Your Ideas
Photo by Najib Kalil on Unsplash

This week for my Instagram #MasterClassMonday series, I shared a tip from Sara Blakely's MasterClass, "Self-Made Entreprenurship" ... because I just graduated from my Life Coach training! *INSERT SQUEAL HERE*

... Sorry. But I am incredibly excited to be a step closer to launching my coaching business, and introducing to the world what I have to offer as a coach.

For those who don't know -- because, truth be told, I didn't know until I watched this MasterClass -- Sara Blakely is the founder of Spanx.

Fun Fact: Sara's MasterClass is the first one I completed when I started my subscription a month ago! I was super excited to dive into the writing-themed MasterClasses, but I found myself drawn to Sara's first because I was on the verge of becoming a solo entrepreneur.

While much of her teachings are related to creating a product, I believe much of what Sara says can be related to creating a service as well. And, I made sure for this week to choose a tip that is relevant to ALL creatives -- not just for business owners; those who have a creative hobby can take something away from this too.

Prioritizing

As creatives, it's tempting for us to try ALL of our ideas at once -- we love our ideas equally, how could we possibly choose one to focus on? However, it is important to prioritize, or filter through our ideas, to choose the best one to work on at this particular time.

If you plan to create a product for business, I encourage you to watch Sara's MasterClass for greater details on this. For the sake of making this tip more inclusive to all creatives, I've narrowed down her words to three categories, three things to consider for each idea.

1. DIFFICULTY LEVEL- How difficult will it be to create this project? (Also, consider TIME: How long will it take you to create it?)

2. COST- Some creative outlets are more costly than others. For example, my dad enjoys woodworking -- some woods are more expensive than others, and then there are also the variety of woodworking tools he uses. If you're attempting a new outlet, keep in mind how much your materials may cost individually, and the overall cost of the project. (Also, factor in for errors -- you will likely make mistakes along the way as you practice, meaning more materials will be needed.)

3. RESOURCES- Do you have all the resources you need? If not, are resources easily available to you? Do you need to take a class, or seek out a mentor? Could you learn a new skill on YouTube to help with your project?

My Takeaway

Since beginning my training to become a Life & Creativity Coach, the amount of creative ideas I have now has DOUBLED (at least!) -- I'm not only generating ideas for my own creative pleasure, I now constantly consider what I can create in my business, for my clients and followers. I am learning to use my intuition to inform me which ideas feel right to move forward with in the immediate future ... but I do come from a rational/logical upbringing, and tend to still use pros/cons lists. Having these three categories laid out will definitely help me narrow the focus, and from there I can still use my intuition to choose one from, say, five ideas (as opposed to one from a hundred).

After watching, and rewatching, this MasterClass lesson, I've been inspired to create a worksheet for my coaching clients, something tangible that they can print out and help them work through this. So be on the lookout for that (and other resources) on my coaching website in the future. (You can find my website in my Vocal bio ... if it's not there though, this means I'm still working behind the scenes before launching my business. Check back later this month, April 2021!)

how to
1

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.