Motivation logo

Fighting with depression

Self care

By Tahira Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Depression is a common mental health condition that affects millions of people worldwide. It can manifest in different ways, from feeling sad or unmotivated to experiencing chronic fatigue, loss of interest in activities, and difficulty concentrating. Depression can have a profound impact on a person's life, making it challenging to find enjoyment in even the smallest moments.

For me, depression was a constant companion that seemed to linger, no matter what I did to try and shake it off. I had always been an anxious person, prone to worrying and overthinking things, but depression was different. It felt like a dark cloud had descended over me, and no matter how hard I tried to escape it, it was always there.

One small moment in my life, because of depression, had a big impact on me. It was an ordinary day, and I was going about my usual routine of working from home. I had been struggling with depression for several months by this point, and it had started to take a toll on my mental health.

As I sat at my desk, staring blankly at my computer screen, I felt a sudden surge of sadness wash over me. I couldn't seem to shake the feeling of hopelessness and despair that had taken over my life, no matter how hard I tried.

Suddenly, my phone rang, and I answered it absentmindedly. It was my best friend, who lived across the country, and we hadn't spoken in a few weeks. We exchanged the usual pleasantries, and I tried my best to sound upbeat and positive, even though I felt anything but.

As we talked, I felt myself starting to open up to her about how I was feeling. I told her about my struggles with depression and how it had been affecting my life. She listened patiently, offering words of support and encouragement, and I felt a small glimmer of hope flicker inside of me.

We talked for hours, reminiscing about old times, and catching up on each other's lives. For a brief moment, I forgot about my troubles and felt a sense of connection and belonging that had been missing from my life for so long.

After we hung up, I sat in silence for a while, thinking about our conversation. It was a small moment, a phone call that lasted a few hours, but it had a big impact on me. It reminded me that I wasn't alone in my struggles, and that there were people in my life who cared about me and wanted to help.

From that day forward, I made a conscious effort to reach out to my friends and family more often, even if it was just a quick text or phone call. I realized that social connection was a vital component of my mental health and that isolation only made my depression worse.

Over time, I started to feel better. I sought out therapy, started exercising regularly, and made self-care a priority in my life. But it was that small moment, that phone call from my best friend, that had set me on the path to recovery.

Looking back on that day, I realize how important it was to have someone to talk to, to listen to me and offer words of encouragement. Depression can be a lonely and isolating experience, but it doesn't have to be. There are people in our lives who care about us and want to help, and sometimes all it takes is a small moment of connection to remind us of that.

In the months and years since that phone call, I've had many more small moments that have had a big impact on my mental health. A hug from a loved one, a walk in nature, a good book or movie, all of these moments have helped me to find joy and meaning in my life, even when things seem dark and hopeless.

successself helpquoteshow tohappinessgoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Tahira

I'm a passionate writer. I have made it my mission to spread awareness and encourage others to embrace self-love as a vital component of overall well-being.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.