Motivation logo

Everyday heroes

What does a hero look like?

By Jolie DownsPublished about a year ago 5 min read
1

What does a hero look like?

I want you to picture a hero in your head right now.

How many of you pictured yourself? Or someone you know personally?

The definition of a hero is a person who is admired or idealized for courage, outstanding achievements, or noble qualities.

Or noble qualities…

I want you to think about that.

The makings of a hero…

Because I’ve been lucky enough to come into contact with so many heroes – they surround me.

These everyday heroes are everywhere.

For example, New Years Day 2022, we took a walk along the beach with my beloved dog Melody, it was a gorgeous day with king tides so there were tons of people out and about. We had Melody off leash, she was right next to us one moment, and then all of a sudden, she was gone. My husband and I split up – running down the beach in opposite directions calling her name – well – he was calling – I was more ‘scream sobbing’ – Melody!!! – Melody!!! – has anyone seen my dog? She was nowhere to be found.

She was gone.

I was positive someone stole her.

She’s perfect, of course, someone would take her.

I was devastated. It felt like my gut could eat my body. The ache felt boundless, leaving me gasping for breath in despair.

And then. The phone rang.

Someone had found her – running around in the street, far from where we were. They waited patiently while I went through a comedy of errors trying to get to them – but – soon I was reunited with my sweetest Melody. They would take no money – I had $120 on me and tried to give them every penny – they would not accept. They were my heroes. They were my everyday hero. It has been over a year and I still think about this Dad and his daughter ALL OF THE TIME. In moments of snuggling my dog, I think of them, when I come home and my dog makes me so happy with her excitement, I think of them, when we are having an especially satisfying walk on the beach, I think of them – and I send them love and gratitude and appreciation – for I would not have these moments with my dog had they not intervened and returned her to me - my everyday heroes.

Just a few short months after that incident, I went to the post office to get a passport for both of my sons and was turned away – I had both of their birth certificates, both of their social security cards and both fully filled out passport applications with all current information attached in a large envelope. We stopped by Jamba Juice on our way home. Once home, I went to look for the envelope and could not find it anywhere. I started to panic, OMG – my kid's identities – I was tearing through the house, the car, praying, please, please, please let me find it!

It was nowhere.

And Then.

The phone rang.

Someone had found the envelope. He tracked me down by my name on my kid's birth certificate. He waited at that Jamba Juice for me to drive the 20 minutes back and he handed me that envelope with everything safely inside.

My kid's identities were safe. I had all the documentation safe, allowing me to get those updated passports.

My son and I were able to go on a life-altering trip that neither of us will ever forget. This most incredible experience would not have been possible if not for the man who chose to help a stranger, who chose to be someone of noble quality – who became my hero. It’s been a year, but I think of him often, my everyday hero, and I send him waves of love and gratitude, and appreciation.

How many times have you been graced with the presence of an everyday hero?

How many times have you yourself been that hero?

Every single day each and every one of us has the power to be that kind of everyday hero to someone else. We each hold a world of impact within our words and actions. Even With a simple smile or word of encouragement, you can change the course of someone's day or even their life.

Take Jenna Greene for example, her second-grade teacher told her that she had a talent for writing. She thought about this comment all the time, working on her writing throughout her grade school and teenage years and college. It was a simple comment, but it made a huge impression and Jenna is now a best selling novelist.

Her teacher is an every day hero.

You can be too.

Easily.

Daily.

Look at the people around you, watch your family and friends, your co-workers, and the people you come into contact with. Pay attention. Does someone need help? Does someone need a kind word?

If there is something you can compliment someone on – do it. You never know when that positive comment could be so badly needed. You never know how a positive reinforcement might impact the life that just passed you. It costs you nothing but could mean everything to that person at that moment.

You can take this concept to the next level, and look for ways you can help others reach their goals. Can you make an introduction? Provide mentorship? Advice on the best direction? We all have the opportunity to help uplift others.

We each hold unlimited potential in what kind of impact we can make on this world. Do not fool yourself into believing you do not make a difference. Every single person in this world makes an impact, it’s your choice what kind.

Look for the way you can be an everyday hero today.

successself helpgoals
1

About the Creator

Jolie Downs

I am an entrepreneur at heart, a seeker, a creator and life long learner. I am a Partner and Recruiter with Paradigm Staffing, a recruiting firm specializing in PR & Marketing. I am the host of the podcast Fresh Blood, Killing It After 40.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Outstanding! Awesome story

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.