Motivation logo

Emotions Are Powerful

Controlling emotions is not always easy.

By Kyri MartinezPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Emotions Are Powerful
Photo by Lidya Nada on Unsplash

Emotions Should Not Control You

Do you ever feel like your emotions come out before your words do? Do your emotions speak louder than your words? Do your emotions control you instead of you controlling them? Personally, I always said I wear my heart on my sleeve but it wasn't until this year that I realized what that can do in negative situations. I am very aware that my emotions sometimes are overwhelming. Over the years, I have learned to control them better, but there are days when I let my emotions get the best of me.

Have you ever had a time in your life where your emotions got the best of you? It can be frustrating when you are trying to remain calm in situations but your emotions are like, "I don't want to be calm so I am taking over." This issue has happened to me a few times in the past year or two. In moments like this, I believe it is important to take a breath and think of your happy place. Personally, when I blank on my happy place, I just think of five positive things that have happened during the day.

I have been told many times not to let my emotions control me and no matter how hard I work at it, sometimes, I have bad days where my emotions get the best of me. But you know what? That is okay. We all have bad days. No one is perfect and not everyone posts all of their emotions on social media. Have I been guilty of doing that before? Yes, I have. When I was younger, I would vent on social media, but then I thought to myself, what is this accomplishing? When I see this in a day or two, how will I feel about it? For me, I came to the conclusion that it was in my best interest not to post personal feelings on social media. However, through this blog, I want to share my real life experiences and be raw and vulnerable. I want people to relate and connect with what I say. Hopefully, people will learn from my experiences. If not, at least people are relating to me. That means more to me than one thousand words.

By Fa Barboza on Unsplash

It's Not My Fault

It's our human nature to blame others for our mistakes or our downfalls. However, I challenge you not to do that. Take ownership of your mistakes. While it can be hard to do that, wouldn't you rather be honest? Again, this is often a place where emotions tend to control us. Emotions take over our thoughts and overthinking comes into play. The late night thoughts of, "What did I do wrong?," "What can I do better?," "I just want to be appreciated.," and many more come flooding in. When thoughts like this happen, it is important to think positive thoughts and go to your happy place.

When you are aware that your emotions are taking over, take a step back, and call a friend. If you ignore your feelings and someone else gets thrown into the fire, you might regret it later. It may not always be your fault, but that doesn't mean you have to verbally announce that you didn't do something. Doing that can trigger heated feelings and that is something you don't want when you let emotions control you.

Have you ever heard the saying, "Mind over matter?" Do everything you can to achieve controlling your emotions. However, I have tried this. It is incredibly difficult, especially in situations where you are not at fault and just want to scream.

I have struggled with my emotions taking control over me ever since I was a little girl. I think we all do at some point in our life. Emotions are powerful and when they overtake you, it is important to recognize that. Take a step back and call a trusted friend. Calling a trusted friend can help keep you grounded and calm you down. Having someone to hold you accountable and help you deal with your emotions is something I would recommend.

Improving on controlling your emotions does not happen overnight. However, taking the steps to achieve better control is the right direction to take. Focus on what you can do to understand your emotions and help resolve the negative ones. It is not healthy for negative emotions to constantly build up.

Negative emotions equal a pessimistic person. I have had this happen to me and it does no one anyone good. When you become pessimistic, not only are your emotions controlling you, but you can also get physically sick. Don't ever let it get to this point. I speak from experience, you don't want to get sick from letting your emotions control you. It is the worst.

By Zac Durant on Unsplash

Stay Strong

The moral of this story is to stay strong. When your emotions get the best of you, it is completely normal and happens to all of us. Emotions are tough and we have to deal with them. When we ignore our emotions, that is when things get even worse. At that point, we are not listening to what our heart and soul is telling us. Just remember, you got this.

Surround yourself with a good support system that will encourage you and hold you accountable. In order to get better, you need positivity in your life. If you don't have people encouraging you daily, that is another factor that will put you on the path of losing control once again.

Believe in yourself. When you don't believe in yourself, even though the positivity will help, you will continue to have negative thoughts in the back of your mind. However, having a support system that encourages you and helps to build your confidence up.

You will do big things in life. You got this. You will get through this.

healing
Like

About the Creator

Kyri Martinez

Kyri Martinez is a 26 year old blogger seeking to relate to readers about life experiences, job hunting, politics, marriage, etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.