Motivation logo

Embracing Change: Empowering Yourself to Move Forward through Action

You May Go Forward if You Decide to Change and Begin Doing So

By The Enlightenment JourneyPublished 11 months ago 9 min read
Like
Embracing Change: Empowering Yourself to Move Forward through Action
Photo by Ruffa Jane Reyes on Unsplash

It is said that the secret to success is getting started. - Mark Twain

In terms of how our lives should go or may go in the long run, we all have lofty aspirations and loftier goals.

Some of us carefully map out our futures, daydreaming and fantasizing about the many accomplishments we want to achieve throughout the course of our lives. I'm betting that we have some extremely lofty objectives for our lives that will give us reason to feel proud of ourselves when we finally reach them.

The problem is that many of us set unrealistically high standards for ourselves and fail to meet them. Time makes us look back and wonder whether we could have done anything differently.

Of all the possible explanations, one stands out like a sore thumb: we never really begin the projects we truly want to complete. There are more people to blame than just you and me.

I have thought about thousands upon thousands of different things I would want to do or create throughout the years. I lost count of how many I sampled. The odds aren't precisely in my favor, but they're a lot better than dozens.

I've been able to look at more of them since some time has gone by. However, as you are well aware, some of them were locked up for good. There are probably many things I wanted to do but never got around to doing that I don't even remember.

Related: Pondered Thoughts: Regarding the Precarious Nature of Life

The question is, "Why didn't I try it?" Can you explain the reasoning behind this choice? What was wrong with me that I lacked the initiative to test out any possibility? I am well aware, as I'm sure you are as well, that not everything we try will become a career path. But you can't tell for sure until you give it a try yourself.

To better grasp this idea that pertains to immobility, you need to take a step back and appreciate that life, in a nutshell, is a succession of choices and deeds. Doing so will aid in your comprehension of the idea at hand. Unfortunately, these two factors do not cancel each other out in terms of their contribution to a person's growth and success in life.

We may spend our whole lives stuck in the same scenario if we don't decide and then stick to the repercussions of that decision.

Nothing will happen if a decision is reached but no action is taken on the suggestions made. On the other side, you will be aimlessly drifting if you participate in a variety of activities without basing any of them on any decisions.

It would be unbearable to be stuck in one place or to have no idea where you're going. It is, and many people must be experiencing their greatest nightmares in the actual world at this very moment. Years ago, I had to drag myself out of bed against my will.

The good or bad results you're seeing in life right now are outcomes of the choices you've made in the past. Some of us will read it and smile if it's good, and we may even give ourselves a little nod of appreciation if it's really fantastic. However, a sizable percentage of the population is likely to have problems metabolizing it.

To start, I want to reassure you that it's quite normal to be somewhere other than where you expected to be right now. While most of us may not be where we had hoped to be, we are still striving to improve ourselves and our circumstances as much as possible.

There are often two major factors that prevent you from being at your "ideal" place. Life may have temporarily obstructed your path, or it may have provided you with a series of problems that are completely beyond your abilities to address. However, there is a more likely explanation for why you are not where you had hoped to be: the simple fact that you did not try. And I think the driving force was terror.

In other words, you were never really off the ground to begin with.

What's Great and What's Dismal

Let's start with the bad news: you never really began working toward your goals; therefore, you've already lost valuable time. You feel stuck in your current habits, lifestyle, relationships, job, and other parts of your life since things aren't going the way you intended them to.

This may have hit a bit too close to home, so take a moment to collect your thoughts and breathe deeply if necessary.

It's encouraging to see that you're keeping up.

Now that we have everything settled, we can go on to the really terrific news:

You will never be cornered, and even though yesterday would have been the best moment to start anything, right now is the next best time.

You, yes, have the power to make your dream life a reality, but it will take effort on your part. And just because you've had some setbacks in the past doesn't mean you're doomed to repeat those same mistakes in the future.

The lesson here is that your past does not have to define who you become. You can change your present situation regardless of how you have acted in the past.

Related: How to Recognize Your True Gifts and Blessings (Amazing!)

The Concept That Drives the Beginning

You've probably heard the old adage, "Rome wasn't built in a day." Indeed, that is the situation. Because, really, can anything new be made in 24 hours?

I take it that your house was built in one continuous day, directly on top of a plot of land. Did they manage to build the whole tower in a single day? Did you apply, interview, and begin work at your new job within the span of a single day?

It takes time to build anything. Let's say you've been thinking about a career move since your present job leaves you feeling emotionally and spiritually tired. You have been allowing the notion of a job change to simmer for far too long after you originally planted the seed of thought quite some time ago.

There has been no change, however, since you have not taken any action during this time. Does anything here sound familiar? I was in a position like this once, many years ago. Because I was doing work that I didn't like, I was miserable. I wanted to make some changes, but I was too afraid to take any concrete action.

It took years before I finally had an epiphany and decided to make a change in my life. It was the best thing that could have happened to me, even though I lost my job. I finally decided that I had had enough. It was time for me to do a complete career pivot and start looking at related but distinct fields.

It's a pity I wasn't conscious of the one thing I needed to change about my job in order to be happier. My prior profession gave me a decent sense of what I didn't want to do, but I had no clue what I did want to do.

I began to think conceptually. Writing out your objectives Putting together a variety of business plans Attending events and connecting with people in my area of interest. This experience led me to learn about a three-month program in a field I had briefly explored throughout high school but eventually opted not to major in.

And just like that, I had a job in my new industry. Although you can figure out how the pieces go together, I took the risk and enrolled in the course nonetheless. Total and complete dread. Initially, I was worried, but now I find myself in a whole new situation. The only requirement was attendance at a meeting. It's funny how things turn out.

When we attempt to take action, our biggest obstacles are often fear and uncertainty. The third, less discussed cause is simple frustration at being overwhelmed by the gap between one's current situation and their ideal one.

At this stage, the ability to move quickly is crucial. You make progress, although gradually, toward your goals and aspirations. You need to check your progress often.

Related: The Critical Nature of Work Piles: How They Affect Our Lives

The remarkable thing is that the force you apply, which is another way of stating the actions you conduct, may be quite little and still have positive results. It's for this reason that we talk about "micro-movements."

What does this imply, specifically? If you're hesitating to take action because you're worried about the outcome, it's crucial to remind yourself that all of your little moves will add up to a big victory in the end.

Taking a huge risk and achieving one's most significant goals in life seldom occur together. Those who are prepared to put in consistent work and produce observable gains over time without wavering in their commitment or patience will be rewarded.

The Act of Consolidating All Elements

Most people know, at least in principle, what greater heights they would like to scale over their lives. We've all felt helpless in the face of overwhelming circumstances, whether they be in our personal lives, our health, our finances, our employment, or our relationships.

However, there are now a few things operating in your favor.

In particular, if you give the universe the chance, it will assist you in realizing the dreams and ambitions you have set for yourself.

You'll just need the following few things:

  • A choice made inside the company to implement an alteration
  • A readiness to commit to and complete all required steps
  • A recognition that baby steps forward are perfectly appropriate and rational.
  • Making real, tangible progress
  • The right amount of tenacity and commitment

Once you're moving and gaining speed, the laws of motion will be able to help you figure out how to handle the rest of the issue.

You are not in a rut or a stalemate. Both offensive and defensive strategies are at your disposal.

Taking the initial step is crucial.

Originally published at https://theenlightenmentjourney.com on June 1, 2023.

Amazing Self-Improvement Programs here

If you enjoy reading this article, please don’t forget to show your support by following my blog:

The link above will take you to another safe website.

Thanks! :-)

self helphow tohealinggoalsadvice
Like

About the Creator

The Enlightenment Journey

All About Spirituality, Metaphysics, and Self-Help Articles

More at:

https://theenlightenmentjourney.com

https://twitter.com/TheEnlightenm12

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.