Motivation logo

Dreamer

I support you.

By SyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
When is the last time you let your imagination take over?

I am in the business of dreaming and supporting dreamers. I recently graduated college and post grad life is something really unexpected. You now have all this time and it's the rest of your life. You have to figure out how you will live it and spend all the time of your days and it is a bit unsettling but there’s also freedom in that. This has been a challenge for me the past few months but I think it was due to my point of view. I didn’t see the freedom of a blank schedule, I saw uncertainty. Uncertainty of what I wanted to do with my life, of what would make me happy. I successfully got a great job but it was not what I wanted to do, to be. So I left after a few weeks. Why be somewhere that you know won’t fulfill you?

So what did fulfill me? That’s what I have been trying to figure out the past few months. I have been focused on what makes me happy, what sets my soul on fire. I have been finding myself rerouting to my past where I was more creative and more imaginative. Finding myself in my art and writing. Freeing myself of restrictions that the corporate world holds. And not everyone supports this. Not everyone supports my dreaming.

I grew up in a household where my parents were working 9 to 5 jobs that didn't satisfy them. Wasting all their time and energy because they needed to put food on the table. My mom always spoke of her plans of opening a business. She had several viable ideas and did her research. In depth research. Unfortunately my dad was not supportive of her and felt like she was in over her head. He would deter her from her path and say she needed to focus on more secure things.

My dad would question my career goals and always said “where is the money coming for all this?” That was his first thought for everything and yeah maybe its a fair question but we know when someone genuinely wants to know or their questions are just used to make an argument of why you shouldn't do it. Very annoying.

Any-who, the main thing that sucks is that now I am out of college and feel I majored in the wrong thing. I feel like I was rushed into a four year commitment of something that was secure rather than my true passions. My dreaming has given me more insight on how I want my life to be so now I have to research what I have to do to get to where I want to be and teach myself a new way of living; it is exhausting. Its like the last 4 years were almost a waste (I know, a major “check your privilege” moment). I just don't want to be stressed my whole life. I want to have fun and do something I actually enjoy and can do all day and night.

I know, I know, how unrealistic right? Actually wrong. It is very much possible and NEVER too late but we tell ourselves that we are dreaming and we are not thinking things through. We are told that we are naive and asked about the money. Well I will tell you that I support you and it may be a challenge, maybe even a struggle, but you are capable.

I am a dreamer and I want you to be one too.

Thanks for Reading.

goals
Like

About the Creator

Sy

Moments in time, remembered by feelings and captured by words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Sy is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.