Motivation logo

Dear 2021

Open letter to 2021

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Dear 2021
Photo by Tamanna Rumee on Unsplash

Dear 2021,

First of all, I think there is a lot that I and the rest of the world want to say to you. I think you already know that there are high expectations for you. I must confess that I have many questions and pray that 2021 will give me the answers. I have so many wishes left unfulfilled in 2020 that I hope you don't get too overwhelmed. Last year was anything but a bed of roses. We all hope that 2021 will be a wonderful year. The year that businesses can return to normal. Wanderers can travel again. I feel in 2021, and you will be the year where people will have a party to end all parties. I hope that you won't give me anymore more heartache this year.

I hope that 2021 will be the year I will be able to go abroad again. In fact, I hope it's the year I can return to my old clubs and meet everybody faces to face. Zoom sessions are great, but they can never replace human interaction face to face. I hope that my social skills will flourish in 2021.

I had lots of things on my bucket list, but all I really want to do is go to is be able to meet up with the loved ones I have been unable to see in months and some even years. So far, the vaccine has had up and down results. I was meant to have the vaccine, but my latest Covid result has come back as positive so I won't be able to have the vaccine until later.

You're going to be a groundbreaking year for America. In just a few weeks you will be waving goodbye to President Trump and saying hello to President Biden. Congratulations, I wish your country the best. America struggled with the pandemic, and I hope that your new president will be better than your old president. Donald Trump is an entertainer, but that doesn't make him a good politician. However, I've always had little faith in politicians. I see them all as corrupt businessmen who only put themselves first. I hope I am proven wrong one day and that there are some politicians and hopefully a world leader who will first put the nation's needs.

2021 should be the year poverty, racism, homelessness, transphobia, and homophobia die. Many more people are coming out of the closet and embracing the gender and sexuality they know they are. I think it's wonderful that more people than ever are liberating themselves to be the person they want to be even if they are brought up or born differently.

I have so many unfinished writing projects that I started in 2020. I hope that you will help me get to finish one or two of these projects someday.

I published my novel Game of Mass Destruction last year, and I still couldn't believe that I managed it. I got two good reviews for it on Goodreads, and they were both positive. Having your first reviews being a four-star and a three-star is amazing for me. The biggest wish for me is that I won't lose any of my friends or loved ones. Too many people died last year, including ones I cared for.

Oh, 2021, I have so many questions. Will 2021 be the year when the government and world leaders finally decide that they give a damn about climate change. They've done all the things to support people with COVID should have been done way before the pandemic existed. 2020 was so stressful, and there's enough war in the world. I hope 2021 will be the year where kindness and love prevails.

goals
2

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.