Motivation logo

My Bucket List

Things I want to do before I die

By Chloe GilholyPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Picture taken in Valettta, Malta

In five years I’ve managed to do a lot of travelling around working full-time and writing. I still want to reach to thirty countries, so far at around 25 and there’s still a lot of experiences that I want to do in my lifetime. I’ve managed to get 20 on here and if I manage to do all 20 that would be amazing. I may need more than one winning lottery ticket to do it all, but I think I’m capable of doing at least half of them before I die.

1.Board a Heavy Metal cruise

There’s one that’s on every January in the USA. I think this would be an amazing experience as I love cruising. I always liked the line up that 70000 tons have.

2. Go on a Baltic Cruise

P&O and Princess do ones that stop in Southampton. I’d like to go to ones that stop at Denmark, Sweden, Finland, Latvia, Russia and maybe a stop at Poland if I’m lucky.

3. Go on a Caribbean Cruise

The only part of America I’ve been to is the USA and I was captivated by the skylines of New York. It would be nice to hop on island to island whilst soaking up the Jamaican sunshine.

4. Go to Mumbai

It’s one of the populous cities in the world but I want to go there because it was the country where my grandfather was born. I don’t remember much about him other than he was blind and playing wi try his guide dog.

5. Hop on the Orient Express

I used to love hopping on the train to Oxford, London and Birmingham and the Orient Express looks so beautiful inside. I’d love to go in and feel like I’m inside an Agatha Christie novel.

6. Get into Fostering and adoption

I would like children in the future but I do feel pressured to have them now. There’s a lot of children that need families; orphans, children with disabilties disowned LGBTQ+ children that I would love to give a home to. For now I’ve got my cat at my mum’s house and my godson.

7. Become fluent in another language

I think this would really enhance my travelling experience. I once ordered a tea and crossiant in french at a bakery in France, and they spoke back in English.

8. Go on a world cruise

This would take me to places I wouldn’t have considered or even dreamed off. On the days at sea, there will be lots of activities and entertainment. I’m not sure how I would cope when I’m ill, but I would do my best to make the most of the world cruise of if I go on one.

9. Walk up Mt. Fuji

Mt. Fuji is a mountain that’s always capitulated me. I wanted to go to Japan to see it and it was worth it. I’ve never walked up the mountain which is something I would like to do one day, the views of Japan would be fantastic,

10. Write one bestselling book.

I’ve written and published many stories and even got some books on Amazon. I think it would be a fantastic achievement to have a bestselling book available commercially. That would be every writer’s dream.

11. Go on a pilgrimage to Jerusalem

I would go on this in memory of my nans who were strong Christians. My maternal grandmother was very fond of Pope John Paul II.

12. Go to a yoga retreat aboard

When I did Yoga class, our instructor offered a trip to a yoga retreat in Morocco. I regret not going because I didn’t have the annual leave from work to go at the time. It’s not a priority but I have a feeling this would be a captivating experience.

13. See Iron Maiden in concert

I like Iron Maiden and always seem to miss out on tickets. I hope to see them at least once before they retire for good.

14. Go to a concert abroad

I think it would be nice to go to a concert in a band’s home country. Seeing Ramstien in Germany for example would be wicked. A lot of my favourite bands are from other places of Europe like Netherlands, Finland and Norway.

15. Return to the Blue Lagoon

I went to the Blue Lagoon in Iceland on a snowy day and it felt like I was in a different world. I would like to reexperiance this again.

16. Go to a writing retreat

I’ve been to writing groups, courses and online communities. I’m even a member of The Writer’s Guild, but I’ve not been to a writing retreat, it sounds like a lovely holiday mingling with strangers who are in the same field as you.

17. Do a course at the open university

This is one I’ve wanted to do for years after being rejected from mainstream universities. This would be more cost-effective in the long run. I just need to find a course that interests me.

18. Obtain a degree

This links to the previous one. I think having a degree would be a huge honour and privilege, even though they’re expensive.

19. Live in a different country for a month

The longest I’ve been away abroad is two weeks. I would like to stay in one country for at least a month to enjoy the ways of living and explore the lands like a local. The closest I’ve had to this was staying at my friend’s family home in the Philippines for a week.

20. Never retire

I have no plans to retire. Even if I’m not in full time employment, I will be working weather it will be through my writing, caring for others or in a different field of work completely.

goals
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.