Motivation logo

A Letter From The Goddess of Love

Tools for when you forgot who you are.

By Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17Published 4 months ago 7 min read
1
Me inside of of my paintings.

Day 28/366 days of writing and publishing in 2024.

One of the most played playlists I've ever created was inspired by the recurring themes that arise during my coaching sessions with clients. It revolves around the emotions of fear, the need for approval, feelings of inadequacy, and the presence of limiting beliefs. I designed this playlist as a tool for my clients to turn to whenever they encountered these challenges. You can listen to it here. Interestingly, I found myself reaching for this playlist as well, recognizing my own humanity in the process. However, as I reflect on it today while brainstorming for a new writing topic, I realize that I haven't needed this playlist in a very long time. While I acknowledge that I may require it again at some point in the future, I no longer experience those negative emotions about myself as frequently.

I believe this personal transformation is a glimmer of hope that I can share with others who are on their own healing journeys. It serves as a reminder that if I can reprogram my own mind, anyone can. Each of us possesses the power to transform our lives at any given moment; sometimes, all we need are the right tools and gentle reminders.

As I was browsing through my Google Drive, searching for content to revamp and share, I stumbled upon a letter I had written some time ago—a letter that served as another one of these tools. The vibrant image accompanying this letter is a fusion of my own painting and a photograph from a memorable photoshoot, where I portrayed the character of Aphrodite. It was a joyful experience creating this image, and it resonates with the powerful message I aim to convey.

Hello Soul Sister,

I see you. I see you frustrated with how things are. Sit down and let's have a conversation. I am the Goddess of Love and my favorite thing to do is wave my wand and share my wisdom of how to love yourself unapologetically. You are more than anything you could write on a list or view in a mirror. You are more than a number on a scale or the kind of car you drive or the amount of dollars in your bank account. You are more than the degrees you have or don’t have.

You are a woman.

Sometimes that means you are insecure and frightened to be yourself. Sometimes that means that you haven’t discovered who yourself even is. And that's a starting point. So let's begin.

Let us acknowledge that sometimes life is hard. We don’t have to shift or pretend that everything is okay all the time. Sometimes you just need to feel it all, be with it all. Sometimes you need a minute to lose your cool, without trying to make yourself be better than that or deny that minute of release.

The truth is, you are human and with being a human comes human moments. Some of them are wall kicking. Some of them are breathtaking. Some of them ebb and flow and some feel like you are doing everything right and things are still going wrong. That's just the law of rhythm at work. The law of rhythm is like the tides of the ocean. Sometimes it's peaceful, sometimes it's crazy and crashing. You can’t stop the waves but you can learn to surf.

Do not measure your worth off of whether your to do list is done. I mean a paper list? That's kind of a funny thought right? Same goes for what you judge about yourself in the mirror.

Instead consider. Who do you want to be?

A queen? A superhero? What kind of energy do you want to embody? Do you realize that you can recreate yourself and reinvent yourself at any time? Anything you are today can be totally different tomorrow.

Remember playing dress up as a kid? You can still play dress up anytime. Forget the guy who doesn’t notice you right now. Do you take the time to notice yourself? What If you could learn to notice yourself so deeply that you weren’t dependent on whether someone noticed you or not?

Can you imagine living from that power?

What you need is a fairy godmother and that's where I come in. I am the Goddess of Love. I am here to show you how to love yourself unapologetically. Once you find yourself, you don’t have to depend on people like you ever did. When they come around, it's a gift. It's the icing on the cake. But you don’t need it. That's how bathed in your own validation you will be. All you need is to find your passion, find your beauty, and become the lover who understands your needs and desires more deeply than anyone. All you need to to be able to hold your heart when you’re healing hurts and understand the thirst within you for your own attention.

There is a quote that I love by Wayne Dyer that helps me with this and it goes like this:

“Look into a mirror and say out loud ‘I love you, I value you. I know there is much more to you than what I see staring back at me’.”

You will find yourself going beyond the physical you and remove the intrusive thoughts of yourself and attempting to prove your worth. You are not that face looking back at you in the mirror. You are that which is observing the face. And that doesn’t show up in any mirror or any physical measuring device that we have on this planet. “ Profound right?

Think about the attention you give others for a minute. Can you lavish your own self with that attention?

Remember you are a Goddess! A queen! A muse! The Divine Feminine Energy! What if you served yourself as if you were that? What would you do differently? Would you wear glitter? Would you bathe in champagne? Would you feed yourself chocolate covered strawberries under the moonlight? No bets are off here?

Would you start saying YES to yourself more? Would you say no to the draining friends? Would you take the bath before doing your work instead of “earning” it? You are a fucking Queen! Queens don’t earn baths, they just do Queen-ness! Do you realize your work would be better if you did? Would you take more days off? Would you dare to have fun? Would you compliment yourself? How would it feel to live your best life? If you had to source your best life from within, what would that include?

What if you made it ALL about you? What if you put your hands on your heart and asked the little girl inside of you what she needs? What is it that she would say and how could you give it to her? How can you receive your own love even more? What is it that you want from a lover? And how can you give it to yourself?

You have the permission to do whatever it is that you desire.

Want to take a nap? Play with your own hair? Enjoy more face masks? Savour chocolate rituals? Rub your feet at the end of the day? Wear more yummy lotion? Write love letters or poems to yourself? Partake in Cleopatra rose baths? Sensually dance naked in your room and appreciate your body? Buy lobster and cook it for yourself at home? Send yourself flowers?

Do it! Do it all!

How could you become obsessed with loving yourself? If you were an actress in a movie and the part you had to play was becoming obsessed with loving yourself what would you do? If your only job was to spoil the hell out of yourself what would you do first?

As the goddess of love I’m telling you that doing these things is what changes the name of the game. Think of your life as luscious. Now go be luscious AF. I want you to go over the top with love for yourself. Extra on top of extra. You are the cherry on top of your own sundae.

What if nothing you ever did was wrong? What kind of freedom can be sourced from that? This is a level up of love. Even if your wings are clipped you still get to fly. There's no such thing as damaged goods here. Only more opportunity to love. If love were a bunch of glitter in a salt shaker I want you to shake it all over your life. What if the love ran so deep that you knew in any given moment exactly what you needed and how to give it to yourself? Do you understand the divine feminine power in that?

Call yourself Queen! I mean really look in the mirror and greet yourself as the queen that you are each day! It doesn’t matter what other people are calling you. What matters is you calling yourself queen. Seeing yourself as this royalty in your own universe. As if every single aspect of yourself was right.

You are a woman. And because of that you have permission to be ALL of what that entails.

And if you need a reminder I’ve got just the one for you.

For I am the first and the last

I am the venerated and the despised

I am the prostitute and the saint

I am the wife and the virgin

I am the mother and the daughter

I am barren and my children are many

I am the married woman and the spinster

I am the woman who gives birth and she

Who never procreated

I am the consultation for the pain of birth

I am the wife and the husband

And it was my man who created me

I am the mother of my father

I am the sister of my husband

And he is my rejected son

Always respect me

For I am the shameful and the magnificent one.

Hymn to Isis, third or fourth century B.C.

Discovered in Nag Hammadi

What would it be like to feel yourself? Be yourself? What would it be like to feel good? To feel understood? To do you? All day. Infusing what you need into every single thing. Not holding back any of that love? Not saving it for a rainy day. Not waiting for anything special to happen to give it to yourself.

Giving it to yourself for the thrill of just how amazing you are. One of a kind love amplified.

With Love,

Venus aka Jennifer Lancaster

healing
1

About the Creator

Jennifer Lancaster @jenergy17

Multidimensional Creative-preneur

Life Coach, Personal Trainer, Artist, Writer. Formerly in restaurant business for 3 decades. Soul expression is my ❤️ language. Spirituality,music, art, food and creativity fuel my life. IG @jenergy17

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    The boot up the behind so many of us need!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.