Motivation logo

7 Small Changes that Can Increase Your Happiness Overnight

“Happiness is not something that is fixed. It comes from your actions. “

By Arya SharmaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
7 Small Changes that Can Increase Your Happiness Overnight
Photo by Luke Chesser on Unsplash

“Happiness is not something that is fixed. It comes from your actions. ”~ Dalai Lama

I was always depressed.

After dropping out of college, I worked three jobs a day to help support myself financially. At the same time, my classmates were graduating from college and getting high-paying jobs.

I lived in a small apartment with cockroach problems. I was always complaining and could not find the motivation to do anything. I thought about quitting. It was at this point that I began to make these small changes in my life and started to feel happier.

1. Accept religion and / or spirituality.

Religion and spirituality have been shown to help people every day, giving hope, strength, and belief in something greater. It is a well-known practice in all cultures, promoting good manners, personality, love and morality.

Practicing religion is good for the soul and makes you more aware of those things that are beyond you.

Know that the universe is great, and you are a small person, but you are a key player in it. Feel special about being part of such a great and wonderful system. Take time each day to pray and focus on the bigger picture, whatever it may be.

When I first became a Buddhist, I found myself becoming better at setting things straight. Instead of being overwhelmed by the pressures of the heat of the moment, I learned to start taking action. This helped me to go through many days in which I did not feel depressed.

2. Share.

People are social, so it is important to relax and spend time with friends. Friends provide a social network to enjoy a party, whether it's sharing a meal, watching a movie, or playing a game. The possibilities are endless. Also, they are your support system during difficult times.

Friends are not the only source of entertainment. Volunteering provides a platform for communication with the benefit of helping. It is a good idea to take the time to help those causes that are important to you.

Are you an animal lover? Spend time in a shelter or hug cats in Kati Haven. Are you a human being? Get a local grant that allows you to support the homeless or help a child learn to read. If you are interested in politics, dedicate yourself to a baptism candidate who believes in him.

When I first started feeling depressed, I thought a lot and avoided contact with the people around me. Gradually, I realized that this only made matters worse.

Now, no matter how busy I am, I set aside time to meet with my best friends at least once a week. I always felt happier and more comfortable after those meetings.

3. Work well.

Your work takes up most of your day, so find ways to enjoy it. Be creative.

Bring headphones to work and listen to music while you produce, which will improve your work performance. Bring simple flowers or plants to your table and decorate your workshop, making it your own. Take a short walk to stretch your legs and clear your mind. Do not forget to dehydrate. It is important for the thought process.

Find ways to use your own set of skills to improve your role in your company. Your manager will thank you. Focus on how your work improves the lives of others or contributes to economic growth in some way. Changing these little things can help you work better.

When I was offered challenging assignments at work, I often complained. My happiness and satisfaction at work have been greatly enhanced by turning the habit around. Instead of avoiding challenges, I looked forward to them; I now see them as a way to help me learn and grow.

4. Stay healthy and fit.

Surround yourself with nature. Living in a city often leads to a lack of greenery, and let’s not forget that we all need a certain environment and a distance from time to time from the fast-moving, often dirty lives we live in. Drive to the nearest park and walk. Find a local mountain trail or a nearby lake.

Next, work and have fun while doing it. You should enjoy moving your body. This can take the form of a dance or a fun game. Maybe you like to run alone, so you have time to think for yourself and think deeply. Most of the time you come up with your own ideas when you're out and about.

Just find out what you like, and do it. If it's something you like, it will be easier to build a habit.

Yoga is an important part of my daily routine. Every morning, when I wake up, I get used to it for thirty minutes. This daily habit is something I can completely control. No matter how confident and stressful the day may be, I can always take comfort in the fact that I can still manage this important part of my day.

5. Keep the mind healthy.

Staying positive can be difficult some days. We all have stressful times in our lives, but there are many ways to deal with these problems that will not affect your sleep, allow your body everything else you need to regenerate and heal yourself.

First, write down your anxieties each night, as if you were going to write them down. Tell yourself that these should be resolved during your waking hours, and you will think about them at that moment and only then. This allows your sleep and provides time for your body to relax, rejuvenate and rejuvenate.

Second, meditate on what you appreciate each day by writing a thank-you note for A-Z before going to bed. This means you start at the beginning of the alphabet and write down one word you are grateful for on the day that starts with A, then go down the list to Z.

Do not be discouraged if you stumble. This is just a simple exercise to remind you of what you appreciate in your life. I do this every day; it never fails to remind me how lucky I am despite all that I have been through.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.