Motivation logo

2021. I’m Ready!!

My look into what this year has in store for EDB.

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Chavie-&-EDB NYE 2020!!

In 2008, I got the left foot of fellowship from the house of religion. I was lost, I was severely frustrated, I was freshly removed from college, and most importantly, I was laughably broke. That was the year, when I should have surveyed what went wrong. Tried to understand how I got out of line, seeking to like the prodigal son find my way back home, but that wasn’t me. No I get into what some see as trouble, and I just dig in.

See I was at a crossroad. I was surrounded by people who thought my work was good, and believed my ideas made sense, but because they didn’t fit inside the standardized mold, in their eyes, i would never succeed. So I was forced to figure out, how to do this on my own. I started conversations about podcasting, vlogging, even activism, resulting in my 2010 YouTube launch.

Now, hitting the fast forward button, I’m heading into my eleventh year as a YouTuber, and my second year as a tictoker, podcaster. And Year one as a spiritual activist.

Then again, since I’m thinking, I wanna hit the rewind button. Yep, just thinking of this as a really good movie. You fast forward to one good part, only to remember another is back yonder.

So let me go head and do it right here. Let’s me tell my grandma, who thankfully doesn’t fully understand the Internet so will never read this, that she was right. Back in 2000, when I got my first brand new computer, she said you’ll end up doing something in computers.

Now two decades in, I’m thinking hard about why I’ve been granted this talent. Let me just skip to the punchline. I believe, I was created to show what can happen, if you did what you believe you’re created to do.

According to various sources and research, 98% of people die without fulfilling their goals and dreams, meaning only 2% of people become successful in life. One of those goals we lack is health and Wellness. About 31 million adults aged 50 or older are inactive, meaning that they get no physical activity beyond that of daily living. Low levels of physical activity can contribute to heart disease, type 2 diabetes, some kinds of cancer, and obesity.

So taking all that into consideration, I’m looking at the fact we are here, in 2021. Twenty One is a symbol of perfection and maturity. It symbolizes the divine wisdom: “mirror of eternal light, which pierces and penetrates all grace in its purity”.

Yeppers, You’ve seen it hear folks. I EDB, that’s Erik DeSean Barrett for long is declaring this year will be the year that I grow TF up. MHmmm yeeah. After all I’m a legally technological adult. I can virtually drink. Yessir!! Where dem bottles???

So now that I’m growing up, what am I trying to do? How do I achieve what I believe is my life’s mission Statement? I’m glad you’re interested. I plan to focus on two objectives this year. One doing everything I can to make sure everyone has access to things they didn’t know about, or, believe is for them; and secondly, do everything I can to promote and participate in a strong healthy and physical active life. Which brings me to my final thought. 124. That is the number of days before I become the husband of a beautiful wife. Which further intensifies my desire to make sure I’m ready to kick some serious booty. Stay Tuned.. Because, if I stay focused, and you connected, I believe at the end of the day, we will do exceedingly, Abundantly, above all we could even think.

Until next time we can chat. From me and mine, unto you and yours!! ❤️➖EDB

goals
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.