Motivation logo

On Your Mark??

T-33

By Erik DeSean BarrettPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
DURING MY COLLEGE DAYS AT TCC

Greetings My Awesomesauce Friends,

May I begin with a moment of frustration? As I sit to write this, I have found myself a tad bit tired. Truthfully I just can’t anymore. I can’t with the, 😳MG can you believe how fast this year has flown rhetoric. So if you would allow me, I’d like to just chuck on by the thought that I just wrote you yesterday, November One, and now Its the 28th. No No No.. I will just move on with what I believe to be exciting news.

Crazy I am thinking back over my life. The photo, or should I say the thumbnail for this post, is from my college days. The days when I was struggling to find not only myself, but my place in this society. I was into everything, and connecting myself with everyone. Some of those relationships were completely awesomesauce, while others were like, well straight up being infected with COVID-19.

Part of my problem then, is my point of discussion today. First I must say how super hyped I have been as of late. Most of you reading this have found a way to redirect your thoughts, your energy, and most importantly your time. We are not as consumed as we once were with the drama of Cable News, or the personal conversations to match. I am so proud to know we are not like druggies looking for the next fix of gossip, or to borrow from the forcibly emboldened words of 46-1 = #NotMyPresident; {OFFICIALLY}our daily dose of FAKE NEWS. No Sir, No Madam, we are in these streets YouTubing, blogging, or about the Spotify life. We are being active, and doing whatever is necessary to personally make our world better.

Our personal progress is again amazing, but it has presented an even bigger problem. I cannot stress enough, that it is awesomesauce knowing we are not consumed by the #craycray of this world, but sadly our disconnection from the informational noise has caused us to voluntarily disenfranchise ourselves, which breeds for ideals to rise against us. It is proverbially like the societal titanic is heading for an iceberg, because we the watchmen are off playing.

Now before you throw this across the room, Let me make one thing clear. I can hear you. The screams and frustration to match has driven my blood🩸pressure clean through the roof. It is like that cartoon I can’t distinctly describe which now make this a lame point. But if you can figuratively imagine my heart beating violently in chest, than hopefully it will assure you that we are on the same page; both like 🤔💭.. “We are Damned if we do, and Damned if we don’t!!”

Here is the naked truth. There is absolutely no way to prevent this disinformation campaign from continuing. There is no major wand, or pill 💊 that will eradicate our social dramas. This is seemingly an incurable ideology, and not even a COVID VACCINE can control it. So what do we do?

Well my lovely friends both far and near, physical and virtual. I believe, in the words of the great lecture, comic, publisher, and entrepreneur, who we knew as Mark Twain. “It is times like this which tries a man soul.”

Some may argue, our political nightmare ends at high noon 53 days from now. Some also suggest, the departure of the current occupant of 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, take with him the proverbial virus 🦠 we know as racism, sexism, supremacy, and more.. I however am confident, most of America does not subscribe to this ideology, but rather know we have a long road ahead.

I follow the premise of our need to work harder to ensure as many as we can are fully informed about the challenges we have, are, and will soon face. We must effectively work to provide information ℹ️ understood by all, and not just those who due to privilege have guaranteed access.

This brings me to my final point, and moment of excitement. I am proud to tell the world I along with persons like Dr. Robert Gufffey, and Councilwoman Andria McClellan will here in my hometown of Norfolk Virginia beginning in January 2021will work to ensure everyone I come in contact with has access to things they didn’t know, or didn’t believe was for them. My Goal is to work on Civic understanding, and proper engagement, so that not only are more persons around understanding what is going on, but are effectively participating. And finally I hope to this coming year return to what brought me to the dance in the first place. For almost two decades, the internet has been my home. It has been my classroom, my library, my bar, and most importantly my professional home.

The realm of opportunity, the moments of possibilities I believe are even more now than the days the internet and I first became friends. And I look to maximize on both. Look forward sharing, and caring with you, and we begin to embrace 2021.

Until the Next Time We can Chat, From Me AND Mine, Unto You and Yours!! ❤️➖LATTERZ➖EDB

self help
Like

About the Creator

Erik DeSean Barrett

Blogger👨🏾‍💻 Vlogger🎥 Podcaster🎙Life Enthusiasts!!! On mission to prove one can do what they believe despite what anyone says.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.