Motivation logo

2 Common Ways People Get Stuck

...And What to Do About It

By Hannah SnyderPublished 6 years ago 3 min read

Let me start this off by saying I am a college student. I'm 19 years old, and pursuing a degree in history as well as studying archaeology. I've got a lot on my plate most days, and on top of all the reading, writing, and research, I struggle with depression and anxiety. I cannot tell you how many times I've woken up at 7:30 A.M. only to turn my alarm off, tell myself, "I just can't do this today..." and go right back to sleep. I cannot tell you how many times I've opened a book on a subject that I am fascinated by, read one page, and put it down, only to end up staring at the ceiling for twenty minutes wondering why I just couldn't understand the words in front of me. I am stuck.

1. Have you ever taken out your laptop, all confident and ready to write that essay, and sat with your fingertips motionless on the keyboard for ten minutes, thirty minutes, an hour? It's frustrating. You have the thoughts in your head, but no matter how hard you think about them, they don't translate to your writing.

SOLUTION: In this situation, I like to do something that was introduced to me when I was only 11; a brain dump. It works just how it sounds, write whatever comes to your mind! Don't feel like it has to make sense. Let me give you an example. Say I am writing a paper on German economy pre-World War II. First, I'll write what I know, names, keywords, phrases, anything short that comes to mind. Then, start making connections. You've written down "inflation" and "war guilt clause." Perfect! Write a sentence or two about how these things connect. Making connections is an important part of any paper, whether it be argumentative or research. Now you've got some sentences with some key words that your professor will be happy to read. I hope this little tip helps you get your paper started and your mind moving!

2. Nothing is more frustrating for those who struggle with depression than wanting to do something you love, but not having the motivation to do so. For a long time, I have loved skateboarding. It takes my mind off of school and friend problems and the general weight of the world. However, about a year ago, I fell deep in to a depressive state. I never left the house, I ate too little, and I slept for 10-13 hours a day. Needless to say, I abandoned my love of skating for the comfort and safety of my bed.

SOLUTION: This situation was difficult to pull out of, so don't think you can do this in a few days, or even a few weeks. About a month ago, I started watching skate videos again (mostly just short ones on Instagram) but I could feel some of the passion, the fire, inside me reigniting. I hadn't even gotten out of bed, yet I could feel my love for the sport bubbling up again. I continued this for a week or two, and one day, out of nowhere, I pulled my skateboard out of my car like a reflex and just started riding up and down the street. When I realized what I was doing, I teared up. Here I was again, doing what I loved. Here's my advice to you: watch other people do what you love on your phone or computer. Watch speed drawing videos or soccer games or cooking channels. Remind yourself why you loved it so much, without even doing anything. To be honest, I got JEALOUS when I was watching those skate videos. I mean those guys were out there doing things I haven't mastered yet day after day and it pissed me off! I think that one day where I grabbed my board was the day my brain finally realized that I CAN accomplish those things, and so can you! Your brain just needs a little food for thought first.

I hope this was somewhat helpful to you, and I will definitely be writing more mental heath and advice related articles in the future.

self help

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Hannah SnyderWritten by Hannah Snyder

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.