Motivation logo

19 Simple Daily Habits for a Happier Life

He gave me a big kiss. They laughed so hard. Great smile. Love it for a long time.

By Sulav kandelPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

19 Simple Daily Habits for a Happier Life
Photo by Ravi Roshan on Unsplash

He gave me a big kiss. They laughed so hard. Great smile. Love it for a long time. ”~ Unknown

Have you ever met everything?

Happiness, I mean. I once thought that a university degree and a good grade would make me happy. I thought that leaving the world would leave me feeling satisfied. I thought that moving to a foreign land and finding a job would give me a sense of accomplishment and satisfaction.

They all did, but only for a while. They always come with an expiration date.

Finally, I had to stop and ask myself, "If I can be truly happy now, would I ever be happy?" If I could not appreciate everything I already have in my life, would the answer really be?

No.

Then I thought, “If happiness is all I want, why not take the shortcut right there?”

So, I did. I stopped holding you. I stopped allowing external circumstances to dictate how I felt. And I stopped trusting in the deceptive places of happiness and promise.

What I have seen is that happiness does not happen by accident - it happens by choice. It is a skill that one can develop with good habits.

Happiness Habits That Can Change Your Life

1. Appreciate it.

This morning I woke up feeling like I valued my bed, my potential friends, and my mother for being the rock in my life. Appreciation brings happiness. It highlights and gives importance to the essence of our lives. And the more grateful you are, the more you will find things to appreciate.

When you get up and go to sleep, remind yourself of the three things you see right now in your life.

2. Empower yourself every morning.

In the morning the tone is set all day. A good morning routine leaves you feeling focused, energized, and ready to take the world.

Meditate, practice yoga, make a list of all your hobbies, watch inspiring YouTube videos, or listen to your favorite song before leaving the house. Simply put, set a good day!

3. Practice accepting.

Things do not always go as planned. I used to get frustrated when the plans changed or when the bus arrived late. But resistance did not change anything; instead, it just sent me down. When I started to accept whatever was going on, I freed myself from unnecessary suffering.

Start doing acceptance. Adapt to a new situation, without reinforcing negative feelings.

4. Live in the present.

That's where it all happens, the present moment. It is the only place where you can find happiness (or anything else in that matter). That's the only place you have to be. It may sound obvious, but seeing that this was a life change for me. Right now I think better, I feel better, and I do better.

Whenever you enter a new place, use your five senses - sound, sight, touch, smell, and taste - to gain further insight.

5. Listen carefully.

Listen with empathy and empathy. Give people the gift of your full attention. This is a powerful source of happiness, as it builds strong bonds between people and the places you now live in.

Whether you are a colleague, a colleague, or someone you do not know completely on the street, decide to be very present in all your conversations.

6. Save money to plant memories.

Material possessions may provide lasting satisfaction, but experience is a lifeline. Last year I never bought anything new. Instead, I used the money to travel. Just thinking of the beach clubs in the Caribbean, those sunny days in Central Park, and that festival in Ibiza puts a big smile on my face.

Buy only the things you need or fall head over heels in love. Then work from the bottom of the list eliminating issues that aren't worth the fight.

7. Make new friends.

Most of us stop making friends after twenty years. Make new friends and grow as a person, be exposed to new experiences, and have a rich social life.

Have a friendly conversation with a stranger and perhaps make new friends. Maybe for five minutes, or maybe for life.

8. Dream too much.

Dreams are beautiful; they move us forward. It heals our hearts, awakens our minds, and gives us a purpose in life. Let it be a big dream and hope it can come true for you.

Give yourself at least five minutes every day to be driven into your dream life. Make it as realistic as possible: imagine and build the feeling of being, doing and having everything you want.

9. Take steps towards your dream.

Now, does your present time look like the future you dream of? If not, invest more time and energy in what you want to see growing.

Take small steps every day to elevate you to what you want. All the small steps all add up.

10. Develop a sense of abundance, not hunger.

How we acquire the earth depends on our perception of it. When you remain poor, you protect and collect. When you give, you show that you have enough.

Don't you feel like you're getting enough love? Give love to someone else. Don't you feel like you're making enough money? Give to someone in need.

11. Take time to charge again.

Even though we live in a society that encourages us to do more, be more, give more, and have more, we need time to charge. We need to empower ourselves. Take a short break, and why not take a nap?

Scheduled is usually not done, so be sure to schedule a break.

12. Make time to play.

Life is not work. You didn't come here to fix something broken or to complete a to-do list. You have come for its sweetness, for the joy and the magic of life.

Set aside at least fifteen minutes daily for leisure time and make that time non-negotiable.

13. Have happy people.

Attitudes are contagious. If someone smiles at you, you will probably smile. If someone is rude, then you will have anger back. Only associate with people who have the attitude you want to catch.

happiness
Like

About the Creator

Sulav kandel

Im a contain writter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.