Men logo

Write For Men

Anyone Can Do It

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read

Introduction

When the new Vocal Men's community was announced a lot of women expressed doubts that they could write in that community. This will be the main thrust of this article.

My only issue with the community and it is a tiny, easily rectified one, is that Vocal has refused to acknowledge Tom Bradbury, his Stetson suggestion, and his support from Call Me Les to get this finally here. They acknowledge briefly in their initial post but that will fade with time.

It would take them five minutes to add that to the main page and I have requested this several times. It just needs a few words on the main page to remind every Vocal and non Vocal Reader who visits, the people who instigated this Vocal Community.

Right For Men

I say this quite a lot, but I am the only creator that I know that has posted in every Vocal Community, though one was accidental, but it is there now. I cannot be the only one as there are so many creators, but as yet I have not met any. Loryne Andawey did a microfiction series based on every Vocal Community which was a major undertaking that you can read about below.

Some communities I did find difficult to create entries for, but in Viva I did post one about England's Lionesses that you can read about below.

So I was a man posting in the Vocal Women's Community about something incredible that women have done. I have since posted two more in Viva and you can read them here

I do not post often in Viva but it shows that if a man can post in Viva then anyone including women can post in Men.

The point is to focus on why this belongs in the Male community.

It could be about a sportsman or team, or any man that you want to write about.

You are the creator, that does not bar you from creating a story that belongs in the Vocal Men Community.

One of the problems is that social conditioning has directed us to see men as the providers and therefore being seen as superior to women. That, as we know is totally not true. Even in my own family, I have two wonderful daughters who constantly amaze me, and Fiona, my partner, always knows so much more than me about film, politics, and history. I am the one without a degree.

There are so many routes anyone can take to write in the Vocal Male Community. Whether it's men's health, physical and mental, or about musicians, actors, or others that is a lot that you can choose to write about.

The mission statement for the community is:

Discover a welcoming space exclusively dedicated to men's mental health, providing support, valuable insights, and a transformative journey toward holistic well-being.

I have covered many of these subjects in Poets, Journal, Longevity and many other Vocal Communities, and it is good that now I can actually share my work here when it is relevant.

Conclusion

I hope my examples of the work I shared in Viva have shown that gender is not a limitation to writing in these Vocal Communities, you just need to identify what you are writing about. This is only my second post in this community but I may drop more in at some point.

I really hope this is going to encourage more women to write in the Vocal Men Community because that is the right thing to do. Please do not think that you cannot do it.

The music I included is "Male Stripper" by Man 2 Man Meet Man Parrish because it is a great record and has Man and Male in the title and performer name.

CultureWisdomLifestyleInspirationHealthGeneral

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Julia Schulzabout a year ago

    Mike, I don't really think of much that I write as being exclusively for women. However, I do notice my fear of writing about a male protagonist in a novel on which I've been working because I've never been inside a guy's skin as he navigates puberty...yet I am a fan of many male writers who write about characters growing up.

  • Exactlyyyyyyy! You've posted in Viva and I'm sure other men have too. So there's no doubt that women would be able find something positive to post in Men!

  • Heather Zieffle about a year ago

    Thanks for sharing this Mike!

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Great article! I’ve only posted in like three communities lol

  • Well stated.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    Well said, Mike. I appreciate the encouragement.

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Thank you for this. I have a couple ideas for stories and have been sitting on them for fear of intruding onto "turf" that's not mine.

  • Tiffany Gordon about a year ago

    Excellent work Mike! Thx for sharing potential topics to write about! great job !

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Thank you for addressing this so kindly. I do feel like I'm intruding if I want to post there. Not sure if I ever will, but I do appreciate these words :)

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Nicely said, Mike.

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.