Men logo

A Healthy Community For Men

This is for the new Vocal Men Community

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read

Introduction

I think I have written three pieces that would have been suitable for this community, although two of them are poems so I can share them all in this piece.

I am really not sure what the point of this group is because men seem to always get heard wherever they go. The point of Viva was to give women a place where they could be properly heard for who they are. I seriously don't think men need that.

Maybe the emphasis should be on Men's Health and Wellbeing, I think that could work, and if that is what the community's purpose was then I would probably be willing to take part in it.

The Men's Community

I am writing this article with no knowledge of what this community will be for, so I may have to make adjustments before I publish this, or then again I might not.

This is the result of lots of work by the sadly missed Tom Bradbury and Call Me Les and other admins in The Vocal Social Society which was proposed in the article below.

Many of us have been brought up to "be strong" whatever happens, but we need to be able to deal with feelings properly. We always need to have someone to talk to,

I am one of the worst people for not saying anything because I don't want to burden others with my problems. I have seen the effect of what happens when I do open up and it is not great so I deal with it myself.

Like many people, not just men, I am my own worst critic, and I often have arguments and mental fights with myself that I would not dare speak to anyone about, because I usually come out of it OK, and see others in far worse situations than I am, and when I see that I want to be there for those friends because I am a good listener. I am not perfect, but I can do the job.

The thing is then some say that I am not a real man because I empathise. I don't let that criticism bother me but I think it has cost me a few relationships because I have not been hard enough. Empathic is soft.

The thing is most of the things I talk about I feel easier talking to women, and I know women find me easy to talk to because they see me as a friend, nothing more, and someone they can confide in and trust.

Ironically that has provoked jealousy and anger in some men but that is their problem, not mine. That has resulted in a few Facebook blocks.

Mental Health is very important because if we can't get things out it builds pressure up and too much pressure can cause a veritable plethora of ills.

I do not do pressure or stress and always find a way to head these things off, and hopefully this community can help men in those areas.

You can cry.

You can stop

You can rest.

If you don't look after yourself you cannot look after anyone else. And men can look after each other, just as women can look after men and men women and any other sex in between.

We are all people, human beings, and as humans we should be there for other humans and be there as a shoulder to lean on when needed.

As we get older, we sometimes get hit by more bad things, or people we know get hit by worse things than us.

I know I may be repeating myself but we should all love and care for each other, that is the main thing.

Conclusion

That is all I have to say but I will leave you with a previous article and two poems that definitely should be part of this community.

HealthLifestyleIssuesGeneralBrotherhood

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    Yes that's the thing. Like women, men are humans too. They should be abe to cry and express emotiona without being judged! Excellent article Mike!

  • I identify with this thoroughly. And real men do eat quiche!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well done, Mike!!!

  • Hannah E. Aaronabout a year ago

    What a fantastic piece! Like you wrote, empathy is so important and appreciated regardless of gender. On that note, though, I have some truly empathetic and understanding men in my life and I am so glad to have them. I hope everyone in your life appreciates your empathy as well!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    This a great story , I am glad you are the first to submit a story ❤️

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.