Longevity logo

"You Can Do These Simple Things or Wait For the Surgeon To Sharpen His Knives"

Wise advice that got my attention and principles anyone can follow for healthy back care

By Victoria Kjos Published 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 6 min read
Like
"You Can Do These Simple Things or Wait For the Surgeon To Sharpen His Knives"
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Middle Age

The words reverberated.

I had not previously thought about the advice. But it got my immediate attention.

I was in my mid-40s. My fitness level was decent. I was relatively healthy, aside from a chronic illness that I managed through lifestyle changes. I drank no alcohol, smoked nothing, and used no substances…unless chocolate is considered one.

I was never a jock but rather a nerdy, over-achieving bookworm. Nevertheless, after prior years of weight lifting, running, and mountain climbing, I wasn't a fitness calamity. Neither was I a buff youngster any longer.

At the time, I was teaching twenty weekly yoga and medical Qigong classes in the fifth largest metropolitan city in the United States. I had been a certified instructor for over fifteen years and held a master's degree in exercise science.

Yoga and Qigong

I was not the kind of teacher who spent 90 minutes sitting in Padmasana, the crossed-legs pose, at the front of the classroom giving directions.

I actively demonstrated all asanas, made adjustments, and led the entire class sequence of Qigong, a Chinese martial art of which t'ai chi is one form.

From classes alone, I was getting sufficient exercise - thirty hours worth weekly. Then, there was walking to and from my car on community college campuses and other locations, as well as regular daily activities.

So, I was not a couch potato.

Any serious athlete - which I was not - knows that even an extremely fit person who runs too many marathons close together or unconsciously pops an extra thirty pounds on the gym weight bar can suffer injuries.

I never imagined, however, that one could become injured doing the ancient healing practices of medical Qigong and yoga. These were still the "real yoga days" before the explosion of hot, acrobatic, aerial, and today's variations for gymnastics and weight loss.

Pain Management

I had experienced pain over the years - training for two half marathons, routine life glitches, and an auto accident soft tissue issue that occasionally reappeared.

I was also familiar with chronic pain from a health condition that had catapulted me onto the yoga mat fifteen years earlier. But debilitating agony from yoga overexertion never crossed my mind.

It was one of those wake-up calls when your body sends a screaming message. Slow down. Don't push yourself. You are overdoing it.

None of my typical interventions of heat, modifying poses, and massage were working. The deep left gluteal pain had progressively worsened. I could drag myself through classes and standing, but sitting was excruciating.

From teaching the same students for a long while, I became friendly with my country club groups. In a Saturday morning class, Wendy detected some limitations, at which point I confessed the debilitating pain that hadn't resolved.

She knew just the guy for me to see. He was a genius, she claimed. He worked on pro athletes who couldn't afford to be away from their game for long periods.

Chiropractor Recommendation

Wendy had gotten my attention. I couldn't be non-functional for an extended time. It was possible to find substitute teachers occasionally, however, those I trusted to step in already had full class schedules.

But - and it was a big "but" for me - not only was the purported miracle worker a chiropractor but there was a second deterrent. His office was on the far west side of town, at least a forty-five-minute drive.

I had seen a chiropractor only once previously and wasn't impressed.

I was not enamored by his recommendation - before any diagnosis or treatment - that I would improve after a year of twice-weekly visits (the ka-ching approach; why chiropractors often have poor reputations). Neither was I a fan of the 'snap, crackle, pop' modality.

Desperate for relief; however, I scheduled an appointment with Dr. G and drove the distance in abject pain, praying against hope he was as gifted as represented.

Diagnosis and Success

His diagnosis was that the piriformis muscle was inflamed. The piriformis is a narrow, flat muscle of the lower spine that crosses the gluteus. It aids most lower body movements.

When he said it would take six sessions, I became his patient.

True to his word, I was back to normal functioning sans pain within six treatments and felt noticeably better after the first. He used a gentler adjustment.

Needless to say, I became a huge fan, trusting his advice and counsel. I saw him monthly for some time. However, those visits decreased, and I dropped in periodically as needed. I might go months or even years without seeing him.

When I returned after months in India for a tune-up, he commended me for being in excellent shape, as though I'd had an adjustment the week prior.

Behavioral Tweaks Were the Best Payoffs

In addition to his treatment, Dr. G's genius was his concomitant advice. I attribute his guidance to subsequent decades with few hip or lumbar issues and travel abroad with no interventions.

They involved simple behavioral tweaks.

The day he announced, "You can either adopt these changes now or wait for the surgeon to sharpen his knives," he got my attention.

His basic recommendations are relevant for today's busy, multi-tasking individuals. Women working in jobs or maintaining households. Women who carry babies on their hips. Women who schlep shoulder bags, computers, or groceries. They are just as valid for the men in our lives, too.

Not only did I listen, but I faithfully heeded his suggestions - and still do. Happily, I have avoided all surgeons' knives for additional decades.

He explained that most of us are under the misapprehension that sitting straight and upright is preferred for maintaining healthy backs.

That is not the case. Such posture puts undue pressure on the lower back, compacting the vertebrae. Over time, repetitive destructive behaviors, along with aging, often lead to problems.

Hence, it is essential to mitigate that ultimate scenario through simple behavioral changes early.

Tips To Protect Your Backs

1. Recline the vehicle seat as far as you can comfortably lean back.

This reduces pressure on the lumbar region. It's especially helpful for those spending large blocks of time in cars. Individuals will determine their comfort zone regarding seat placement.

2. Reduce the weight of purses, handbags, briefcases, and computer bags.

Dr. G checked the weight of my purse periodically and kindly suggested, "Victoria, it's time to remove a few things."

Women tend to carry too much stuff in their handbags. To lighten the weight, we can keep only the necessary items and stash the other fifteen…those that we may need or use someday…in the car, baby carriage, or elsewhere.

3. Change the shoulder or hip.

This applies to a handbag or computer bag across the same shoulder or balancing a child on one hip or arm.

We all favor one side naturally. It is essential to be mindful of balancing and shifting sides.

4. Enter and exit vehicle seats properly.

When getting in or out of a vehicle, sit on the seat first, then flip both feet with legs together into or out of the car.

Dr. G instructed if I forgot to do it upon entering my car, to pull over, stop the car, get out, and get back in correctly. He assured me I would never forget again.

Guess what? He was absolutely correct. I followed his advice the first time it happened, and I never once again failed to remember. It became automatic.

5. When sitting, do not remain in one position for extended periods.

Most of us know this. Nevertheless, it's easy to forget to get up frequently.

Do some stretches. Take breaks if at a desk or in front of a screen for many consecutive hours. Set a timer if necessary.

6. Recline on a sofa rather than sit in a chair.

Dr. G was 6' 3" tall. He explained his family room was furnished with an extremely long sofa. [NOTE the photo of this article].

In the evenings, he would lie at one end and his wife at the other when watching television or reading.

Why? Reclining reduces lumbar spine compression.

I immediately adopted his advice and have remained a horizontal person whenever possible, with my sofa and bed as preferred places to relax.

This was his most valuable advice for a long-term approach to back care.

Conclusion

Always a compliant patient, minimizing the prospect of future surgery was a no-brainer. With minimal effort and easy fixes, I credit this invaluable, caring advice, saving me from problems for more than two subsequent decades.

Unless injured or born with a genetic complication, most people won't develop problems until years of unconscious abuse.

Adopting these simple habits while younger, fit, and healthier will hold you in good stead later in life.

Caveat: I am not a medical practitioner. Anyone with unique health challenges should always consult their physician or physical therapist regarding any new regimen.

Thanks for reading. May you, too, preserve healthy backs throughout your busy years and well into your last quarter of life.

health
Like

About the Creator

Victoria Kjos

I love thinking. I respect thinking. I respect thinkers. Writing, for me, is thinking on paper. I shall think here. My meanderings as a vagabond, seeker, and lifelong student. I'm deeply honored if you choose to read any of those thoughts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Victoria Kjos is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.