Longevity logo

Why you Aren't Losing Weight and How to Turn it Around Once & For All

It's simply a matter of changing one thing - and here it is

By Ange DimPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Why you Aren't Losing Weight and How to Turn it Around Once & For All
Photo by Hadija Saidi on Unsplash

For years I've listened to countless friends, colleagues, and clients say the same thing.

No matter what they do, the weight doesn't come off at all.

They have been on diets for years, lost and then regained that weight - sometimes even more on top of their original number.

This can be painful and cause a lot of distrust. 

The risk is that you won't lose weight anyway and get fatter.

I know this is the case for many people- because it was for me.

Unfortunately, like most people, I was not blessed with super skinny genetics, which meant I could eat what I wanted and still look the same. 

I build muscle a bit faster than most but am not genetically gifted in a skinny way at all.

It takes work to look good, feel great, and be healthy. So if anyone tells you it's a walk in the park - I guarantee you it's a lie. The only reason why it looks easy for someone else is that they have done it for years, and now it's second nature.

It is about changing patterns of behaviour and sticking with them for life.

This wasn't going to be some diet post to tell you how to get lean - but I know what's holding most people back from making the change.

Laziness and motivation have nothing to do with it. If that were the case, everyone would get skinny fast and stay that way.

You aren't losing weight because you don't have enough reasons to back your desire.

Now, to that, you could say that you most certainly do - you want to be leaner and look better.

Don't we all?

But, if that were enough of a reason - you would have done it by now.

Let me tell you a bit of a secret about why many people become a lot more driven to lose weight and keep it off.

It's because they back their weight loss goal with enough PAIN that they haven't got a choice but to change!

Let me give you an example from my own life. 

I lost both my parents to cancer. Both of them didn't have an optimal diet, and my dad was the first one to pass away. He spent his life smoking, drinking and eating unhealthy.

Cancer took over and killed him within three months. Back then, I was about 22.

Seeing him go through all of that pain, stuck in hospital and powerless over a disease, really changed my perception of life and health. 

So I made a vowel then and there to make it my priority to be of sound health - no matter what because the consequences could be death by cancer - or some other disease.

I also had a lot of leverage from my teenage years to back me up. 

Being allergic to almost everything, I had to undergo immune therapy and permanent food elimination. Eliminating all the wonderful food you love as a teenager is hard!

So, I realised that food could become my biggest inhibitor to health or my most significant asset towards becoming the best version of myself.

These drivers are still close to my heart today, and I feel compelled to write and teach as many people as possible about adopting healthy nutritional and exercise habits. 

Because it works so well for me and has over the years, I cannot picture myself going back to that sick person - or the one looking at her dad dying in the hospital bed.

I put so much pain and discomfort towards backing my need and want to change, which has driven me ever since. 

Even though I tried and failed many times, it's still my driving force to keep going.

You may think this is extreme - but the problem is that health issues do not surface in our lives until we're a lot older. 

In my mum's case, she became diabetic and eventually developed pancreatic cancer. In addition, her poor eating habits morphed into something that ultimately put her through a lot of pain until her death.

That just solidifies just how important proper nutrition and exercise is. Not only when we are young - but during our WHOLE life.

There is no greater force than using the following to push you to make a change, be it:

Your children - seeing them grow and being a part of their life for many years

Providing for your family

Preparing for a new baby or starting a family because it's something you've always wanted to do

Eliminating the risk of disease and cancer - because it runs in your family

Suffering from illness, and seeing first-hand how the right food and lifestyle plan helped you get well again.

These are just a few ideas, but the real one that counts is what you make for yourself - based on the life you want to lead.

Although the weight loss journey is annoying, hard and requires some effort - it's well worth it.

If this does nothing else but help you to think of a new and more innovative way to push yourself towards making a healthy change, then I have done my bit here.

I hope that you believe in yourself enough to make it happen- because I do.

If you would like to express gratitude with coffee, send the love via this link.

weight loss
Like

About the Creator

Ange Dim

My mission is to help people become the best version of themselves through nutrition, exercise and mindset. Get your dose of coaching every week here: https://anged.substack.com/subscribe

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.