Longevity logo

Why get up early? This is the answer I got from waking up early for a year

Why get up early? This is the answer I got from waking up early for a year

By j201911Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Today we're going to talk about getting up early, but before we do that, let's talk about sleep.

Each night, when I go to sleep, I die. The next day, when I wake up, I am reborn. --Mahatma Gandhi

01.

I make it a habit to compress my sleep when I'm too busy.

Then the next morning I have a cup of coffee and I can barely make it through.

It wasn't until some time ago, when I experienced heart palpitations after drinking coffee, that I really admitted that my current lifestyle was wrong, or at least not for me.

The caffeine in coffee stimulates the body's sympathetic excitability, thus relieving fatigue and refreshing the mind.

The degree of this stimulation varies from person to person, and it is clear that coffee is not for me.

Since I can't drink coffee, I have to get enough sleep.

Scientific studies have shown that adequate sleep is effective in boosting the immune system, while chronic lack of sleep can lead to low immunity and a variety of minor ailments. -The Sleep Bible Every Woman Wants

02.

How much time is needed to get enough sleep?

Some people get 3-4 hours of sleep, but others need 7-8 hours of sleep.

I have personally experimented and 7-7.5 hours is the best time for me to sleep. Once I go beyond 7.5 hours, I don't get into a deep sleep and I wake up easily.

And if I want to get up at 6am, working backwards, I need to go to bed between 10.30pm and 11pm.

So why do I need to get up at 6am?

My commute to work is at 8.30pm and my commute is half an hour, so I need to be out of the house by 8pm.

Then I get up at 6am and the hour between 6pm and 7pm is completely my own.

I only do two things in that hour, reading and writing.

These two things require 100% of my energy, and the hour after I wake up is the perfect time for them.

A Nobel laureate in economics once said, "The abundance of information leads to the poverty of our attention." --The Golden Hour After Waking Up

From the moment I wait to go to work, I am compelled to take in all sorts of information, so the hour after I wake up is also the purest time of my day.

And whenever I accomplish the most difficult task of the day, this sense of achievement also increases my productivity for the day.

03.

Although 7 to 7.5 hours is the perfect amount of sleep for me, it is human nature to be lazy and it takes some skill to get to bed early and get up early every day.

Number one, never take your phone to bed with you.

This is very important‼️

Once I bring my phone to bed, I go to bed at 12am at the earliest and have a hard time falling asleep.

The blue light emitted from the phone's display suppresses melatonin production and prevents us from falling asleep properly.

Secondly, before going to bed, remember to leave a crack in the curtains.

In the morning, when the sunlight from the curtains enters our retina, it transmits this stimulus to the "suture nucleus" in the brainstem, where the brain starts to synthesize serotonin (a neurotransmitter that controls our sleep and wakefulness), which can wake us up immediately.

The third point is to set the alarm using the "mission alarm".

The Mission Alarm Clock allows you to set tasks for turning off your alarm clock. The tasks are deep squatting, typing, walking, shaking, taking pictures, maths problems, barcodes/ QR codes and memory games. The task I set was to scan the barcode of the body lotion in the bathroom and wash up directly afterwards.

04.

These are the answers I got from waking up early for a year. Finally, I would like to tell you that waking up early is a lifestyle that suits me, but it may not suit everyone, I hope you can all find a lifestyle that suits you.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.