Longevity logo

Whittle the Waist

Yummy, Low Calorie Alternatives for High Calorie Foods

By Linda PaulPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I hated being skinny when I was a child. The other kids would tease me because my clothes were always too big. I didn’t even need a bra until I was 15, and even then it was more for show than because I really needed one. I actually only weighed 99 pounds when I graduated from high school. Even when I was older and gave birth to four children, my weight zoomed right back down after the deliveries. I could basically eat anything I wanted and not gain a single pound.

Then came menopause. I really didn’t have a tough time with hot flashes or mood swings, but it seemed like everything I ate went right to my thighs and lodged there. My weight soared up to 200 lbs on my 5'4" inch body and I felt like a beached whale.

After I was officially post-menopause, I went on a massive diet. I basically ate salad and yogurt. That was it. I did lose most of the weight, but every time I ate anything more than a salad or yogurt, the pounds started to pile on again.

Eventually, I figured out my metabolism and instead of eating like a rabbit, I started to substitute the sugar and carb filled things that were the bane of my existence for healthier choices.

Here are some tips that might help if you are in the same situation.

  1. Start the day with fresh fruit instead of fruit juice. Half a grapefruit, for example, has a whopping 60 fewer calories than 8 oz. of unsweetened grapefruit juice—plus you will get some fiber in your diet as a bonus deal.
  2. Serve French toast with unsweetened applesauce, stewed fruit, or unsweetened fruit butter instead of maple syrup.
  3. Switch from whole milk to skim milk. If you really don’t like the taste of skim milk, you can mix half whole with half skim and still cut 36 calories from each 8 oz. glass.
  4. Instead of using cheese as an omelet filler, substitute steamed vegetables and herbs. You will save about 210 calories and 16 grams of fat per 2 oz. of cheese.
  5. Instead of using chocolate or hazelnut spreads on toast or pancakes, puree fresh or frozen fruit, such as strawberries or blueberries in a blender and keep a container handy in the refrigerator. And, if you want a really low calorie spread, just open a small jar of pureed baby food.
  6. Pass up the catsup at 16 calories a tablespoon and substitute a slice of tomato on your hamburger instead. The tomato only has 4 calories and no sugar added.
  7. In place of mayo loaded tuna salad, have a small can of water packed tuna with a squeeze of lemon instead. You could save over 200 calories.
  8. Have a spritzer instead of a plain glass of wine. Mix equal parts of wine and club soda. You could save yourself 35 to 45 calories per glass.
  9. The rule of thumb for alcoholic beverages is the higher the proof, the higher the calories. A night out on the town could really rack up the calories and sugar intake.
  10. To keep chicken moist, cook it with the skin on, but remove it before you eat the chicken.
  11. Opt for white meat instead of dark. It has fewer calories and about one-third less fat.
  12. When preparing stuffed peppers, substitute ½ cup cooked lentils for ½ pound of ground beef. You can save as much as 500 calories per pepper.
  13. Use low fat cottage cheese and low fat ricotta for stuffed shells and manicotti. This substitution could save you up to 80 calories per 8 oz. And there really isn’t any difference in flavor!
  14. Saute onions and other vegetables in broth instead of oil.
  15. Sprinkle ½ tsp. Of Parmesan cheese on half a baked potato with a dash of cayenne pepper. Cut into thirds and toast until crispy. This flavor-packed treat is only about 80 calories.
  16. If you really want something sweet, substitute fruit ice rather than ice cream or sherbert.
  17. If you are craving cake, angel food or sponge cake are your best lower calorie choices.
  18. A dozen grapes will satisfy that sugar craving at only 40 calories per dozen.
  19. A cup of air popped popcorn without butter has only 25 calories. Try seasoning with herbs.
  20. Instead of a Snickers bar, substitute 10-15 chocolate covered raisins at 4 calories each.

What I have learned throughout my battle of the bulge is that you don’t have to give up what tastes good in order to maintain a steady weight.

Bon appetit!

diet
Like

About the Creator

Linda Paul

For as long as I can remember, I have wanted to be a writer. I tend to see life as a series of snapshots and magical moments. My six children are grown now, I am retired, and I would dearly love to pursue my love of the written word.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.