Longevity logo

What the Hell Am I?

I make it up as I go along.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

Eep opp ork ah-ah. That means I love you.

Oh my gosh. I have no idea what day of the week it is. I have to keep checking. Can you believe that? I need a satellite to figure out something I used to write at the top of my paper every day in school.

What the hell am I, a Jetson?!

Reimagine a new beginning. What does it look like?

DEAR AUGUST

If you could help me out, I would appreciate it. Twice this week I had to walk away from customers who refused to put their masks on. One of them threw a stack of paper bags at me. So I will try if you will.

• In my heart, I have hope for you. I really do.

• But my heart doesn’t always make the best decisions.

• I can’t separate myself from the amount of suck in my life. As much as I would like to. I would choose fearlessness all the time. But bad shit exists. And it takes a lot of shit to grow a rose.

HAPPY NOT PERFECT

Day 1

I see a mess. I see a home of sadness. I see laziness. I see someone who has given up. I see the achievements of many miles run. I see a kitchen in need of attention. I see clean clothes which must be put away.

I have seen people behaving as if there is no issue, or hasn’t been an issue. I have seen self absorption. I have seen a man pull over in a beat up old Cadillac, to the wrong side curb, so he could throw empty liquor bottles in a trash can and then speed away. I have seen the sun rise over the Pacific.

I once saw…I can’t remember what I once saw, and I’ve seen a lot of shit. Once I saw a bunch of giraffes in the middle of a 5K race at the Bronx Zoo, which was weird because I sort of forgot where I was, but now I don’t think I would run that race.

THURSDAY, AUGUST 6

I saw that woman at the bus stop this morning. I was wondering about her, because I hadn’t seen her. I haven’t taken such an early bus in quite some time. I don’t want to get into her body description. That’s not what this is about. But it is apparent that she’s not very healthy. She smokes a lot, sometimes two whole cigarettes before the bus arrives. We occasionally say good morning to each other. But she wasn’t wearing a mask, so I kept my distance.

As she struggled to step onto the bus, I noticed an insulin pump site on her upper arm. I truly hope it gives her some sort of comfort and relief.

I arrived to work early enough to do 10 minutes of tai chi. It’s such a lovely feeling to do so completely barefoot on the pavement.

Sometimes, when it’s less busy at the store, I like to do what I call my at-work-workout. I just keep moving, tai-chi inspired, lunges, counter presses. I make it up as I go along. Yesterday, I was able to do 30 minutes of an at-work-workout.

I took a 28 minute meditative walk after work, thanks to Guided Meditation with Circle of Light US, Rachel Doremus Meditation, found on Spotify.

I continue to use the Happy Not Perfect app, in the evening, after an Ambien. My theory is that if I come up with an evening routine, I may not need the meds to help me sleep. We’ll have to see about that. I am enjoying Happy Not Perfect, but there is only so much I can do with it, unless I pay for a subscription. I have not a single extra penny to spend. Which is unfortunate since I really enjoyed Day 1 of the 21-Day Free Your Mind Writing Challenge. Apparently, I can free my mind, but at a cost. There appears to be a current theme running through my life, don’t you think? There are many locks on this app.

I did, however, utilize Day 1 of their Frontline Worker’s Self-Care Package. Even though I believe that I am a sacrificial supermarket cashier, as opposed to “essential.” The eight minute Focus, Breathe, Feel meditation was lovely.

DAY 1-B

I see birds bouncing around.

I see bushes.

I see spinning turbines.

I see an entirely grey sky.

I see moving clouds.

I see signs.

I see brick tile cement.

I see a mural.

I see the Gowanus.

I see chairs.

I have seen homemade burritos. I have seen the inside of Mt. Sinai Hospital. I have seen the Rockies from an airplane. I have seen Salt Lake from a plane. I have seen Dean’s List. I have seen Niagara Falls. I have seen my own blood. I’ve seen the lights go out on Broadway.

I once saw a man on a ventilator. He was my boyfriend. It was sad and scary. I saw his hand turn purple. I once saw them turn off the ventilator. I once saw a really bad mural of Central Park in the waiting room. Once was enough, but I would wait there again, for him.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.