Longevity logo

What My Eyes Have Seen

My heart most certainly remembers.

By Maurice BernierPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by aliis-sinisalu on unsplash

I am a recent recipient of a brand new eye. Actually, I just had cataract surgery on October 22, 2018. As of that day, I have been able to see the world much better since I discovered that I had this medical problem since late June to early July.

At first, things started to get cloudy. Then, in August, it was like looking through a window at a blinding snowstorm. I could not even see my hand that I was dangling right in front of my crippled left eye. I saw nothing. In September, I did some research. I was lucky that it was just confined to my left eye. My right eye was unaffected. According to my research, it was a natural thing to occur at my age. It usually strikes both eyes. Again, I was lucky. My right eye was and is fine. There was no bleeding behind my eye. The only downside is that I had to go to work and DRIVE to get around.

Various doctors examined me prior to my projected surgery date. There was no bleeding behind my eye. Therefore, no extensive surgery would be needed. I do have a touch of glaucoma, but I knew that since 2000. I was all set.

The surgery took place on October 22, 2018. I was far more curious than worried. In fact, I was never worried about the operation. I just wanted to get it done so that I could see again. The operation was quick, easy, and… PAINLESS!!!! It was a grand success.

This article is not really about my eye surgery, but it is about my affected eye. I thought about that removed lens. Like the skin and baby teeth, I wondered if the lens had a replenishing stage. If not, then that was the same lens in my eye since the day I was born.

As I was driving around town in my post-operation days, I enjoyed everything I saw, both good and bad. I saw the birds in the trees, the trees themselves, the sunlight, the moonlight, and the smiles on the faces of every child I teach. I saw the world with the same curiosity of a newborn even though my right eye was never affected at all. It just feels so great to be able to see out of BOTH eyes now.

As I thought about that lens, I thought to myself. It was the same lens that enabled me to see my awesome parents for the first time. It was the eye that helped me to see all the things they did that made them so important to me. I saw how hard they worked and how much they cared. I saw the many things they did for me, the family, and many others who needed them. I saw how much they truly cared.

That lens allowed me to see the joy on their faces when they welcomed my baby sister and baby brother to the family. I saw the joy they felt when they had grandchildren and great-grandchildren. I saw their joy as they also welcomed a daughter-in-law, as well. I never knew what happiness was until I saw their faces.

I also saw their sadness. I saw how sad they were when my baby sister died. I could never forget that look. I saw what it really looked like. I saw their individual pain as well. I saw how my dad dealt with the death of his dad back in 1975. It was really a lot for him to bear. So watching my sister’s death was really rough on him. My mom’s brother died in 1995. I saw how she cried upon learning the news. So seeing her cry at my sister’s death must have ripped her to pieces as well. Yes, my eyes saw it all.

Yes, these eyes saw many things. It saw the many great friends that I met during my lifespan, most from high school. I saw their joy and their pain as well. I saw their happiness as we met for daily reunions not just as classmates, but as friends as well. The eyes saw it all.

These eyes looked in the mirror at every stage of my life from beginning to now. I saw the face go through all the years. It has seen its own happiness and its own sadness. It has also seen my sister’s death. It even saw how each of my parents died as they each took their last breath. It saw how Mom cried when she learned of her only love—my dad—passing away. It ripped her like nothing before. I was only able to imagine what it would have been like for him if he had to see her die first. My eyes, however, saw all three of them get buried at their respective burial dates. Yes, my eyes saw it as well.

These old eyes saw many changes over many years. They saw many people come and many people go. They saw buildings and buildings. They saw old cars and new cars. They saw many changes in and of the same world. The eyes saw many things.

The eyes could never see the heart. The eyes only told the heart what it saw. The heart can hurt, but the eyes could only cry whether happy or sad.

My eyes saw may sunrises and many sunsets. They saw many things out there. They saw good things and they saw bad things. Now, they are starting a whole new life together.

The eyes only saw things. It is the heart that felt things. I can remember meeting the most wonderful lady in high school. We continued our education in the same college. After college, we went our separate ways. Ten years ago, I learned that she passed away. My eyes did not see her die, but the heart recorded the pain. The eyes were saved from watch a heart-wrenching scene, but they do look at her gravestone as they cry endlessly.

The eyes are so wonderful! They can see it all. One does not need to have super-vision like Superman. One only needs the eye to see and the heart to remember. I have them both.

I am so glad AND thankful to have my eyes back again!

Photo by Bryan Hanson on Unsplash

aging
Like

About the Creator

Maurice Bernier

I am a diehard New Yorker! I was born in, raised in and love my NYC. My blood bleeds orange & blue for my New York Mets. I hope that you like my work. I am cranking them out as fast as I can. Please enjoy & share with your friends.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.