Longevity logo

What is the best keto diet plan?

The Custom Keto Plan

By Jason ShortPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like

I know you can lose weight on the Ketogenic diet because I was successful at losing 11 kilos in 3 months, and I love to stuff myself silly. If you are a foodie, like me, dieting is the hardest part of being healthy. That’s why I can relate to so many people who love food too. The Ketogenic diet is the best diet that is “foodie-friendly,” without a sweet tooth. You can still have your pork crackling, crispy skin chicken, Korean BBQ, and a slew of finger-licking fatty dishes.

And if you are creative enough, you can even have Keto-friendly desserts like matcha bombs, cheesecakes, cookies, and even ice creams. When you join the Custom Keto Diet meal plan, you can score hundreds of Keto-friendly dessert recipes. Thinking about it, I would have lost more weight in less time if I had my own personalized 8-week keto meal plan. Having a well laid out plan, no guessing, no tracking, and no counting calories will make your life easy. Imagine losing weight just by doing the groceries, cooking, and eating. Well, you have to wash up, but you get my drift.

History of the Ketogenic diet?

The Ketogenic diet was developed in the 1920s to help kids with epilepsy. But more than a decade later, an anticonvulsant drug made the Keto diet irrelevant. In 1994, the Ketogenic diet was getting attention from the media. Charlie Abrahams, the son of a Hollywood producer, Jim Abrahams, suffered from epilepsy at 2 years old. No medical intervention was successful at controlling Charlie’s epileptic episodes. Not until Jim Abrahams found out about the Ketogenic diet.

The Ketogenic diet was able to control Charlie’s epileptic episodes when drug treatments failed. The result spurred Jim Abrahams to create the Charlie Foundation to promote the diet and fund research. A study of the Ketogenic diet was published in the American Epilepsy Society in 1998. There followed an explosion of interest in the Science department.

Keto diet facts: what is the Keto diet, and how does it work?

The Ketogenic diet is when your body uses your fat stores for energy instead of glucose, putting your body into ketosis. Typically, our body’s primary source is carbohydrates and then fats, in that order. However, you can skip carbohydrates and use fats for energy by using the Keto diet.

The Ketogenic diet works by forcing our body to enter ketosis. The ketotic state is when the magic happens. To enter ketosis, you have to cut off or limit your intake of carbs by less than 50 grams a day. When you deprive your body of carbohydrates, you run out of glucose, so your body switches to your fat stores for energy. As you move around, walk, talk, eat, you are using energy. Therefore, you lose fat.

Is Keto for you?

Sadly, there is a caveat to this diet. You have to take extreme precaution if you have the following:

Diabetes

Pancreatitis

Liver failure

Lipid metabolism

Primary carnitine deficiency

Carnitine palmitoyltransferase deficiency

Carnitine translocase deficiency

Porphyrias

Pyruvate kinase deficiency

The ketogenic diet is not advisable for these patients. If you have Diabetes, make sure you ask your GP for proper medication adjustments.

You must ask a qualified physician before starting any diet.

The cost and time of a single visit to your Doctor for proper advice is nothing.

The cost of hospitalization and complications from blindly following any type of diet can be catastrophic.

My Keto Diet

I learned of the Keto diet from watching a documentary called The Magic Pill. The documentary claims that it can heal some forms of cancer, Diabetes, and slew of other diseases. There was also a great controversy involving a doctor who turned the food pyramid upside down and recommended a mother to wean her baby to a low-carb, high-fat food.

A nutritionist reported this to HPCSA (Health Professions Council of South Africa). Resulting in the top medical boards to take Tim Noakes to a hearing for misconduct. Long story short, he was cleared of wrongdoing, and subsequent appeal by HPCSA was denied.

I’m not going to give my opinion on the matter, but it’s up to you to watch the documentary and decide which is right.

My first day on Keto

My Keto diet started with eggs and bacon in the morning. I later found out that this is going to be my breakfast DAILY! I figured, why not go all in and be on a no-carb diet instead of a low carb? Adjusting to no-carb was a struggle for me because, first of all, I love sugar. Secondly, I love rice. And thirdly, I’m the fat kid that loves cake.

Honestly, the thought of losing my belly fat was the driving factor in eliminating my carbs consumption.

Yes, potentially seeing my abs weighed more than my cravings for refined carbs.

My lunch was pork crackling, and my dinner was salted salmon.

My 2nd and 3rd day: the real benefit of the Ketogenic diet

The next day I added minimal carbs into my diet in the form of a fibrous avocado, asparagus, tomatoes, and other types of vegetables. The third day was the day I could feel the significant benefit of being in a ketotic state. That is, not getting hungry for an extended period.

I had my breakfast at 3:30 in the morning and never felt hungry until 11 AM. I even think I could go on without eating the whole day.

But, I was working in a warehouse, carrying 10 – 20 kg of boxes all day, so I needed to fill up. Before Keto, I would have a huge bowl of oats with a banana for breakfast. After 3 hours of work, I would get hungry, resulting in me eating a bar of LCMs (sugar-filled snack bar).

What a difference using fat for energy makes!

3 months on Keto: Keto diet is bloody boring, mate!

I continued the diet for 3 months and lost 11 kilos, which I’m very ecstatic about. Who would have thought that I could lose weight without the need for exercise? Granted, I was working in a very arduous environment.

However, even if I wasn’t working in a labor-intensive job, I would still lose the same amount due to prolonged satiety. I could go on the whole day without eating. I only ate because of the type of work that I do.

Although nothing is perfect. I was losing weight on Keto, and at this point, I’m sold. But it’s freaking boring! Imagine eating eggs and avocado daily for the rest of your life? I’d go crazy, I think I did too.

There isn’t a whole variety of food to choose from when it comes to the Ketogenic diet. And that is my problem with Keto. Perhaps, Custom Keto Diet can provide a solution?

Keto flu

Before I get to the nitty-gritty of our custom keto diet review, I have to let you know that I’d been on ketosis for more than 3 months and suffered no side effects or problems. However, there are reports of the keto flu, which can cause flu-like symptoms. Symptoms such as nausea, headaches, fatigue, are just some of the signs when you start the Keto diet.

[source: The effect of a low-carbohydrate, ketogenic diet versus a low-glycemic index diet on glycemic control in type 2 diabetes mellitus]

The keto-flu may last a few days, but it can persist for more. It is your body adjusting to a new diet high in fat instead of the regular diet high in carbs.

Custom keto diet plan review: Here’s what happened

So here’s what happened, I got asked a whole lot of questions about my preferences.

The question is in a quiz format or multiple questions. And, you pick A, B, or C.

Custom Keto Diet quiz

The Custom Keto Diet quiz will take you to a series of personal but not too personal questions. Just be honest and truthful about your height or weight and food preference.

Your custom keto diet will be based on your answers.

So, if you want to eat foods you like, I suggest be transparent.

The first question, what is my gender?

Does custom keto diet work?

That’s the real question, does Custom Keto Diet work?

With all my knowledge of nutrition and someone who has gone through the program, I believe that the Custom Keto Diet works.

You will lose weight when you join the Custom Keto Diet. I’m not going by theory, I’m judging by experience. I tried their recipes, examined their calories, and tried all they had to offer. Well, not all. I didn’t buy their probiotics, which they claim can increase my success by more than 200%.

I don’t know if I would have lost more weight if I was on probiotics, and I will never know. I don’t want to comment on something that may or may not have happened.

Moreover, the Custom Keto Diet works because all the heavy lifting is done for you. The way it’s set up will make you follow the plan and not deviate. The Custom Keto Diet just makes things easier.

Custom Keto Diet works according to my brother in law.

He recently started doing the Keto diet after being told that carbs is making his liver work extra hard.

You see, ten years ago he was diagnosed with a fatty liver. But, he scoffed it off like a joke.

Recent blood test made his doctor tell him that he need to change or “else.”

My brother in law weighed 97 kg 3 months ago. He is not obese, he is fairly muscular, but did have a little belly.

I saw him yesterday and he looks like he is shrinking. His weight is now 85 kg.

Last night, he mentioned that the Custom Keto Diet is worth it. I asked why, and he said that he enjoys the all-done for you part. And, that Custom Keto Diet didn’t cost an arm and a leg to own forever.

Pros and Cons of the Custom Keto Diet

Pros

No counting calories

No tracking

Great community

Lifetime access for a 1-time payment of $37

Personalized Keto meal plan

Customizable plan

Educational videos about Keto

Hundreds of extra recipes

Coaching (if you opted in)

Easy and quick recipes

Printable ingredients list

Excellent variety of food

$1 seven day trial

Cons

No app

No phone contact as far as I can tell

Some recipes are just OK

diet
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.