Longevity logo

We need to keep our distances

Lives are more important than money

By Yvonne KnightPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I am 38 years old with cerebral palsy, and my lungs are underdeveloped, so with the threat of the Coronavirus in the air, the proposition of going outside is a scary one. I am very grateful for the extra food stamps doing this pandemic, but it is tough to use them doing this crisis because you cannot use food stamps online. The fact that food stamps spending has to be in person puts me in the people that worked for me and love me eh higher risk send me home it's a tough position to be in because I have a tiny freezer in the refrigerator, so that means I have to make weekly trips to the store. I feel like every time I step outside doing this pandemic; I am putting my very life have to risk when the answer is to let people use their food stamps online so they can maintain social distancing.

I know people think that the country is going to open up in a few days with no problems, however sadly, I fear there may not be the case. As much as I would like the country to open back up and everything go back to normal, I do not feel that our numbers are entirely in the safe zone yet. Plus, there is a lot of unknown about this particular virus. It seems like every day; they are reversing themselves

about specific ideas about the virus. It looks like the list of symptoms is growing, and now they think you can get the virus more than once. We are a little bit safer now that people are required to wear face masks outside; however, so many people R wearing them incorrectly; they have their mouth covered, but not their nose. If a virus can get in your respiratory system through the mouth, it can also get in your respiratory system, do your nose. Some people just like basic common sense. I think we are not out of the Woods yet when it comes to this virus. Just because the calendar says, May 1st does it mean the virus is going to stop just like that automatically. I understand they cannot keep giving out stimulus checks without end, but they can do it for a few months if it saves lives. I think we have more options to shop at home Anne work from home we could slow these unpredictable viruses them. The fact that stores like Walmart are allowed to be open during this pandemic Walmart has become an epicenter for the virus. We need to create an affordable way to buy food online so that we can dismantle Walmart as a playground for covid19. I see so many people today well I was at Walmart wearing masks improperly; they might as well have nothing covering their face. No wonder with all of these halfhearted attempts too slow their progression of the virus has failed. This rush to open the country back up before the virus has downsized or a vaccine h created; I fear it is going to bite these politicians in the ***. I firmly believe a backslide is there no future. I believe the 2nd wave of the Covid19 virus is going to be way worse the first wave. This might make The Spanish flu look like child's play. Oddly enough, The Spanish flu and the Coronavirus had charted and eerily similar path. When people were quarantined for the Spanish flu, they were making the same complaint that we are today, and so under pressure, the government open the country back up too soon, and the number of deaths due to the Spanish flu Skyrocketed. If you thinking that it will end will be cheaper in the long run, you are sorely mistaken. The money is going to take to treat and cure this type of pneumonia might be difficult. The fact that this virus comes from animals might make it more difficult to find a cure. We need to find a way to operate from home so we can find a viable way to deal with this virus. I don't like the idea of extended quarantine life, but if this is what it takes to overcome the virus and save lives.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Yvonne Knight

I'm trying to find a place for my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.