Longevity logo

The Home Healthcare System is Broken

This my life...

By Yvonne KnightPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

The personal care Health system is so broken, and sometimes I wonder if it can be fixed. These people coming to your house, and they act like they are doing you a favor, but what caregivers fail to realize it Is they are gaining paid to perform a service. These people are coming whenever they feel like it and leave whatever they want to. It's they did that a typical job they would be fired immediately. As a client, I have to turn everyday people into personal care assistants. Most of the time, I have to direct my care to a stranger I have never met before; we have to learn to each other on the fly. There is this added worry if their personality Will meshes well with mine. I am an avid believer that you know necessarily have don't like the person you are working with if it Is a temporary situation. For example, if somebody is picking up a shift to fill in, then you can put aside the differences to get done with needs to be done. If you are spending a lot of days and hours with one person, then you have to find a personality that can gel with yours. You don't want a staff that treats you like you work for them. Like they can Control everything you do. You don't want somebody that's going to tried to Control your Financial well-being. There are so many things to consider when assessing a personal care aide. There are so many pitfalls to this whole system. You don't want to get too close, because most PCA's don't stick around very long. As you are ready to put down your guard with some of them, it seems those are the ones who are prepared to steal from you.

On the flip side, I feel like a lot of these companies are not honest about some of the care they will be asked to provide. As far as the companies in my area, I believe they all could benefit from practical training. A lot of the time, I find that PCA's react to certain situations without giving it much thought. I feel like when most PCA's just there feel they are just there to hang out, more often, the client much more care than that. I mean some of the staff members maybe asked to perform various bound treatments and routines. I feel bad to those people who needs those types of things, because I have a difficult time finding people to squirt salt water up my nose. I firmly believe that this job should have a lot more requirements, and maybe then we can get a more competitive rate for personal care workers. Personal care workers then do Beyond the typical showering, feeding, and lighthouse keeping should get a higher wage. This is one field where you think you should get paid your weight

I would love to see these agencies that provide care get to know the needs of the people they are providing care. I would like to see a care agency that rewards staff members for taking good care of their client, instead of rewarding staff that snitches on their coworkers. I would love to see evaluations done by the people receiving the care. I have never understood how the Office staff of a company can assess without having regular visits or conversations with their clients about the care they are receiving. I just wanted to find a way that everybody can get the care they need, so people can live the lives they want to live. Everybody has the right okay that's comfortable and as happy as can be.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Yvonne Knight

I'm trying to find a place for my writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.