Longevity logo

Walking the Old Ways

A Modern Day Look at Practicing the Martial Arts

By Roninkan Karate-DoPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

The modern world poses interesting challenges to us all. We are in constant danger. Not from physical violence as much as some would think. No, this danger is far worse, because it is comfortable.

This danger is one of complacency.

We, as a society, are not active enough. We sit behind our desks, doing paperwork. Each digit representing the sweat of those who put their bodies on the line for the least amount of praise. Our stress grows every day, as does our waistline. More and more risk of illness arises from this lack of physical toiling.

I, for one, have never been a big fan of sitting around behind a desk all day, rotting away to nothing. Many people feel the same way. The growth of the fitness industry is proof of that. There is a new gym going up every month, and specials run to keep monthly fees as low as their competitors. Everyone is on the fitness kick, but few stick with it. Why is that?

I think it has to do with the monotony of going to the gym, not the level of difficulty. It is the same thing, over and over. You move from one machine to the next, only pausing long enough to change the music in your earbuds. That is why I don't keep the motivation to go to the gym for long. The shiny newness wears off, and soon, it's just another numb, robotic routine.

Instead, I trade in some of that gym time for something a little more challenging, a little more stimulating, and a great deal more interactive.

I study karate.

It has offered me a unique way to release the stresses of the modern world. I learn to do new techniques or new tactics pretty regularly. It keeps me engaged, and thus, I am far more motivated to go back. The sense of accomplishment is also much higher. There is something very satisfying about knowing that my goals are lofty, but I can still reach them.

It also offers a glimpse into another time and place, a part of humanity that I feel we have all but lost. This being the practice of humility, the act of benevolence, and the sense of honor. No screens to glow into our minds, no text messages or emails to stress over, and no social media to taint my view of the world.

When I step onto the dojo floor, it is just me, and the others with me, and the echo of warriors past.

And if, by chance, I do find myself in physical danger...well, I am a bit more prepared for that, too.

health
Like

About the Creator

Roninkan Karate-Do

The Roninkan is a place for the development of the mind, body, and spirit into one solidified thing: a warrior, a living weapon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.