Longevity logo

Vitamins and Supplements

Neuro Health, B-12, Biotin, Niacin, Elderberry, Apple Cider Vinegar Gummies, Vitamin E oil, Melatonin, Fat Burners, and so much more

By Shasta ScottPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Vitamins and Supplements
Photo by Adam Nieścioruk on Unsplash

Vitamins and supplements are good alternatives to making sure you're body has what it needs to be strong and healthy. When I think of vitamins and supplements I think of holistic healing. In an article found on Roger Williams University, holistic healing or holistic medicine, considers five aspects when it comes to a persons' overall health; "physical, emotional, social, spiritual, and intellectual." When I think of holistic healing and medicine, I think of nature, which leads me back to vitamins and supplements. Most vitamins are products of nature that have been scientifically altered. You can take vitamins like Cranberry Extract for UTI's, Elderberry and Vitamin C for immune health, Melatonin for a more restful sleep. According to the FDA's website, "dietary supplements, in general, are not FDA-approved. Under the law (Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994), dietary supplement firms do not need FDA approval prior to marketing their products. It is the company’s responsibility to make sure its products are safe and that any claims are true."

Biotin is a vitamin that claims to improve hair, skin, and nails, similar to a prenatal vitamin. I continue taking this supplement, have been for about 6 years now, because every brand I've ever tried has worked, so long as I am consistant. NatureMade is a common brand that I have found at most grocery stores and convenience stores and is, in my opinion, one of the best vitamin lines out there. It's actually where my Vitamin journey began, taking Biotin for hair, skin, and nails and B-12 for gut health. I have always had stomach and gut issues so it was more than just me wanting to lose weight. I wanted to feel healthier and less sick so that I could enjoy the food I was consuming. I found that although it is not a significant amount of weight, when i paired B-12 with Niacin, I saw some changes in my weight. (Diet and exercise are also key components to losing weight.)

I have tried brands like NatureMade, Sundance, and Vitafusion but there are tons to choose from like Olly, Kirkland, and Nature's Bounty. Some grocery stores, like WinCo Foods, even have their own line of supplements. A lot of vitamins now come in a gummy, candy form which is great if you can't swallow pills or if you just prefer another method for getting nutrients. I say this only because it took me years to even be able to swallow baby aspirine and some people have a low gag tolerance. Something to keep in mind, if you calorie count your foods, gummy vitamins will have a calorie count while pill forms of vitamins do not. On each bottle lists the serving amount, usually 1 or 2 tablets or gummies and the ingredients are also listed. Warning labels are present where consultation with a physician or doctor are recommended, but it's kind of like going to a public pool or gym, take at your own risk and be wise.

Calcium tablets and Vitamin D have claimed to aid in bone health. Although I do not take these supplements, the science behind these claims, in theory, should be true. With the amount of bones I have broken over my lifetime, it probably wouldn't hurt to add these to my daily regimen. Children with Calcium and/or Vitamin D deficiencies tend to have weaker bones, which could lead to more breaks, than children without Calcium and/or Vitamin D deficiencies. Babies, toddlers and young children get their Calcium and Vitamin D from the milk they drink, that's why mothers say stuff like, "drink your milk so you can grow up strong and healthy." The debate on human beings being the only mammals that consume milk after infancy is a completely different topic all together, but for those who transition to nut milks in their adult lives, taking a Calcium and Vitamin D supplement to maintain healthy bones is a good substitution, similar to vegetarians and vegans needing protein replacements.

Research is always a good starting point when considering taking new vitamins and supplements. Talking with your doctor about your concerns of taking supplements in place of prescription medicines can give you a clearer understanding of alternative methods to a healthier body. The cost of vitamins can be considerable lower than prescription medicines. A site that I have been wanting to try is called Care/of. It's a site where you take a quiz to figure out what you want to focus on in your health and they match you with vitamins that can help you achieve your goals. Supplement packs exist at shops like the VitaminShoppe or One Stop Nutrition. These packs are available and labeled for men or women or both and allow you to get the vitamins you need without having to buy each individual bottle and it's usually a 30 day supply.

Just like anything, use caution when trying something new and if you notice any adverse reactions make sure to stop use and consult a physician. Niacin usually doesn't affect me negatively and it could have just been a bad batch, but it caused my skin to feel as though it were burning. I normally took Niacin from either Sundance or NatureMade but tried the WinCo brand and had this reaction to my skin burning. Stopped using it immediately and will likely go back to a brand that doesn't cause my skin to feel that way. This has been the only adverse reaction my body has had in the 6 years of taking and trying new vitamins, in my book that is a win.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.