Longevity logo

Top 10 journaling prompts for good mental health

How to journal to look after your wellbeing

By Hannah ChamberlainPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Top 10 journaling prompts for good mental health
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

Every morning I write a journal. On the days when I don’t write, I really notice it in my mental health. It doesn’t take long after not writing for my mental health to back up, like a gutter clogging with leaves, and I can’t work out what I feel anymore, or what is prompting me not to feel good about myself.

Your journal is your friend

It’s a companion through life.

It’s a way to leave your footprint.

It’s a way to change your day before it’s even started.

It gives you conscious power over the outcome.

It helps you direct your thoughts.

Keeping a journal is a way to keep the water of your mind flowing fresh and clear.

However, in keeping a journal, sometimes things can get stale. What I do then is to shake it up a bit. I try for example to add extra descriptive passages, to really tell the story of my day. I try to outline and name the emotions that I’m feeling. I try to name my goals. It’s good to have a fresh focus for journaling, it helps you to keep moving it forward.

Here are some easy prompts to get you going on your journaling journey — you will really see the benefits.

10 top journaling prompts for good mental health

  1. I am grateful for… This is really strong evidence-based. Gratitude journals have excellent mental health benefits. Listing one or several points of gratitude every day will really change your mental health.
  2. My desires are…. This is great for getting in touch with what you want. It can be your desires for the day, or your overall goals, it can be spiritual, physical, mental or emotional. It’s just a great way to connect you with what you want, that can sometimes get lost.
  3. My challenges today are…. This is another way to be real. By framing them as challenges, and just confining them to that day, then you can see that you can break down adverse circumstances into what you can handle.
  4. The resource I will call upon is… This relates to the challenges above. Remember when you journal this that the resources you can call upon are available in the universe, from God or your higher power. They can be qualities you’ll need, things that have been provided to you, relationships or blessings.
  5. My emotions are… This may be something that you tell out in long-form, or bullet point. There may be circumstances that are attached to these emotions. The point is to be honest. There is a saying in psychology circles: “Name it to tame it”. If you can put a name to your emotions, they will be less likely to drive you without your consent.
  6. I can be kind to myself by… Being kind to yourself and honouring your emotions can lead to greater inner healing.
  7. My fears, conscious or subconscious, are… Aligning your conscious and subconscious is one of the benefits of the daily examination of journaling. You may find through doing this exercise that you are subconsciously afraid of one of your conscious goals. If so, bringing this to light will help you to tackle the issue.
  8. Yesterday I have moved closer to my goals by… Listing out and celebrating achievements is a great way to give yourself a boost.
  9. I can take joy today by… Use this prompt to plan some time of joy, relaxation or meditation into your day.
  10. Today is a good day because… The day is before you. The thoughts that you have about the day will shape it, for good or bad. Use this prompt to shape your thoughts about the day to come so that you can take the most pleasure, satisfaction, and joy from the day. The universe is on your side. Your journal is on your side. Go forth and conquer.

How to use these prompts

Each day is different. Maybe you’ll just take one or two of these ideas and use them in your journal for a few weeks or days. Maybe you’ll bookmark this article and come back to it periodically to get fresh ideas.

The way that I journal is to write long-form for as long as I have time and then to ask a series of prompts to myself at the end of the passage. I ask four or five prompt questions, the same each day. Periodically I’ll shake these questions up. They always include gratitude.

Keep the water of your mind flowing clear and pure to benefit your mental health. These prompts will help you keep the habit going.

Use the power of journaling for good mental health.

mental health
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.