Longevity logo

To Find the Meaning of Life, Commit to This One Habit.

Gratitude — your must-have of the season.

By Katarzyna PortkaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
made with Canva. made with Love.

With all the chaos and uncertainty in the world today, it is easy to fall into the spiral of negativity. Human minds get highly addicted to doubt, fear, and victim mentality, known as the negativity bias.

Worrying gives you a false sense of comfort. It feels good while you are doing it. The truth is: worrying gives you nothing.

It is one of the most unproductive habits the human mind engages in the most. It won’t motivate you. It won’t make you feel better. It won’t give you the answer to your questions.

Since your thoughts determine your mental state, you can choose to think improved thoughts and level up your life.

The outside world does not shape you. You influence reality by the thoughts you entertain daily.

Negative thinking won’t give you the edge. It won’t make you predict any adversity, although it can heavily influence your motivation, thus impacting your future.

To neutralize a negative thought, you need to think a positive one.

Forced affirmations, especially when you feel frustrated, can only backfire. There is no better way to create positive momentum in your mind than gratitude can guarantee.

Gratitude is the holy grail of the abundance mindset.

When you dwell on skills you lack, on things you missed out on, you become your worst enemy. You come up with every reason you should fail before you even start.

Abundance is the satisfaction derived from what you already have. When you focus on simple things that add quality to your life, you train your brain to see opportunities.

To practice gratitude, you need awareness, discipline, and repetition.

  • Take a pause. Feel the present moment. Disconnect from the outside world. Thankfulness for what you already have comes from within. Your external world does not make you grateful. Your mindset does.
  • For a gratitude practice to become a habit, you need to talk yourself into doing it daily. When you wake up, steer your thoughts to gratitude. Do it consistently, and you will experience superior results.
  • Start small. Start with three things or people you get to be thankful for. Start with small things like a comfortable bed, a roof over your head, a healthy breakfast, a good coffee, a call from a friend.

Your gratitude rampage can look like this:

I am grateful for the comfort of my bed in the morning. I am grateful to open my eyes and appreciate the surrounding abundance. I am grateful for the ability to move my body, on my own, with no assistance from somebody else.

I get to drink clean and warm water. I am grateful to do what I love, to me that is the greatest riches of all. I am grateful for my coffee and journaling ritual. I get to take walks in nature every day. I get to exercise my body, not because I have to, but because I want to. I get to nourish my body. I am grateful for the fresh and vibrant food I get to eat. I get to read as many books as I want to. I have incredible family support and friends to ride or die with.

I get to have a choice in what I want to wear, who I want to date, what I want to do with my life. Many people aren’t that lucky. I get to love. I choose love instead of hate. I am loved.

Isn’t it amazing? And that is what you aim for: to feel good.

How you look at things determines the quality of your life. External conditions don’t influence how you feel.

Nobody owes you anything. Nobody is obliged to show you how great the world is. You need to find it out for yourself. Your attitude makes or breaks your life.

Here is the photo of me basking in gratitude after a long and draining mountain hike:

me basking in gratitude.

It was a long hike. I felt exhausted and became irritated. I have decided to pause. Once I started enumerating things I could be grateful for: my health, my legs that enable me this hike, the sun, the surrounding nature, the picturesque view, the people I get to hike with, all frustration went away.

I have realized this is what I am here for: to live and experience this blissful discomfort. I have found myself motivated and full of energy to persist.

Once you start appreciating life, you find its meaning. And discovering the purpose in life drives your happiness and motivation.

Whatever you water your plant with, it grows. Gratitude is your fertilizer. You choose what you cultivate your world with. Appreciating what you already have is the best way to keep yourself happy.

Being in gratitude, I find myself falling in love with life again.

— juansenpoetry

Thank you for being here,

— Kate

Join my e-mail list here to stay in touch. I’d love to hear what you’re thinking.

advice

About the Creator

Katarzyna Portka

Mindset coach. Writer. Reader. Coffee enthusiast. Tolkien’s fan living in Harry Potter’s world.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Katarzyna PortkaWritten by Katarzyna Portka

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.