Longevity logo

The Run

Moving forward by running through.

By Bridgette KovacevichPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
The shoes that keep me moving forward.

I feel the cool air of the morning, as I step outside.

It greets me like a comfortable friend as my pace quickens from long slow strides to a quicker syncopated rhythm.

Slower at first, then a little faster, I find my pace and move forward into the day.

My breath is a little quicker, along with my feet.

I feel the breeze, take a slow deep breath through my nose and out through my mouth.

I continue to move forward and greet the solid ground beneath me.

I feel my heartbeat move faster but at a rate that makes me feel alive, not tired.

My feet and pulse move quicker together to match each beat, as if they are in their own race.

But I am not racing myself. I am finding myself. Letting things go. Freeing my mind. Facing frustrations or thinking through the solution. Allowing my mind to wander, or getting lost in a song, or finally having a moment to focus what I have most recently been struggling with to think through.

As the increased oxygen fills my brain, I can think clearer. I feel calmer and happier, even with the increased heart rate. I feel a slight rush of adrenaline to keep moving forward.

Running is freedom at my feet. Feeding my brain, allowing more open thoughts, giving space to my body when sometimes I feel so closed in by everything else going on in my world.

Running is a gift to me.

These words above came to me recently while I was enjoying a morning run. How strange it is to find myself writing this when I was never truly a runner in my younger days. In fact, if I am being honest, I dreaded running. I avoided it as much as I could. I was more of a leisurely walker.

Even now, I am not a long-distance runner but yet just a little discovery that I have made for myself as I have grown up and gotten older (yikes!). As with many other aspects of my life, when I was younger, I didn’t allow myself to appreciate what I liked and what I didn’t. I was always a little too hesitant to try something new.

Before my ‘break’.

A few years ago, I had quite a serious ankle break and was told that I would not be able to run again. I was heart-broken since this was just around the time when I was finding my perfect pace with running. I made a commitment to myself that I would run again and I achieved it. It took some time but I did it. Again, a gift to myself. Proof that when you put your mind, and sometimes feet, to something, you can do anything.

I’m not the fastest. My recovered ankle hurts when I push too hard and shin splints have found their way to my legs. But I’m ok with that. I take care of the pain and discomfort because I know the joy and freedom that comes with running.

I actually crave getting out and running. Sometimes to relieve stress and sometimes just to be with myself and my thoughts. I notice a difference it my mood if I am not running enough.

As I write this, I have just returned from a jog on a very cool, misty, rainy morning. I think those are my favorite times for a run. It is strangely quiet, so I am able to really focus on my movement. It’s almost a trance or type of meditation when I am finally able to find that perfect pace.

A movement for the body, mind and soul.

This is what The Run is to me.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Bridgette Kovacevich

A freelance writer that always has a narrative running in my head. Topics can vary but mostly revolve around life and the beauty that is there, if you just look close enough.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.