Longevity logo

The Power Of Music

What the pandemic is depriving us of

By Kristin WarePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

MUSIC IS POWERFUL

Ever since I was young, I had a pretty good idea of what I wanted to be. I found the instrument that was meant for me at the age of ten. I remember seeing a harp for the first time, and looking at my mom to tell her, “ Mom I want to learn how to play that.” Soon after that,I ended up getting a harp and starting music lessons. It was then that my passion for music took off, and I starting becoming more involved in the work of music. Going into high school I knew that I wanted to play music for myself and others for as long as I am physically able. All throughout high school, I was given opportunities to see firsthand how powerful and beneficial music is for happiness and healing. I got to see the health and moods of the people I performed for change for the better when I played for them. I saw how the moods of the people in the nursing homes went from depressed and grumpy to happy and smiling once I had finished my performance. I saw how the people in the hospitals appreciated the music that I played for them. Seeing the smiling hospital workers and patients was a huge reminder of why I play music. Music can help promote the healing of the mind and body and can turn a terrible day into a great into a better one. The power of music is incredible and so useful and important in our society.

MUSIC AND HEALING ARE HARD

However, the pandemic has robbed us of the healing power of music and how we can use it to help others. I can’t go into nursing homes, hospitals, or make home visits to the people who needed it like I used to because of the risks associated. It makes me so sad because I miss playing my music for people who need it and appreciate it. For many in homes, they don‘t get visitors hardy ever, so visiting them always brightened both of our days. Just some simple kind words and music can turn the tide of someone’s day. More than ever, I wish that I could go back to the hospitals to play for the sick patients and the exhausted doctors and nurses who loved hearing the music. We can’t listen to choirs, go see theater performances, or go see operas or orchestras. This is a huge roadblock not only for those who want to listen to and experience the music but also for those of us who love making music to share with others.

PASSION AND PERFORMING IS SCARCE

Music performance is my passion and my major at college. Having this kind of job in 2021 is scary and stressful for me and I know I’m not the only one who is feeling it. I know that all of us in any kind of performance industry are worried about our jobs. When will Broadway be open? When can our orchestras start playing? When can I go back to visit those who need the music that we can provide? I cannot help but wonder every so often while earning my degree at college about if I’m going to have any job opportunities when I graduate. Thinking about such things is not only stressful but also incredibly depressing. I don’t know when our world will have some semblance of normalcy again, but I can only hope and pray that this will be soon so that music can once again start making the difference that it used to.

health
1

About the Creator

Kristin Ware

Just a stressed college student who likes to write who is trying to survive life!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.